3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine results

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Hello everyone,
Simon's Fructosamine taken on 3/23 was 197. The vet wants me to discontinue the insulin because this shows that Simon is "going too low." I was talking to the associate and not my usual vet, so I plan to talk to the regular vet on Monday and perhaps present the Roomp and Rand paper. I am really frustrated, because I really want a new Rx for the Solostar pens! I have a 3 month old vial and I feel like we're getting so close to where we want to go, but I want to make sure we have good, fresh insulin.

I would appreciate any comments. Also, if any members are in Dallas and know of FD/TR friendly vets (or other users who are here that I can PM), please let me know. I am not sure what I'm going to do yet! I already have info on Monica's vet, but it is a little far away. I would go, though! It would be awesome to find a vet who already understands TR. . .

Frustrated!
 
Re: 3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine resul

I would post for info on vets on the Health board.

I might ask your vet what the range of BG numbers are for the non-FD cats in the practice. I tend to think that they don't have a comparison level. I'd also be curious as to what the vet defines as "too low." IMHO, I think that some of the PS values are still a little high to discontinue insulin.
 
Re: 3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine resul

Is this correct: with a fructosamine of 197, the vet can know his BG averages in the 90s. Without home testing, he would not know, however, whether Simon is ranging from 40-140 or staying between 80-100. Both could average 90, right? I just don't see how this would be better treatment to check fructosamines every 2 weeks. There is no way to know if the dose is right. I am printing out the papers for my vet, but I really hope he doesn't shut down on me! I want it to be an interchange of ideas and not feel like me challenging him.
 
Re: 3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine resul

Those fructosamine levels look good :) Maybe this is good news?

His SS looks good too and on very little insulin :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine resul

Hi Kim,
I hope you can work everything out with your vet. You said yesterday that you still had two refills on your vial Rx. Why don't you fill one of them if you are worried about the insulin getting too old? In the meantime you can perhaps find another vet, one who is more amenable to TR.

Good luck!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine resul

I agree with Ella, the more important thing is to make sure you have fresh insulin available for Simon. Whether it's in a vial or pen form is secondary.
 
Re: 3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine resul

I am probably going to just get a vial. I can transfer it over to Sam's to save a little money and get it down to $118. If Simon were to go OTJ in the next 2-3 months, it would be a wash. But if I need another vial, it would be more expensive to be using vials.
 
Re: 3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine resul

Kim

I tend to agree with the others. If your vet is not open to discussion and giving you a solostar script, and you like him, then I'd just get another vial and we'll hope that Simon's AMPS will decide to drop soon and he'll
take up residence near Atticus....if you know what I mean ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine resul

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Kim

I tend to agree with the others. If your vet is not open to discussion and giving you a solostar script, and you like him, then I'd just get another vial and we'll hope that Simon's AMPS will decide to drop soon and he'll
take up residence near Atticus....if you know what I mean ;-) ;-)

I like that plan! I have been flirting with a box of pens on craigslist and trying to decide whether to make the leap. Otherwise, I'll just get the vial this week!
 
Re: 3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine resul

kim and simon said:
Is this correct: with a fructosamine of 197, the vet can know his BG averages in the 90s. Without home testing, he would not know, however, whether Simon is ranging from 40-140 or staying between 80-100. Both could average 90, right? I just don't see how this would be better treatment to check fructosamines every 2 weeks. There is no way to know if the dose is right. I am printing out the papers for my vet, but I really hope he doesn't shut down on me! I want it to be an interchange of ideas and not feel like me challenging him.

Yes you are right about the averaging and I think this should be part of what you discuss with the vet. I would also start the conversation with pretty much what you said above re not wanting to feel like you are challenging him. That lets him know you are about to disagree with him but it is not because you are suggesting he doesn't know his job it's because you want to discuss it. Having the Rand study with you will show him that you are not just plucking something from the air - or the internet (even though we know that's the best place to be :lol: )
 
Re: 3/24 Kim's Simon AMPS 129 +2/83; vet, fructosamine resul

Good luck with your vet! I have no advice but wanted to let you know I was thinking about you. You are a great bean!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top