3/24 Emma AMPS 322; PMPS 245 - Dose Help Pls.

Status
Not open for further replies.

greytblackdog

Member Since 2010
This is the start of day 5 in LL. I'm doing a curve today, but she's been steady with the purples all week, so I hope I get a better picture today before we look to having an increase.

We also started Amitriptyline (1ML BID) yesterday. She HATES it. I'm hoping that we can find something to hide it in so I don't have to shove it down her throat.
 
Re: 3/24 Emma AMPS 322

greytblackdog said:
I'm doing a curve today, but she's been steady with the purples all week, so I hope I get a better picture today before we look to having an increase.

Purples?! Now I get it...we actually call that color pink, even though it looks a little weird. :lol: I was genuinely confused for a minute!

How's the curve going today?
 
Re: 3/24 Emma AMPS 322; +2 382; +4 380; +6 312

Oops. I guess I'm colorblind :)

It's not going as well as I had hoped. I really don't know what to make of it so far. I know she is building her shed, but this is the 5th cycle today. Here's where we are so far:

AMPS: 322, 1u
+2 - 382
+4 - 380
+6 - 312
 
Re: 3/24 Emma AMPS 322; +2 322; +4 382; +6 312

Eh. Pretty darn flat today. And actually, this is your tenth cycle (five DAYS total) on the dose, and you probably can increase according to the protocol. HOWEVER, you don't have a lot of info from the last couple of days, so I'd wait until someone with more experience can suggest the increase. Maybe edit the title of your original post to say something about a dosing question. Then other people can come along that will help.

But you've done great today with the curve so far! Keep it up. :smile:
 
Re: 3/24 Emma AMPS 322; - Dose Help Please!

Yep, flat is right! AMPS 322; +2 322; +4 382; +6 312; +8 272

She is dropping a bit this afternoon though. +8 was 272. Her low point on Vetsulin was always between +7 and +8.

So tonight would be her 11th cycle (thank you Holly for clearing that up). Suggestions for a dose increase? Stay where we are? Any help/suggestions are welcomed!
 
It looks like she is finally going down some this evening, although it wasn't a huge drop from our AMPS number.

Since this is our 11th cycle at 1.0u do we up the dose or do we stick with it? I'm not sure what to do at this point.
 
It looks like you shot tonight. I think there is room for an increase. Based on the nadir, it looks like you can increase Emma to 1.25u. According to the protocol:

...if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose)

Please get a couple of checks this evening if you can. It's looking like Emma has a late onset and late nadir.
 
I agree with Sienne, unless Emma is blue in the morning. I also agree that I'd like to see some spot checks tonight. Looks good!
 
Awesome. Thank you guys. I will get at least 2 more (much to her dismay) tonight and again at 5a when I get up to feed the dogs. Have a great night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top