3/24 Blackie amps 306, +4 354, +7.5 318, pmps 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Very Active Member
Really glad to see that 306. His +8 before that was 303. That dosecrease seems to have made the difference. (Went to 2.0 last night.)

WCR: Blackie ate well this am and even had a snack from his timed feeder an hour before his amps. I am a worrier, and I'm a little worried that he's spending time in the basement. There is a pile of rugs in the laundry room that he's been sleeping on. I've found him down there 3 times in the last 2 days. It's not exactly hiding, but it's kind of hiding behavior. I don't know if he doesn't feel well or if he just wants to be away from the droolers & civies.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9982
 
Re: 3/24 Blackie amps 306

Hey Ele, Just checking in on you and Blackie. Sending you positive thoughts and good numbers :YMHUG:

Hugs to Blackie cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/24 Blackie amps 306, +4 354

Can anyone tell me why Blackie's numbers go up after the shot? Is he filling a bigger shed, so the insulin goes there?
 
Re: 3/24 Blackie amps 306, +4 354

Not sure Ele, but I've noticed with Prudence it's when she's had food right b4 her shot or time of shot. By +3 it should start going down. If it's still up by +4 I'd be wondering if Blackie received the full dose? or mabe he needs more? I just don't know :YMSIGH: sorry.... keeping you in my thoughts :YMHUG:


Just looked over Blackies SS. On 3/21 you gave a total of 2.50 units for that 24 hour cycle. which took Blackie out of the red into the pink, but then on 3/22 you gave 3.0 total, maybe this threw him too high and that's why her's in the red? Gosh I wish I new the answer for you. I hope others chime in to help out. 3.50 units brought him back into the pink today, but not sure why he's raising again. could be overlap?
 
Re: 3/24 Blackie amps 306, +4 354

Hi Michele,
3/21 was our first dose increase from 1 unit to 1.5 units. Lantus works very differently than PZI. It takes time for a dose increase to take effect because there is a "shed" that must be filled before the insulin can be used. If you're interested, feel free to read the Sticky's at the top.

You may be right about the food, though. Blackie did have a big breakfast and probably a snack before that +4 number. I'm still learning about Lantus and I'm constantly asking questions.

I hope Prudence continues to do well.
 
Re: 3/24 Blackie amps 306, +4 354

Looking better today, Blackie. :) As far as a higher number after the shot, I don't have any answers for you (sorry). Buzz is oftentimes higher until about +3, but her food spikes have always seemed to last longer than normal, both on PZI and on Lantus.

I know what you mean about being a worrier. Remember when Blackie was spending lots of time down in the basement earlier this winter? Did that ever end up meaning anything or did he just eventually stop doing it? Sometimes I think they discover a spot that has always been there and they have either never tried it or they just remember how much they like it. Maybe he went down there one day for some reason and he realized how nice and quiet it is down there, or the rugs are especially comfy and he thought, Hmmm, why don't I do this every day?!
 
Re: 3/24 Blackie amps 306, +4 354, +7.5 318

Thanks for the insight, Sarah. You're right. The last time Blackie did this, there wasn't anything wrong. DH thinks it might be a little warmer down there this time of year. Spring is coming here, but it is still cold at night and in the morning. With all of his choices in seating arrangements (couch, cat bed on chair, kitchen chairs, dog beds, etc.) you'd think he'd pick something better than an old rug. :roll: I'll just have to stop worrying.
 
Re: 3/24 Blackie amps 306, +4 354, +7.5 318

Ele & Blackie said:
With all of his choices in seating arrangements (couch, cat bed on chair, kitchen chairs, dog beds, etc.) you'd think he'd pick something better than an old rug. :roll: I'll just have to stop worrying.

That is exactly what I say when I see Buzz curled up on a suitcase in the guest bedroom. Who does that, when there is a bed in that same room, plus dog and cat beds, plus furniture, plus our bed...kitties do, that's who! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top