Bron and Sheba (GA)
Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-23-sheba-amps-139-after-nadir-67-8-94.135010/
Yesterday morning Sheba had a good cycle, even reaching a green at +8.
PMPS was 196. When I tested at +3 last evening, I was a little surprised to see it was 191. No food spike or it had come and gone. As a precaution I added a small amount of MC to her second meal which she had most of between +3 and +3.5. At +3.5 I tested and she was 115 (a drop of 76 in half hour) so I gave her a teaspoon of HC. At +4 she was 76 (a drop of 115 in 1 hour). Between +4 and +5.5 I gave 1 teasp HC and drop of honey each half hour when I tested to slow the drop or stop it going down further. With all of that she stayed between 70 and 74. I did not give her any food after +5.5
I don't know if I did the right thing, but I did what I felt I had to. I was too scared to let her drop any further because she was dropping so fast and I didn't know if it would drop too low in the interim until the next test. Normally I am not worried to watch it drop if it is not dropping fast, but in this case I felt I needed to keep Sheba safe and me sane.
She has bounced this morning (no surprises there) and I have dropped her dose to 5.75 until I talk to you.
Looking at her SS it does not look remarkable and does not reflect the night.
Could she be needing less insulin?
I am exhausted from lack of sleep and woke with a very sore throat this morning. I am only getting about 3 hours sleep a night when she is dropping fast.
I don't really want to skip a dose as I don't want to loose the momentum but I can't go on like this. I would like to stay with Tight Regulation as well. Sorry to dump this on you
Please help
Thanks
Yesterday morning Sheba had a good cycle, even reaching a green at +8.
PMPS was 196. When I tested at +3 last evening, I was a little surprised to see it was 191. No food spike or it had come and gone. As a precaution I added a small amount of MC to her second meal which she had most of between +3 and +3.5. At +3.5 I tested and she was 115 (a drop of 76 in half hour) so I gave her a teaspoon of HC. At +4 she was 76 (a drop of 115 in 1 hour). Between +4 and +5.5 I gave 1 teasp HC and drop of honey each half hour when I tested to slow the drop or stop it going down further. With all of that she stayed between 70 and 74. I did not give her any food after +5.5
I don't know if I did the right thing, but I did what I felt I had to. I was too scared to let her drop any further because she was dropping so fast and I didn't know if it would drop too low in the interim until the next test. Normally I am not worried to watch it drop if it is not dropping fast, but in this case I felt I needed to keep Sheba safe and me sane.
She has bounced this morning (no surprises there) and I have dropped her dose to 5.75 until I talk to you.
Looking at her SS it does not look remarkable and does not reflect the night.
Could she be needing less insulin?
I am exhausted from lack of sleep and woke with a very sore throat this morning. I am only getting about 3 hours sleep a night when she is dropping fast.
I don't really want to skip a dose as I don't want to loose the momentum but I can't go on like this. I would like to stay with Tight Regulation as well. Sorry to dump this on you
Please help
Thanks
Last edited:
and I am having to be awake.