3/24 Trixie PMPS 201 +2 310 - Ultrasound Tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Well, she hit the lagoon....hard! I was surprise by that 43 this morning. I had a mini PJ party and stayed up till +7.75 last night and she seemed flat and steady, so I turned in. Ugh.

This morning's AMPS is food influenced. I had to feed that 43, and I don't like stalling anyway. I went with a big BCS because I didn't want to completely skip, but my FD crystal ball is on the fritz so I didn't know if shooting a full dose (with the newly-earned reducie) would have been safe. I retested after she ate, then shot when I saw the 75. I shot 15 minutes late...I didn't want to veer too far off schedule, so it was either shoot then (numbers permitting) or skip. I'm glad I could shoot something, even if it wasn't much.

She is her usual radiant self this morning, despite the news that aside from her phosphorous improving, her other kidney values have remained frighteningly high.

We're planning on an ultrasound this week. Originally I was thinking we'd do it tomorrow, but with this morning's 43 I have some concerns that I want to speak directly to our personal vet with, and she is off today and tomorrow. I think Trix has to fast for the U/S, and I obviously can't fast her if I wake up to a number like that, and I'm very concerned about fasting her the night before as well. Our vet uses a traveling U/S service, so they have no idea when the tech will show up...could be early morning, could be late afternoon. If I remember correctly from Trix's first U/S, which was right when she was diagnosed but before she started insulin, we had to drop her off during the wee hours of the morning, and she was stuck there all day. So...it concerns me, and I was so frazzled when I spoke to the vet today that I forgot to ask her about his aspect of the U/S. The tech will be there on Thursday this week as well, so I think we may do it then, so I can speak with Trix's vet on Wednesday about all this.

It's a bone-chilling 21 degrees outside (happy spring :roll: ), but Noah, Trix, and Frankie were enjoying the sun in the bay window (Frankie's eyes are often goopy like that...her tear ducts are blocked from an infection she had as a teeny tiny baby.):



I'm sorry I haven't gotten to many condos lately....stress, so busy, frazzled...but I'm off today so I can do a little visiting in between chores. Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 

Attachments

  • KittyPile.JPG
    KittyPile.JPG
    100.6 KB · Views: 431
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43!! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 BCS, Kitty Pile

Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

:shock: WOW on that 43! That was a wake-er-upper I am sure. I had a few of those with Mannie too, and one never quite knows what to do for sure. I think it was a good call this morning, a reduced dose, but still keeping on schedule etc. I would have fed that 43 too. For me, safe is the bottom line. One can always recover from them having higher BG from a reduced shot, etc. safe is so much better in my book. the rest will all fall into place.

It's good to read that she continues to be Trixie. I wish I could offer an opinion on the other stuff: kidney values etc. Just don't know... FWIW, we did not have to fast Mannie for his U/S. I talked with my IM Vet about it all when Mannie was dealing with the U/s's, that he was diabetic etc, and they agreed that he did not have to fast. They were able to get good readings/images even with food in his system. I know there will be others here that will disagree with that, saying that fasting is necessary. I think one can work around that issue, in the interest of safety for our FD kitties. My vet/specialty center was able to work around the food issue. It sure would be nice if they can give you a set time when the U/S would be done. maybe they could, even with the mobile service? Maybe call you when they are on site? I dunno.... With us it was a bit different as we had an appt time at a specialty center. I wish you much luck with it all. I know I too would not want to leave her there all day.

LOVE that photo! Happy content kitties. even with that nice "warm" weather of yours....

Enjoy your day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43!! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 BCS, Kitty Pile

Hi Amy,
Well, that was quite a surprise, huh? Looks like Trixie was taking a page from Rusty's playbook yesterday. What's with these kitties? I hope all will go smoothly with the upcoming ultrasound. Why would she have to fast for an ultrasound?

We win in the bone-chilling category: -14 here this morning.
Great pic of the kitties, but I see in the background that you don't have any more snow. When did it go?

Have a good day, Amy, and try not to worry,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43!! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 BCS, Kitty Pile

I think she would have to fast in case they need to sedate her. Since I'm not positive about that, I will speak with someone about it today, and if they do say she needs to fast, I'll schedule it for Thursday.

I will ask, too, if I can bring her as soon as the tech arrives so she doesn't have to sit in a cage all day. I know they don't take appointments for ultrasounds because they don't know what time the tech will actually show up. That is very, very frustrating.

The snow disappeared at the end of last week. However, more is on the way....DH had a map up showing 3"-5" possible. I hope that is VERY wrong.
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43!! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 BCS, Kitty Pile

HI Amy,

wow, more snow? seriously? so so sorry to read that.... when will winter end.

Understand on the fasting and the sedation. I will hope that is not the case. We went through three U/S's with Mannie, none required sedation. Procedure took maybe 30 minutes each time. I can't remember for sure. Anyways - he was a good patient, no sedation needed. I will hope it is the same for Trixie. Right Trixie? you'll just be cool calm and collected? ;-)

and big yes on the frustrating with the no appts. That makes it really hard for some folks.
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43!! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 BCS, Kitty Pile

Trix IS very easy going and easy to treat, so maybe they wouldn't need to sedate her. I would love to get this over with tomorrow....
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43!! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 BCS, Kitty Pile

I think I would ask for the phone number of the tech.... so I could get a better approximation of when.

