3/24 Binks 36 hours since last shot, bg 78 +37 76

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 ate & drank a little

Hey Binks, Buddy sends chezz-burgors your whazs! ;-)
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 ate & drank a little

sending healing vines for Binks. Keep us updates when you can
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 ate & drank a little

Mike, Little G Money and I are very worried about Binks. We hope he keeps food and water where its supposed to be...healing vines,babe
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 ate & drank Ques

he ate a little more lc at +16, then turned up his nose at lc & baby food at +19, but wants some kibble.

he's drinking water and sleeping comfortably.

Questions:
1. should i let him try a couple pieces of kibble?
2. are his readings this low due to eating very little?
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 ate & drank Ques

Binks: I sure hope you perk up soon. We need some of your kitty antics with the girls also your bean is worried. Come on Binkster, K?
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 ate & drank Ques

(((Binks))) (((Celi)))
I have been offline all day, I am so sorry to hear Binky is a bit under the weather. I hope he feels better real soon.
Hugs & love from us to you & get well wishes too :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 ate & drank Ques

thanks guys...just talked to his vet, and they say as long as he's drinking, and eating a little, they would rather let him rest here than go through the stress of a vet trip...
that if he continues to have a bad appetite in the morning to bring him in, and they contacted the emergency clinic with his info in case needed tonight.
they also said not to give him insulin this evening if his appetite is off, especially with these low numbers.
This all makes very good sense to me...
Anybody disagree or see something i'm not seeing?


appreciate all the well wishes :smile:
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 ate & drank Ques

Just got on line and saw Binks is not feeling well. Sending get well vines. Hope he is feeling better soon.

Pattie
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 ate & drank Ques

Really Binks? All this drama just to get some forbidden kibble? :cool:
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 ate & drank Ques

Hey Celi. I know you want Binks to eat but have you tried Fortiflora on his regular food yet? Since he is interested in kibble maybe adding the Fortiflora would encourage him to eat the canned. Just a thought.

From Dr. Lisa's website: "The base ingredient in FortiFlora is animal digest - the very substance that makes dry food so very enticing to cats.
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 ate & drank Ques

Hey Binks, this is Tommy sending some goooooooooood wishes your way to feeling better real soon. ;-) Your in good hands with the momma you have!
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 ate & drank Ques

Cali..I don't know about the BG numbers but I don't think I'd give kibble. Yes it will raise his BG number if you are worried about low numbers but it stays in their systems a long time as the king of contraband has shown you before. I might try to stick with boiled chicken or some kitty tuna juice or even turkey or beef baby food with nothing else in it..no onions or cornstarch etc.
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73

:lol: :lol: MJ...no kidding! "I WILL get me some kibble, no matter the cost!"

well, he ate a small piece of boiled chicken, and i did break down and let him have 2 kibble bits..before i read marjorie's post...
this was all an hour ago, and so far, so good.

havent tried Fortiflora, CD...he's really a good eater...but as soon as i can get some, it'll go on his pantry shelf :-D
I have an idea he's turning his nose up at the lc & baby food
as the only ones on hand he threw up last night, and finding them unappetizing due to that.
will just play it by ear as his shot time nears...see where he's at and if his appy is good, i'll go ahead and shoot.

y'all have to forgive me if i get to very few condos today...
havent slept, as the Momster is not feeling well either...

truly appreciate all the input and well wishes...you guys rock. :-D
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73

Celi, you know I'm not an advice giver, I can't get my own cat to eat, when he does feel well.
Sending good thoughts and prayers, that Binks gets better soon.
Those numbers are beautiful, I wish he was eating, though.
Big cyber hug to you.
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73

I hope Binks is feeling better. Gabby just went through a bout of this sort of stuff, too. It seems to be going around. If you can, get a ketone test just to make sure there's nothing more out of the ordinary going on. I believe in an ounce of prevention these days.
 
Re: 3/24 Binks no shot +14 69 +15 86 +19 73

I just read through your last three days. I'm sorry to hear that Binks has an upset tummy. J.D. just had a really bad tummy ache two nights ago. I hope Binks is starting to feel better and better. Hugs to you Celi and soft pets and kisses to Binks.
 
Re: 3/24 Binks +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 +21 82 dose advice ?

man, you guys mean the world to us! the support here is humbling.

and sienne, you read my mind...ketone test was negative.

so...the vet advised not shooting unless he was above 120. we're 2 hrs from what would be his pm shot (though i suppose that doesnt matter
after skipping this am) note...i'll go with what the opinion is here rather than the number from the vet.

he ate a small amount of FF shredded wht meat chicken in savory broth half hour ago (would've eaten more, but i was being cautious).
he's very quiet,and his fur isnt laying sleek like it usually is... but tummy not growling.

question: will get another test in an hour...but asking early regarding tonight.
do i shoot...?
and if so...BCS or the .25 he was on...?

i realize we need his next bg reading to decide...but wanted to get the question out there early...
i was going to get us back on time by shooting an hour early, but don't want him to go thru another night like last night.
 
Re: 3/24 Binks +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 +21 82 dose advice ?

Hi Celi, Hey Binks, Come on, man, gotta get better tonight! Celi, you can get FortiFlora at your vet's. It's made by Purina and is one of the things vets sell (at higher prices than Amazon or PetFoodDirect). It sure sounds like he has the kitty version of stomach/digestive system flu. What do you do when you have these symptoms? You eat very little, maybe a little chicken soup. I would wait to see where his bg is at shot time. If it is still in the 80s and he still isn't eating much, I would probably skip another shot. It may empty his shed, but it may be worth it to allow him (and you) to get some much needed rest. If his bg is in the 100s, try a BCS. (only my opinion, since I don't consider myself skilled enough to give advice!).

