3/24 Mousie AMPS 230 PMPS 258 thoughts

Status
Not open for further replies.

LynnLee + Mousie

Very Active Member
ok peeples, what are your thoughts on my Mousie?

she's been on the lantus now almost a month and there's virtually been no change really in her BG's except she's consistently running almost 100 pts higher than she did on PZI.

keep going with lantus?

get more aggressive with dosing so to get her into decent numbers?

just keep doing what we're doing and hope she doesn't get sick?

she's pretty much her usual self. to be honest this feeling better on lantus thing that alot of people say they see in their cats, i really don't see much change in her as far as that goes. i mean, she plays but she's always played. she's laying around more these days but i don't know if that's because of her numbers or if it could be the warmer weather we've been having for the last week and a half or so. and is it because she was diagnosed young and not older like most cats? so she wasn't really a "sick" cat to begin with?

and she's lost some weight. which could be good or bad really? i mean, i had been thinking for awhile that she was getting a bit plump as she did have a bit of a bulge and now she's more sleek i would say. but then again that could be tied to the warmer weather and them not eating every morsel of food in their dishes every day for the last week and a half or so.

i guess i'm just a bit frustrated to see the same numbers that we had a month ago basically and can't help but think about the pzi sitting in my fridge. ultimately i'm leaning towards some aggressiveness with the dosing or going back to the pzi 'cause going so slow can't do her any good right?

maybe see what this weekend brings and decide then?
 
I know this can be frustrating. Some of the days where you can get spot checks, Mousie has blue and green numbers so something good is going on. I can't remember if there was a reason you were increasing by fattening the dose vs. increasing a full 0.25u.

One option may be to increase doses on the Friday PM cycle rather than wait for Saturday.
 
in all honesty i would say that the doses are closer to .25 increases. that sure is hard to eyeball in those dang syringes. someone should make a 10 unit syringe. could you imagine how easy that would be for us and these itsy bitsy doses. LOL!! like, i think, some might call what i'm shooting right now a skinny 1.5 to be honest

i know she'll most likely never go into remission. i don't really care about that but boy i'd just be happy if we could drop back down into the mid to low 100's and stay there. at least some decent numbers with the consistency.
 
Hi Cindy. Is this a Multiple choice question?

If Mousie was my kitty and I had your tough schedule, I would do A) and B). Probably not C)
Cindy + Mousie said:
A) keep going with lantus?

B) get more aggressive with dosing so to get her into decent numbers?

C) just keep doing what we're doing and hope she doesn't get sick?

Maybe this Friday you could try to lower the whole range of numbers a little with an increase. Hard to say since Mousie has gotten some blues and greens mid-cycle when you were able to test. It looks like there is a little wiggle room to get them lower.

Can I say how strange it is to give an opinion to someone who has been around here WAY longer than me? .... Just sayin'....

Oh, and I hope the thunder and lightning doesn't get me... but I was a bit less strict on the 12/12 schedule. The real world sometimes gets in the way and I had to adjust the timing with no ill effects. You know your kitty and I knew mine so it is/was OK. Ya' know?

Good luck.
 
I don't know if this is the case with PZI, but with many of the kitties here, the AMPS number is the last to get in line with the rest of the cycle. If most days, all you see are the PS numbers, it's hard to gauge progress. Hang in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top