3/24 CRYSTAL AMPS 338 PMPS 301 - have another go at R?

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Hi everyone

I can't seem to break this frustrating cycle of Crystal's numbers creeping ever upwards so I think I will give the R another go. Do you think I can do this on my own or should I have eyes watching? If so, is anyone around Wednesday PM? (French time, I'm posting at +11). My last R dose was 1u (on Feb 25 when she was at 35u Lev) which didn't have much effect, so perhaps 1.5u?
Grateful for any advice.

Cold, wet and miserable here, so much for the hoopoe heralding Spring.
 
Hi there :cool:

I think you can try 1.5u R with her L shot as long as:

  • you get a pink PS
  • can monitor closely
  • all Ps are in place
  • you have plenty of strips
  • you have food you know will give BGs a lift if need
  • you have karo or honey or syrup - something fast acting.
If you have any doubts when shot time comes around then skip it. There will be other opportunities.

I won't be home however I should be able to look in around +1-ish
.
 
Thanks Sandy, I appreciate you looking in and offering advice. On the above basis, if she is at a pink PMPS I'll go with it tomorrow night at the recommended dose of 1.5u at the same time as the Lev. The only thing I'm not sure about about would be all the P's - as she goes out during the day, it's a bit difficult to monitor the pee and poo output but she is showing no signs of constipation and i'm giving her the miralax sub/coconut oil/pumkin plus lots of water with her raw mix every day so hopefully that should keep her moving. I have everything else on board. I'm out for a couple of hours tomorrow morning/early afternoon but will be back in good time for +10, maybe earlier. If you can look in some time from her +1 that would be great, thank you. I think I know the drill but would feel just a wee bit more comfortable knowing there are experienced eyes watching, just in case. If I have any doubts however, then I'll pass and leave it for another time.
 
Hi Suki, I always felt (even after I was comfortable with the R) that people would always check in, just to make sure, if I put in the condo title that I was using R. I always did something like 3/24 Cobb AMPS 328(1.5uR). I always felt that drew attention to the fact that I had given R at the PS and so Sandy, Wendy, and Julie would always pop in just to monitor and make sure all was well.

I definitely think you can do it without the watchful eyes, but it is always comforting to know they are there! My day tomorrow is pretty quiet (knock on wood) so I'll try to pop in around your PMPS as well.

~Suzanne
 
It's true - if I see R in the subject line, I always go there. I always keep an eye out for the high dose kitties anyway, especially if there is something mentioned in the subject line.

It's a journey that goes better with a friend on the road with you!

I think you're probably fine on your own, but if i can i will definitely look in on you. A friend just had a double-mastectomy and i'm staying with her for several hours Wednesday afternoon, but if I have the timing figured out right, i may be able to look in on you at shot time. I'll check when i get up Wednesday and see where you are at. It's spring break for me, ie, no work this week.
 
Thanks Julie, it certainly is better with a friend on the road with you. Hope you friend is recovering well from her op, don't dash back on our account, I'm sure we will be okay - but nice to see you later if you can make it.
 
I hate that she's moved back into the pinks for you. I would go for a little R as the others have said. C'mon Crystal - you KNOW you liked the feeling when you were seeing the blues!
 
And just in case the glucose goes a bit lower than expected, be prepared with some high carb gravy and/or Karo syrup. You may not need it, but you'll be more comfortable to have it on hand.
 
@Sandy and Black Kitty - just checking before I go out for a couple of hours, AMPS was 281 and +3 286. Your recommendation for tonight was 1.5u R only if it was a pink PMPS? is that correct? if it's yellow, shall I abort, or modify dose? Will be back in time for +10 so not much monitoring. Leaving DH with feeding instructions for little and often. thanks in advance Sandy.
 
For me personally, I would be tempted to do a lower R dose, like 1uR, instead of aborting it altogether -- IF you're going to use R as part of your treatment plan. You have the R in your toolbox, and you know how to keep her safe, if she were to drop too quickly. (But I admit, I may have taken more chances than I should have.) At one point, Cobb (and BK, I believe) was getting R at every preshot for a few weeks as I figured out what worked and what didn't.

