3/24 larry AMPS 331 +6 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

IloveLarry

Member Since 2014
he cried first 2 times when i put shot in. hard today. no idea why sometimes it bothers him. sometimes he does ok. cant find pattern.
 
Re: 3/24 larry AMPS 331

Awwww, that's a shame, but at least it isnt every time! I am concerned when you say you inserted it more than once. Once you have inserted it, you should not reinsert due to the fact that the needle is now contaminated. Do you think that there is a chance the area is tender due to a little inflammation or slight infection? Try massaging the area and see if he gives signs of pain when you are NOT giving a shot.
 
Re: 3/24 larry AMPS 331

oh so u throw away the shot every time? gosh i would have been thru evn more insulin by now :( have to reinsert fairly often.
no hes fine if theres no shot, and its never the same spot that bothers him. it doesnt matter where it is, he just jumps sometimes, or cries.
 
Re: 3/24 larry AMPS 331

Can you explain what happens or why you have to reinsert? Maybe we can help.

Its a times like this that I wish we had 2 way monitors/video chat to watch how its done
 
Re: 3/24 larry AMPS 331

this why i wish i had a friend to talk to also. easy to have a conversation on the phn usually. when u type its not the same. i advertised for sum1 in tn, near chattanooga tho, and nvr heard.
 
Re: 3/24 larry AMPS 331

Okay, well, this is going to be hard to hear, but you have to carry on with that shot, as much as you can, despite him jumping. You are inflicting a scant moment of possible pain for a lifetime of relief from this terrible illness. Having high blood glucose feels really lousy, and the complications of that can kill him.

Think of it this way... If I fell and had a bunch of gravel embedded in my hands, and you were the only person who could help me, you would clean it out for me, even if I complained that it hurts, because you know that would be the best thing for me in the long run.
 
Re: 3/24 larry AMPS 331

oh i know :) i always give the shot. we just have to start over bc the needle is out. he always gets his shot.
 
Re: 3/24 larry AMPS 331

What needles are you using? I used BD Ultrafine short needles, and Sammy stopped even looking over at me when I gave her shot. We ran out one day and had to go back to the longer ones and she jumped.

Here is a link to a rebate to keep the costs down:

http://www.bd.com/resource.aspx?IDX=28381
 
Re: 3/24 larry AMPS 331

I have re-inserted a needle into a cat if I couldn't get the shot (or fluids if that was what I was giving) didn't "take" the first time. I don't see that as a problem.

I won't re-use a needle to draw additional insulin out of a pen/vial, thus potentially contaminating the insulin.
 
Re: 3/24 larry AMPS 331

thank u both. right now i have relion 30 short needles. ran out of the 31s. now using these. i had a few walgreens also that sum1 was kind enuf to send. all generously donated :) i cant tell a difference in his reaction since the 31s, however. not sure what happens. if only larry could talk. :)
 
I agree with Venita. You don't have to worry about cross-contamination if it's the same shot and re-using the needle is fine. Just don't re-use the needle for a different shot. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top