3/24 Buzz PMPS: 306, +3: 118, +5: 51 (!!!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=10010

WCR: Buzz is subdued today, and I guess the last couple of days now that I think about it. Nothing really obvious, she's just not as "alive" as she normally is. She doesn't really roll around and play, doesn't really run and jump, etc.

She is going to the vet in a couple of hours to rule out infection. I am hoping that she has an infection, although I don't look forward to treating it. Otherwise I'm not sure what's going on. I'll report back. Oh, the last time I took Buzz to the vet was my worst vet visit ever, so I am nervous about that too. Buzz, who never seems to have vet stress, puked and shook and meowled and just generally FREAKED OUT in the office. It was weird, and it took her a full day to recover. Wish us luck!
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271/Dose question/went to vet

+4.5: 221 (before vet visit)

The vet visit went fine. Buzz does indeed have a UTI and is now on Clavamox tablets BID for 7 days. No blood in urine yet, so we caught it early thanks to the BG #s. No freak outs occurred on either feline or human part, although I was close when vet suggested we feed DM canned. :evil:

My question is that since we raised the dose to 0.5 the other day, should we stick with that in light of the infection or what? She was down to 0.2u, and I don't mind giving her more now but also don't want her to go too low once meds start working. Do we just wait and see when her #s start to come down and then adjust? She has a tendency to drop like a rock pretty quickly in the cycle, so just trying to cover all my bases. :)
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

I can't really give you any dosing advice, but infection can drive up BGs so I'm glad you found a source. Once the ABs kick in I would think you'd see her get back to normal. Changing the dose has alot to do with when you can be there to monitor, things like that.

She's probably perk up now.
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271/Dose question/went to vet

Sarah and Buzz said:
+4.5: 221 (before vet visit)

The vet visit went fine. Buzz does indeed have a UTI and is now on Clavamox tablets BID for 7 days. No blood in urine yet, so we caught it early thanks to the BG #s.

whoa. you just went to the vet today and received the diagnosis today? how was the UTI diagnosed?
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

What a good mama bean you are to have caught this so early!

How did the vet diagnose the UTI? Did they do a cytocentesis (used a needle to get a sterile urine sample)? If so, I think the Culture & Sensitivity (C & S) takes a couple of days to grow the bacteria so you know what antibiotic to use.

I would leave the dose where it's at. Not enough insulin plus an infection can be a recipe for trouble. Buzz will tell you when the dose needs to be lowered.
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

The vet did a cystocentesis and then did a sedimentation and USG in the office. She wanted to give Convenia but I said no.

I thought all I had to make sure of was that she did a cysto rather than a free catch? :oops:
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

The sample wasn't sent out? It takes time to grow the bacteria (culture) and then the lab tries diff antibiotics on it to see what's appropriate for that particular bacteria.

You may want to read Dr Lisa's page on Feline Urinary Tract Health. Pay particular attention to the parts on cystitis and urinary tract infection There's an explanation of culture and sensitivity (c&s) that follows that section.
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

Well, regardless of test, I'm glad vet visit went well & Now you know for sure what's wrong with Buzz..
The numbers will come down as the infection clears''
SARAH: DONT GIVE THE CLAVAMOX ON AN EMPTY STOMACH--Be sure to give after feeding something, or it will hurt his tummy!
Hugs to Buzz--Feel better!
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

If the vet found bacteria when the sediment was looked at under a microscope that is a very good indication of a UTI. Was that the case? Seven days of antibiotics might not be enough for a diabetic cat. Most vets give 10 or 14 days worth.
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

I remember Jojo saying 14 days of ABs too - although I'm going by memory and it's not the best in the last few days. Don't forget the fortiflora.... THAT I remember! Something about been alone your own liquipoo fanclub.
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

Sarah...you are an observant and very good Mama Bean to DO something about checking Buzz's symptoms. That is so good!!! I am so happy that you are starting on something at least...and I wanted to emphasize the food with the Clavamox too! It's not good to give it to them on an empty stomach...and the flortiflora too...or some probiotic that you can give her.
I hope she will feel better soon. So many wonderful people with such good advice have some by...isn't this place great?
Good job kiddo!!! Hope you guys have a good night...and I'm glad Buzz was ok at the vet office. Whew!!! :razz:
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

Thanks for all the tips and advice, guys! I didn't know not to give Clavamox on an empty stomach, although we are going to try crushing it in her food so she will be getting it with her meal and shot. I also got some baby food in case she smells it in the food; she is such a good eater that I don't want her to start associating her meal times with bad stuff.

I have heard of Fortiflora here, but didn't really know what it was for (I actually thought it was an appetite stimulant because people talk about how much their kitties love it) or that I should be using it. I certainly don't want to have a liquipoo factory here. :shock:

Larry, the vet did look at it under a microscope. She said it's cocci bacteria (?). 7 days didn't sound like very long to me but I thought that was perhaps because the infection was caught so early.

I will be at the vet with the drooler on Friday. What is my best course of action here? I really can't afford another u/a in 7 days to see if the infection is gone. I know that's the best thing to do, I know I should have it done, butI could barely afford this one; I had to ask the vet to let me pay on it little by little. Should I ask for 14 days' worth of ABs to be safe?

Thanks for the links to Dr. Lisa's posts. I will read them now, and in the future I know that I should ask for a sample to be sent out. Now that it's mentioned, I feel like I have heard that before but obviously I didn't remember for today. :oops:
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

good job catching the infection early. Things like this make me think I should test my civvies more often too, just because testing is a great window into what is going on inside the kitty's body.

