3/24 Elizabeth +9 229, AMPS 283 +3 209, +6.75 169, PMPS 146, +2 95

Status
Not open for further replies.
Elizabeth ate between +9 and AMPS. I need new syringes! Had an early doctor appt and stopped at pharmacy on the way home, but they didn't have the syringes I need. Came home, did AMPS, fed and gave her shot. On the ones I have it's just too difficult to tell if it's .75 or .5 I am shooting. Looking for syringes, so will call the vet. Any suggestions? Also, when is next test required this morning?
Thank you!!!
 
I loved Terumos that I bought from AmericanDiabetesWholesale.com. Many people choose them, but we were told a while ago the company was going to stop making g them. I just read a comment from Ella/Rusty th as t they were available on the adw site. You might look. They are inexpensive, fairly accurate markings, and the plu Germany slides smoothly and easily.
 
Since you gave just a token dose last night and she's hi b er this morning, and because it looks like she doesn't dive fast with her blood sugar, I'd think you could wait til +3/4 to test her.

If you want to move her shot time earlier, per comments in the ss, you can do it 30 minutes a day, or if I'd seen this earlier this morning probably would've been ok to move it an hour or maybe 2 after your tiny shot last night.

You could also skip tonight's shot and move earlier tomorrow am. It's good to have it early enough that you can check some in the pm cycle without losing sleep. We shot 7/7 for that reason.
 
have it early enough that you can check some in the pm cycle without losing sleep

Yes! That's exactly what I was thinking on the PM shot - it needs to be earlier! This morning I considered moving her shot earlier, after last night's smidgen, but I was leaving and in a rush and not comfortable with it. I will work it out so her shot times are earlier.

Funny on the autocorrect. I just thought it was a fine German stainless steel needle or something. They do have those half unit syringes on ADW, so will order some.

I just noticed that ? icon on the title edit. I saw that someone else had used it. What a great feature! :woot:

Thank you, as always!!
 
I found the half unit syringes here in town - not sure they are much better than those without the half unit marks, as those spaces are still very tiny!!

I have been reading some other posts, and see I was not the only person with exhaustion issues (Bron!). I am feeling better today, but hope my need for sleep didn't cause Liz to get too much off track.
 
Just a heads up about the syringes. Each brand is different one unit on one brand may be as much as .25 more or less on another brand. When I switched from Relion to Terumo there was a big difference. I bought 5 boxes of the Terumos when we were told they were being discontinued. When I read here that they are available again I bought more as I was down to 3 boxes. I don't want to go through that learning curve again as Max bounced around a lot until I got the correct dose.
 
I found the half unit syringes here in town - not sure they are much better than those without the half unit marks, as those spaces are still very tiny!!

I have been reading some other posts, and see I was not the only person with exhaustion issues (Bron!). I am feeling better today, but hope my need for sleep didn't cause Liz to get too much off track.

I use reading glasses, calipers and sometimes a magnifying glass to measure. When you get to small shaving the half units do help. And yes you are not the only sleep deprived member. I average 3-5 hours a night!
 
Last edited:
Each brand is different one unit on one brand may be as much as .25 more or less on another brand.

Thank you for the heads up, Elise! Just by chance, these with the half unit are the same brand - BD Ultra-Fine.

Is that 315 hours of sleep you get a night a typo, and you get 3.5 hrs a night? haha If so, I feel for ya! I can do that one night, but not night after night, as I found out this week. Oh, to be young again....
 
Thank you for the heads up, Elise! Just by chance, these with the half unit are the same brand - BD Ultra-Fine.

Is that 315 hours of sleep you get a night a typo, and you get 3.5 hrs a night? haha If so, I feel for ya! I can do that one night, but not night after night, as I found out this week. Oh, to be young again....
Actually it should read 3-5. Darn typist!
 
Today I got some Fancy Feast Classic Salmon & Shrimp Feast and some Classic Savory Salmon Feast (is this the pate?). I gave Liz a tablespoon and she's looking for me. Do I need to be careful about switching her over to a new food?

The % on the Fancy Feast cans are not unlike those on Hill's m/d. FF has more fat than m/d, but less fiber. Also, I have read they shouldn't eat much fish...is that seafood that includes shrimp, or just certain fish? Opinions?
 
It means all fish. Some are allergic and the other reason is it depletes them of a vitamin. I think it is vitamin A but not sure. Sometimes if you start them on fish it's all they want. Any new food need to be gradually added to avoid intestinal upset. Max likes the turkey and giblets classic and the liver and chicken. I gave him the chicken less often because it does have salmon in it.
 
Does she have any food/IBD issues? If not, most people don't have too much trouble just offering a new flavor in the same brand. If you have reason to be concerned, ie, food/bowel issues, then transition slowly.

if you read on www.catinfo.org she points out that a cat's natural prey is a bird or a mouse. So Dr. Lisa suggests sticking with poultry for the main part of the food. Some cats have allergies to fish. I think fish includes any water-critter.

Not sure if you're trying to get to zero carbs by going with the fish, but most cats do fine on low carb without needing zero carb. Sometimes cats on zero carbs can be really bouncy and if that happens, increasing the carbs can actually help smooth out the cycles. I fed punkin 4-6% for most of his regular food and only gave him fish once a week or less.
 
Thank you for the advice!! It's always appreciated!!

Liz has had fish before and hasn't had any allergy problems or food/IBD issues. I do agree about her turning up her nose at other foods if she wants the fish, but overall she is easy to feed. And I see your point about no carbs potentially causing problems, so I won't go that route.

She'll eat just about anything, so I will stick more to the natural cat food choices ...and order up some canned mouse. hehe Around here there are lots of lizards, and she eats a few of those now and then. Surely they are low in carbs. :D
 
Last edited:
Since you gave just a token dose last night and she's hi b er this morning, and because it looks like she doesn't dive fast with her blood sugar, I'd think you could wait til +3/4 to test her.

If you want to move her shot time earlier, per comments in the ss, you can do it 30 minutes a day, or if I'd seen this earlier this morning probably would've been ok to move it an hour or maybe 2 after your tiny shot last night.

You could also skip tonight's shot and move earlier tomorrow am.

Julie,
I hate to have her miss a shot tonight, because her numbers were up this morning. Maybe wait and see what the PMPS number is, or should I test her prior to that?
 
At what point do you think Liz should be tested this evening after a PMPS of 146? Thanks!
 
That's a big drop to +2. Not sure by Liz's SS when you fed the HC, but I'd get a +2.5. If you need to go to sleep tonight, I'd leave a lot of HC out for her to eat.
 
Good morning!
Wendy, I leave a lot of food for Liz every night, because she does most of her eating at night. When you posted the suggestion to get the +2.5 it was already +3, and I didn't see your message until this morning. :confused:

Chris, yes on the sleep!

I wasn't 100% comfortable not testing her after the +2, but I was 70% comfortable with it. I was thinking of the nights before I joined this board. According to my vets' instructions, I would give her 2u and put her in the garage with her food, which is her usual routine, and all was well (as far as I know). :eek:

I looked over her SS and thought she'd be okay. Probably beginner's ignorance, but this morning she's her usual self, and ate every last drop of her food overnight like she always does. If I didn't know how much food she eats at night, I would have stayed up and tested. I'm moving her shot time up 15 minutes this morning.

Looking forward to seeing what happens today!! Thank you once again for all the help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top