This is where you will ultimately develop the R scale that everyone has talked about in the past.

Mine went something like this (customized for Cobb, of course):
200-250: 2uR
250-275: 2.5uR
275-300: 2.75uR
300-325: 3uR
325+: 3.5uR (I don't think I ever got above 3.5uR, but I don't really remember.)

Let's see where she is at PMPS...see if you can grab a +11. That way we can see where she may be headed and decide then.

Developing the R scale takes trial and error. See what works, what works too much, what doesn't work enough. The 1uR may be too much at 260 with your current dose of Lev, but not enough at 320. So then if you were to see a pink PS, you'd bump it to 1.5uR. (These are all hypothetical numbers, BTW.) Does that make sense?

Are you going to be around to monitor during those first 4 hours tonight if you do give the R? Also remember, sometimes the cycle AFTER R is given can be more active. Cats...no telling what's going to happen.

~Suzanne
 
@Suzanne & Cobb(GA) , thanks for your post, just returned and got a +9.5 at 236. I'll do a +10 and a +11 as well, I'm in now for the rest of the afternoon and all evening, plus all tomorrow morning and early afternoon (just have to go out for a dr appointment for +10) Makes perfect sense what you said, so we'll wait for PMPS - will you be around then Suzanne just to help with the decision?
 
I'd love @Sandy and Black Kitty and @julie & punkin (ga) to weigh in as well -- hopefully they have a few free minutes to do so. Since she is coming down, I get a little anxious, but she still has some room to drop. I'm not sure I would give any R if she is under 250. Let's see where she is at +10 and +11 and go from there. Yes, I will be around!
 
237 @+10. Thanks Suzanne, a tiny rise but I did give her a snack after the +9.5. I'll test again in an hour at +11 but inclined to agree with you at the moment. I don't think Sandy is going to be around until about +1 according to her post above.
 
236 and 237 is flat. I don't think her snack had any impact at all.

I think, if she's between 250 and 300, it's going to be a decision of how comfortable you are with shooting any R and monitoring from there. I wouldn't give 1.5uR though if she's under 300.
 
+11 is 237. Looking back at her SS I only ever used R when she had a pink PMPS, apart from a 292 when I gave 0.5uR with 24.5 Levemir. On these numbers I think I will pass but will wait to PMPS for final decision.
 
I think that's a good call, if you aren't comfortable shooting that low.

I think you are to the point where you're going to have to try some trial and error to see how Crystal responds. You may see a nice response to the R, if she's under 300, and obviously not bouncing or heading up. If you give just the right amount, you may be able to keep her flat until the Lev kicks in and then that Lev bring her back down under 200 for you. All of these are unknowns, of course.

I think we tend to say 300 because that gives a good cushion for if the cat drops quickly. But, personally, I think that shooting R is like moving down your no-shot number. You get more comfortable shooting greens as you hold your breath and shoot a green number. There is ultimately a green number where every person won't give any insulin. Mine was 60. Others will shoot anything above a 50. It's where "knowing your cat" comes into the equation. Likewise, with R, if you're going to develop the R scale, you have to know at what number you aren't going to shoot anything, and what you're going to shoot at what number. That all comes with trial, error, and monitoring. :)

I'm not trying to talk you into shooting R if you aren't comfortable shooting it with the numbers Crystal is giving you right now, just offering a perspective on how to start getting comfortable with dosing it below 300.
 
Last edited:
just checking in for a moment before i have to run out again. I also gave punkin R when he was less than 300, but the decision is entirely yours.
 
230 at PMPS - I think I am going to err on the side of caution and see how low she's going to go without R intervention, sorry for getting everyone up and running, bit of an anti climax. Will start a new post in about an hour, after dinner. Thanks to everyone for all your comments, support and advice, I'm sure there will plenty of other opportunities to trial the R, just don't feel entirely comfortable at these numbers.

Wimpy Suki!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top