I would keep the dose at 0.5 until her numbers start to go down. You don't want to risk ketones by giving insufficient insulin while Buzz has an infection going on.
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

Thanks, Libby. After I posted that question, I thought it was kind of dumb, like of course I would keep the dose until #s went down, but I guess you never know.

And that reminded me that she was negative for ketones, which is great. :)
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

FortiFlora is a probiotic and it happens that kitties like it. There's another, stronger probiotic, Renew Ultimate. I found it at Whole Foods in the refrigerated supplement section.
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz AMPS: 271, +3: 271/Went to vet

(((Sarah and Buzz))) :thumbup Sooo wonderful to be in tune to Buzz to know something is not quite right.. great job in the quick Vet appointment & now treatment!
Yay for you & Buzz!! Hope she gets to feeling better soon!! I have used Fortiflora before.. as Dr. Lisa says.. it is "kitty crack" !! Baby was a dry food addict & quite the whirlwind :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat getting her switched to canned in what feels like forever ago.. but she was only diagnosed in December.. Anyway.. after every suggestion in the book.. the Fortiflora is finally what got her switched to canned! They love it... I would just sprinkle a bit on the food for a few days & she gobbled it right up!
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz PMPS: 306

If it can turn a dry food addict into a wet food loving kitty, then it must be kitty crack. ;) I will probably get some while at the vet on Friday. She gives me a multi-pet discount so meds and such are usually pretty reasonable there, plus she will price match from the internet.

PMPS was 306 and she ate the crushed Clavamox right up in some baby food. Hooray!
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz PMPS: 306

Glad the vet went ok.. hope that Buzz clears up quick.

Do you have a bigger version of the profile pic of Buzz? I can't tell if that's something in his mouth or on a collar maybe? Also, is that him smiling? He doesn't look terribly pleased :).
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz PMPS: 306

Dawn, that made me laugh! I do have a bigger photo; I will PM you a copy tomorrow. It's the tag on her collar(Buzz is a girl). No, she is not smiling. She is, unfortunately, the unfriendliest-looking kitty I have ever seen. I say that with love. ;) She looks slightly friendlier in person, and she is actually very sweet.
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz PMPS: 306

Aww, she just has an 'intense' look on her face. She's really focused on whatever she was doing.... maybe focused on being sweet. :-D
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz PMPS: 306

Sarah and Buzz said:
Dawn, that made me laugh! I do have a bigger photo; I will PM you a copy tomorrow. It's the tag on her collar(Buzz is a girl). No, she is not smiling. She is, unfortunately, the unfriendliest-looking kitty I have ever seen. I say that with love. ;) She looks slightly friendlier in person, and she is actually very sweet.

Erm.. sorry.. I do usually make a better effort to keep track of who's cat is a boy or a girl.. How in the heck, did you come up with the name Buzz for a girl?? (see.. this is me tossing some of the blame for my mistake on you, to divert attention away from myself! win!)..

Anyways.. yeah.. ok.. I was trying to be nice in case you weren't aware of the um.. impression she gives.. she looks right pissed off.. The larger picture is sure to be a real riot if that's her regular expression! :).

Edit: Bet it's short for Buzzwena.. that's my guess!
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz PMPS: 306

Yes, intense, that's it! Nice save, CD. ;)

I didn't name Buzz and frankly it's the stupidest name for a cat, especially a girl kitty. We got her and her (civie) brother Cricket from a couple of Disney fans: Buzz for Buzz Lightyear and Cricket for Jiminy Cricket. They were 2 years old and already knew their names so they stuck. Don't worry, everyone thinks she is a boy. ;)

It makes me sad that she looks so mean in her photos because she doesn't have a mean bone in her body. But it is good for amusement occasionally. ;)

I love Buzzwena!! I am going to start calling her that. :)
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz PMPS: 306, +3: 118 (!!!)

+3: 118

I thought it couldn't be right, tested again, got 113. I suppose her shed has filled up to the new dose. Yippee! :)
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz PMPS: 306, +3: 118 (!!!)

Ok.. well.. Buzz lightyear is a dude too!

Buzzwena.. to infinity and beyond!

I bet she is really sweet.. I've only seen 1 picture and so maybe it was just a bad hair day! Maybe some pictures are better then others.. picasaweb.google.com lets you store up to a GB of photos.. get to work, there's bound to be a smile in one of them ;).
 
Re: 3/24 Buzz PMPS: 306, +3: 118 (!!!)

I also know what it's like being stuck with crappy names.. the shelter named Jerry (civie).. he was so sickies when I first got him and he would hide all the time :(.. Nova learned his name so fast.. I could ask her "where's Jerry" and she would take me to him.. it was too valuable of a tool to give up.. even for a stupid name.. I gave him half a dozen or more nicknames to compensate.
 
+5: 51 (fed LC meal as normal)
I wasn't expecting this tonight, that's for sure. I'm happy, but surprised. :)

Dawn, there really aren't many good photos of Buzz, unfortunately. I'd love to defend her honor, but really she's just not photogenic. ;) I have a few that she looks less like a murderer and more like a normal cat; I'll dig them up and give you a link. She just sort of looms, which I think makes her look mean. We call her Catgoyle because of the way she sits, just like she is in the profile pic.

Jerry is a pretty bad name, but I bet no one thought he was a girl. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top