One of these months we are going to do an u/s too and fortunately our traveling tech does schedule a time.
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43!! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 BCS, Kitty Pile

I think you should be fine then - if she handles vet well she will the U/S too, no sedation. From what I remember from our U/S days they only sedate the truly unruly patients, ones that are very expressive with their opinions of it all. YAY! I so hear you on wanting to get this over and done with. One of our visits we had to wait what seemed like days.... it was a follow-up to a previous one, and they needed a certain amount of time between the two. What an anxiety builder. I ramble...sorry! good luck!
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43!! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 BCS, Kitty Pile

How adorable the three kitties look :-D I wish mine would lie together like that! They look like best buds :-D

How frustrating on the u/s schedule. If you have to fast, maybe they could make Trixie the first one, and just call you when the tech is on her way, so you could bring her in, and just wait for her. I hate leaving anyone there, especially when you know that it is not really necessary.
Wow on that 43!! That was a real eye-opener :shock:
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43!! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 BCS, Kitty Pile

Oh, hello sweet kitties! They look so cozy together :-D . I love how Frankie has her paw on Trixie :cool:

I don't blame you for the BCS! Wow on the wake up :shock: :mrgreen: :shock: . I hope you can get ahold of the vet and/or vet tech to work out a plan. Do they have you skip shots, like they do for dentals? (well, my vet had me skip for the dental, I guess not all do). I don't know anything about ultrasounds...

It is awesome you got the phos down, I am working on that now...Chyna keeps going up instead. I wish there was a meter for just phos so I could see if the extra binder/adding it to frozen fuds is working, I know she wasn't getting all of it on the catsicles before...

Sending you some more hugs and surf it safe vines for Trixie! :-D
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 +5 153 BCS, Kitty

43, Trix, are you trying to get your bean's eyes to bug out? :shock: :shock: :roll: :lol: I don't think we've had to fast for an ultrasound either (Zener or Tillie). Our vet wanted us to drop off Zener but we got an appointment since he's diabetic and we said we wouldn't leave him. Very cute of the trio in the sunshine, all cuddled up together. :-D :-D Big hugs to you, Amy.
Liz
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 +5 153 BCS, Kitty

:o :shock: :o :shock: on that 43!!!

Hi Amy,
I'm happy to read that Trixie is her radiant self. :-D
I love the picture! So cute.... enjoying the view side by side.

I hope that the ultrasound scheduling goes smoothly. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 +5 153 Ultrasound

I just spoke with the vet's office; they did say Trix does NOT have to fast, so the ultrasound is scheduled for tomorrow. Unfortunately they would not let me run her over when the tech got there. They like to have the patients there by 7:00, but I groveled and convinced them to let me drop her off between 8 & 9. I'll bring some of her beloved PLC with me. They said the tech is USUALLY there by 11, but of course there are no guarantees.

Her urinalysis was pretty similar to the last one, too, just like her BW. USG is low. Trace of blood. No bacteria or crystals, but because the urine is so dilute it could be because they didn't capture any in the sample. We're going to culture it, just in case.

They just e-mailed me the labs now...I'll get her SS updated later today. I have to get something done around the house here! But I noticed that this time vetty mentioned that Trix's case is unusual in the notes...now leaning towards possilble damage caused by clots from the high BP.

After I got off the phone, I gave Trix a little PLC treat. She CPCed it with a grin on her face, and retired by the heating vent for a bath...that made me :smile: .....she feels good.
 
Re: 3/24 Trixie +11.5 43! AMPS 75 +2.25 96 +5 153 Ultrasound

I'm glad Trixie is feeling good. I hope the ultrasound tomorrow will give you some answers. That is such a cute picture. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hi Amy, so glad you got the u/s scheduled tomorrow for Trixie. So glad she doesn't need sedation.
What a neat pic of Noah, Trixie, and Frankie basking in the sun.
Sending vines and prayers all goes well with the u/s.
 
Adorable photo! My how they love each other and the sun!

Good luck with the U/S. I've never had to fast any of our cats ...or have them sedated...so I'm glad you got that cleared up. Paws crossed for good news.
 
Sending good vetty vines for the ultrasound. They didn't have me fast Cinco for his, either. His vet uses a traveling service, too, but Cinco was being boarded there for five days, and the tech came on the last day.

Wonderful picture! I wish my kitties were like that, but they can't all be in the same room without hissing and spitting! Minka and Kisa used to cuddle alot, back when they were the only two kitties in the house. I miss that.

I'll be watching for your post tomorrow on how Trixie does at the vet, and paws crossed on the results!
 
Best Of Luck with the Ultrasound today.

That sounds frustrating the way the US vets just get there when they get there :roll:
I hope you drop her off at 9 and get a call soon after that it's all done and can pick her up.
Crossed fingers for everything to be okay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top