The BG has improved since I stopped the Renal K+ yesterday. I can only assume there is sugar in the maple syrup flavoring. Will ask vet today when the test results come back.
Good detective work! You really have to watch out for sneaky sugars, don't you!?
Today is day 3 after the last run of blue numbers, so any bounce would've resolved by today. I think you can increase her dose tonight. You're seeing nadirs in the 200's, so I'd increase by 0.25u.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
@julie & punkin (ga) i'm going to hold off on the increase tonight because the vet has given zoey some pain medicine and also wants me to cut back on the food. if i understand all that i've read, correctly, both of those things could cause her numbers to dip lower than normal. i would rather be awake so that i can monitor her closer. (i hope that's the right thing to do. ) i'll catch some extra readings tonight and if she doesn't go into the blue overnight, i will up her dose in the morning and i will be able to keep her at my desk while i work during the day. if she goes to blue, i will wait for advice since we may want to see how the meds/food will continue to influence her.
i'll post about the vet visita little more later. she's got a really big belly with petechiae rash and it concerns him enough to speak with an internist tomorrow. i want to take and post some pictures so members here might look at it and see if they have any experience or ideas to share. this vet is receptive to group knowledge and this site so i am very thankful we have him.
i'll post the visit recap and update the meds/labs after supper is behind me.
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.