3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38+5.5-63+7-79PMPS-324, +7-175

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Hi Everyone,

Yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67061 3/24/12-Racci-AMPS-173,+3.5-135,+6.5-147,PMPS-236 Infection!

As I posted last night when most of you were sleeping, Racci's infection is back. I'm so upset! Luckily, she was still in the blue, able to poop today and ate and was happy hanging out on the window seat before her cleanup and brushing so she's in all her messy after eating wet food glory. :lol: I think that Orbax is fantastic stuff! She felt lousy yesterday by the afternoon and was hardly eating anything and had terrible sores again. After giving just one dose last night, she looked and acted much better today! She's not due for the second dose until tonight but I think I'll give it in the afternoon since it's really only the first day. I took a picture of Racci enjoying the window seat but will have to upload it before I can post it here. I'll do it asap and hope it works. I never did it before but am pretty sure I know how.

I hope you all have a good day!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175 Infection back

Aww, poor Racci! I hope the meds help and she feels better soon. :YMHUG: Is it her anal glands or something else?
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38! Infection back

Wow! I just caught a 38! She told me she was hungry, and it was the right time for it anyway, so I tested as I was getting food ready and there it was! She always knows when she's low and tells me. I'm so glad she knows the feeling and comes to me the way she does when she uses the litter box.

Thanks Melissa. I think its both again! I've been so careful too! I've been cleaning her after every single poop and even some urines and every single night before I go to bed! I've been making sure she's kept dry like the vet said. I'm wondering if when she tried to hide on Friday from my company she got into something on the side of the closet she crawled into where she never goes, or if it's stress related or if I missed one cleaning?

The good news is that she seems to feel better from that one dose of Orbax. I just gave the second and am about to test again. Be right back with another test.
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38!+5.5-63 Infection back

Racci was still only 68 at 5.5 with treats and a meal but won't eat any more so my day has had a change in plans. Instead of doing things for me today I'm going to be watching and testing Racci. I wonder if this means I should try a reduction to 3.5U?

Here's the messy picture of Racci in the window seat this morning. She went up there right after breakfast & meds so I didn't get a chance to wash or brush her yet so she's a wreck but happy with herself. Since she can't jump anymore, I taught her to get up there using a big chair that sits next to the window. She has to climb up on the pillow, then the arm, then down to the window seat, so she's always proud of herself when she does it in either direction without help. ;-)

http://felinediabetes.com/gallery3/index.php/MelanieandRacci/RacciWindowseat2


Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38!+5.5-63+7-79 Reduction?

Congratulations on the dosecrease, Racci, and you don't look at all "messy". You look like a beautiful long-haired kitty.

Hang in there Melanie!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38!+5.5-63+7-79 Reduction?

she has such a beautiful face and she looks very comfy on that window seat! congrats on the reduction. maybe it's the meds helping the infection & causing her BG to drop . . . ?
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38!+5.5-63+7-79 Reduction?

Congrats on the reduction!

I loved the pictures, so pretty. Also so sorry for your loss of Calli, she was also beautiful! I'm sure there is a big hole in your heart, I know it so well. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38!+5.5-63+7-79 Reduction?

A 30's number gets anyone a dose reduction!!
CONGRATULATIONS RACCI-YOU ARE DOING GREAT!!!! Great job Melanie~~~~ :-D :-D :-D party_cat
Hugs & Love from us!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38!+5.5-63+7-79 Reduction?

Wouldn't you know it? As soon as I leave the computer, everyone comes on. :lol: Thanks for the congratulations, support and the compliments for my babies. I'm so glad I'll finally be able to get her dose down a little, thanks to a little help from my friends here.

I think it really may be the antibiotic working already. The difference in her attitude between yesterday and today is like night and day. She feels so much better. She wouldn't eat this evening though which could be a problem come pmps. I can easily see myself sitting up all night with her in the greens tonight. It could be my turn. nailbite_smile She was going up though so I decided to take a nap with her so if I have to I'll at least be armed with a little sleep tonight.

I'm not going to give Racci her second dose of Miralax like I always do since she had a second poop today and it was looser than usual. I'm just hoping the Orbax doesn't give her diarrhea. That would be horrible! I can't imagine trying to clean her fur with her sore and then drying it and detangling when she's hurting & trying not to hurt sore spots when she's fighting me. Yeek!!

I wish I knew why she's getting this! She never had this new infection before, though she's always had a problem with the anal glands. The vet said this might not go away with the first shot though so maybe it just looked like it cleared and was really lurking in the background waiting for stress to start it up again.

Thank you also Daphne for Calli. There is a tremendous hole in all of our hearts for her. I called them my Calico Bookends. They were always together and hanging out with me all day. I can't imagine what Racci must feel like without her lifelong mom & companion and DH is veruy lonely because she liked to watch tv at night on his lap and go for walks with him. We really miss her. It's strange how the healthy one went. She lived a great life though, only sick once in her 16 years and luckily didn't suffer much at the end.

Now to keep my sickly baby well! Thank you all so much!
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38+5.5-63+7-79PMPS-324,Reduc

Bouncing already, I guess? I still take the deduction in the morning, right?

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38+5.5-63+7-79PMPS-324,Reduc

I'm assuming you shot through that PMPS bounce with her old dose and yes you still take the reduction in the morning - congratulations :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/25/12-Racci-AMPS-175,+3.5-38+5.5-63+7-79PMPS-324,Reduc

Yes, I did shoot the bounce with her old dose, thanks. I just shot the new dose & hopefully this time it can stick! :) I think she might be high today though. We'll see I guess.

TTYL, I'm going to post it now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top