Ella

Binksy, KTSS is making you some chicken soup and bringing you some beautiful vines. Feel better, buddy!

Rusty
 
Re: 3/24 Binks +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 +21 82 dose advice ?

sounds good to me, ella.

actually, one of the wise ones sent me a pm with a wonderful tip...
if you don't have fortiflora on hand, put some kibble in a coffee grinder and sprinkle the dust on his food.
Brilliant, eh? i would never have thought of that!
 
Re: 3/24 Binks +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 +21 82 dose advice ?

I think Ella is right on the money. Let's see where Binks' numbers are closer to shot time.
 
Re: 3/24 Binks +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 +21 82 dose advice ?

I appreciate that you're trying to plan ahead, but I think it will be easier to talk about dose when the time comes that you're ready to give it. Let's see if the food stays down. I hate skipping shots normally, but if Binks isn't ketone-prone then he will probably be ok. It would be better if he'll just eat something, though. ;-)

Dry food in a coffee grinder? Good tip!
 
Re: 3/24 Binks +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 +21 82 +23 71 dose advic

geez, i didn't expect that. :shock:

and he asked, so i gave him a little more FF chicken.
we'll know better in an hour, but I'm REALLY leaning toward skipping again.
 
Re: 3/24 Binks +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 +21 82 +23 71 dose advic

I am so Upset to see Binksy not feeling well!!! You know your cat well, so let's see how he is after feeling after this..
Celi, we are all with you & we lubs you & Binksy so much!!
Lots of good advice given here..Hope all the Healing vines have reached Binks, and he'll be better real soon-
I'll be keeping an eye out on you two tonite!
 
Re: 3/24 Binks +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 +21 82 +23 71 dose advic

You could get him to lap some plain activia yogurt also. Or syringe feed a little. Other say greek yogurt (can't find this locally for some reason). We actually gave the orphaned squirrels and racoons this at the wildlife centre (mixed in with their formula).

That 71 is surprising huh. You've got the pros helping. I was going to post a picture but I don't want to distract from the advice. So I'll just send hugs.
 
Re: 3/24 Binks +14 69 +15 86 +19 73 +21 82 +23 71 dose advic

hi celi - I'm certainly no expert either, but I kinda tend to lean with ella. i too hate missing shots, but sometimes it's the best answer. Good luck - and I hope he feels better soon.

wow - love the tip on kibble in the grinder...
 
Re: 3/24 Binks pmbg 84

well, that decides it for me...even with the few pieces of kibble on board...

geez, binks...when did you upgrade to the huge-size shed?? :lol:

skipping his shot...he ate a mini-meal of FF elegant medley chicken...
(keepitdownkeepitdownkeepitdown!)

i'll keep an eye on him, and we can catch some zzzz's and start fresh in the morning.
i'll continue ketone tests...he's never had them, so god willing and the creek don't rise...

just want to say...a very heartfelt THANK YOU ALL for the input and support today...
what a wonderful group of friends!

Celi & the Hurling Champ
 
Re: 3/24 Binks pmbg 84

poor binkster.

just thinking i'd use my husband's coffee grinder, because i wouldn't want the kitter kibble in mine. ;-) (I don't drink coffee, so i'm just joking!)

with a .25 dose, is there any chance of going OTJ with this? his numbers have been so good lately.

hoping you're both feeling back to normal soon! hugs!
 
Re: 3/24 Binks pmbg 84

Julie said exactly what Mike and I were thinking.......maybe it's time for a trial???? Maybe Binks is done with all this???? anti jinx. Hope you all get some rest and hope the unamommer is ok.
 
Re: 3/24 Binks pmbg 84 +2 92

Hi, Cheryl! so glad to see you. i think of you often, girl.

gotta confess i'm a little baffled by his numbers, but pleased.

as to the other thing (i shall not name it...) the vet tech mentioned it...but i'm not even letting myself think it.
I would imagine his numbers will tell the tale...if not now, maybe sometime soon.

He's had 3 decent meals and boiled chicken breast treats as well, and looking much more relaxed and groovy than he has been.
I may even get his company on the couch tonight as his swanky little kitty bed suffered from the continuous Exorcist re-enactments last night.

Again, thanks to you all...never underestimate the power of goodwill!

Sweet dreams and healthy, healing rest to all!

ETA: i'll get his SS updated in the morning...

Celi


I regret nothing, as this debacle afforded me the rich opportunity to expellarious on my bean!
I do not, however, intend to indulge in Temptations treats again :-D
Binks
 
Re: 3/24 Binks pmbg 84 +2 92

So glad he's better. Get some rest....tomorrow we will hope to see Binks eating and cruising green without juice!
 
Re: 3/24 Binks pmbg 84 +2 92

So glad he ate & is more alert...I always thought (antijinx) but never said it--Sometimes a good thing comes along so suddenly, not by the means we expected...Healing Hugs & Prayers for a good night--
MUch Lub & Hugs always.. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/24 Binks pmbg 84 +2 92

So sorry to hear that Binks has continued not to feel so good today! Glad he is eating better tonight... amazing how well he is doing numbers wise at this point! Maybe indeed..... (antijinx).
 
Re: 3/24 Binks pmbg 84 +2 92

Morning! Celi, I know I should wait for a new Friday condo, but was thinking of you and Binks and hope he is on his way to feeling better. We need our Binksy fix! Maggie Manx and I send healing vines and hugs. Feel better Binks and you, too, Celi!
 
Re: 3/24 Binks 36 hours since last shot, bg 78 ????

um...this is crazy. he's feeling fine, eating & drinking...

do i skip again? I sure don't want to shoot this..
ETA: i haven't fed him this am..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top