Purrberry
Member Since 2020
Well, we made it through my vacation, but not without a great deal of drama. Fortunately, my pet sitter was amazing, able to test and then some, so we worked through all the literal ups and downs.
The spreadsheet says it best. Fred is all over the map. My pet sitter said she has never seen anything like it. I'm thrilled that SOMETHING seems to be breaking, but of course, Fred saved his first-ever greens for while I was away! And a day where there was a 600 point drop in 12 hours?? Just nuts.
Fred was due for an increase to 6u before I left, but I chickened out, worried he might eat less while I was gone. (sorry @Wendy&Neko for staying put!) As it turns out, I'm very glad I held his dose, because, with the spikes, I can only suspect there were a few lows in there (low to Fred) The other bizarre thing is that he cleared these bounces within a day or 12 hours, when usually he hangs on to those for 3 days.
My main suspicion...less dry food. Historically when I'm away, they get dry food in their timers for both a snack during the day, and overnight. I had cut down on the dry even before I left, and for whatever reason, he didn't seem to want to eat as much of it as he normally would. (I can see them on camera) It could have just been stress, or that I wasn't there for him to beg me for food. I am now still following the "vacation feeding" plan, to see if I can get apples to apples of what's going on.
My bottom line is, I don't know what to dose him anymore! He seems to have a very late nadir. When I heard he was 75 at AMPS on the 22nd, I nearly fell over. Then 120 last night at PMPS. (and dropping after that) But I know I can't have the dose all over the place. I had hoped dropping him to 5 while I was away would flatten him out a bit, but I don't think it has. And Fred does NOT like to be in green. At 96, he was lethargic and not purry at all. This was just when I arrived home, which normally would have been euphoria.
So...keep at 5? I don't think I have the guts to shoot 5u at numbers like 120, though! And I KNOW he is not happy with these swings, poor boy. I also detected blood in his urine yesterday, while testing for ketones. Brought a sample to the vet. The plan is to wait a couple of days and get another sample, as all else was well in the urinalysis. They think maybe sterile cystitis due to the stress of me being gone. If there is still blood at that time, we'll go on ABX.
The spreadsheet says it best. Fred is all over the map. My pet sitter said she has never seen anything like it. I'm thrilled that SOMETHING seems to be breaking, but of course, Fred saved his first-ever greens for while I was away! And a day where there was a 600 point drop in 12 hours?? Just nuts.
Fred was due for an increase to 6u before I left, but I chickened out, worried he might eat less while I was gone. (sorry @Wendy&Neko for staying put!) As it turns out, I'm very glad I held his dose, because, with the spikes, I can only suspect there were a few lows in there (low to Fred) The other bizarre thing is that he cleared these bounces within a day or 12 hours, when usually he hangs on to those for 3 days.
My main suspicion...less dry food. Historically when I'm away, they get dry food in their timers for both a snack during the day, and overnight. I had cut down on the dry even before I left, and for whatever reason, he didn't seem to want to eat as much of it as he normally would. (I can see them on camera) It could have just been stress, or that I wasn't there for him to beg me for food. I am now still following the "vacation feeding" plan, to see if I can get apples to apples of what's going on.
My bottom line is, I don't know what to dose him anymore! He seems to have a very late nadir. When I heard he was 75 at AMPS on the 22nd, I nearly fell over. Then 120 last night at PMPS. (and dropping after that) But I know I can't have the dose all over the place. I had hoped dropping him to 5 while I was away would flatten him out a bit, but I don't think it has. And Fred does NOT like to be in green. At 96, he was lethargic and not purry at all. This was just when I arrived home, which normally would have been euphoria.
So...keep at 5? I don't think I have the guts to shoot 5u at numbers like 120, though! And I KNOW he is not happy with these swings, poor boy. I also detected blood in his urine yesterday, while testing for ketones. Brought a sample to the vet. The plan is to wait a couple of days and get another sample, as all else was well in the urinalysis. They think maybe sterile cystitis due to the stress of me being gone. If there is still blood at that time, we'll go on ABX.
The first time cats see normal numbers if not used to it, they can feel off. I liken it to being used to a lot of caffeine (high blood sugar) and how you feed when your supply is cut off. He will start to feel better in lower numbers, as he spends more time there. Neko hid under the bed at her first greens.