3/24 - Admiral Ackbar - AMPS 80 ! AMPS +05: 84, AMPS +1.0 88; +1.0 73; +9 78; - PMPS: 80

If you are following SLGS, you do not shoot below 90. And every drop below 90 is a reduction. He has earned a reduction to 0.10U a few days back itself! :)

Do you think you'd want to follow TR since you are feeding wet food and are testing enough for it? He's looking real good (anti-jinx) and spending more time in normal numbers can help heal his pancreas.

If it has been 20 mins since he ate, you could test to see where he's at after food.

ETA: can you monitor if you shoot?
 
I saw he earned a reduction also a few days back as Bhooma mentioned
Here is a pic of the new dose
upload_2025-3-25_6-10-58.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-25_6-10-58.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-25_6-10-58.jpeg
    11.4 KB · Views: 145
If you are following SLGS, you do not shoot below 90. And every drop below 90 is a reduction. He has earned a reduction to 0.10U a few days back itself! :)

Do you think you'd want to follow TR since you are feeding wet food and are testing enough for it? He's looking real good (anti-jinx) and spending more time in normal numbers can help heal his pancreas.

If it has been 20 mins since he ate, you could test to see where he's at after food.

ETA: can you monitor if you shoot?
Unfortunately, I will be off to work in a couple hours and can't monitor.. I expected to start TR next month after a 2 week vacation, but he's progressed well (faster than even hoped I guess?). I'll test now and report back
 
Unfortunately, I will be off to work in a couple hours and can't monitor.. I expected to start TR next month after a 2 week vacation, but he's progressed well (faster than even hoped I guess?). I'll test now and report back
You can still follow TR, if you're able to get a test at +2 before you leave for work everyday. It looks like he is headed for an OTJ trial soon anyway (HUGE anti-jinx).
 
With SLGS you would not shoot that 84. If you can accommodate a delay in your future shooting schedule, you could get another test in 20 mins and see if he heads above 90.
Saved by the email notification. I had the syringe in my hand and was headed for the refrigerator... I'll test again before I head off to work and adjust the shooting schedule if necessary. Thank you!
 
@EvanVanVan
Please put NS for No Shot in the unit cell since you didn't give insulin :cat:

I might still lol. I just read the TR with a full time job post, and Tilly's Diary...I guess my question is what's significantly different about the TR vs SLGS? Just how often dosages are adjusted? I'm confused why shooting, 0.1u for instance, < 90 is ok on TR but not SLGS.

I'm going to go test him now.

Edit: But on the subject of NS, I guess I should put additional tests after NS and not in the AMPS cell that I did?

Edit2: At +1 AMPS, he's at 88
 
I might still lol. I just read the TR with a full time job post, and Tilly's Diary...I guess my question is what's significantly different about the TR vs SLGS? Just how often dosages are adjusted? I'm confused why shooting, 0.1u for instance, < 90 is ok on TR but not SLGS.

I'm going to go test him now.

Edit: But on the subject of NS, I guess I should put additional tests after NS and not in the AMPS cell that I did?

Edit2: At +1 AMPS, he's at 88
Tagging Bhooma
@Bandit's Mom
 
Regardless of TR or SLGS, should I give him a 0.1u shot now while he's at 88 (trending upwards slowly)? Before I get too far behind a 12/12 shooting schedule?
 
Lol no problem, it was a general question, not directed at anyone in particular.

I did just shoot 0.1u, as @Bandit's Mom had already suggested if I'm following TR to do it. Hopefully it's all good.. I'll test before I go to work.
 
I guess my question is what's significantly different about the TR vs SLGS? Just how often dosages are adjusted? I'm confused why shooting, 0.1u for instance, < 90 is ok on TR but not SLGS.
The main differences between SLGS and TR are the reduction and no shoot levels and therefore, the testing requirements since TR is a more "aggressive" dosing method than SLGS.

SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS but it's also recommended that you get in as many spot checks as you can.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
 
Wow, he’s looking great! TR is generally more aggressive which is why it requires “more” testing. But you’re doing the testing already anyways. It allows you to shoot lower like today and adjust the dose quicker because of that.

Edit: Listen to Bhooma lol
 
Ok, but where do I indicate that I just shot 0.1? @ +1.25?

My OCD can't handle all these customized details that screw up the spreadsheet formatting...I even had to manually change the AMPS cell to green with white text.
In the AMPS cell, you would put 80 @+12, 84 @+12.5 and 88 @ +13.25 to indicate that you shot an hour and 15 mins late.

ETA: you would have to color the cell dark green with white font manually.
 
@EvanVanVan
If you are going to switch to TR you need to change that that in your signature just put a / after SLGS and put TR and the date you switched.
Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add that then tap save

You also need to change it on your spreadsheet up top same thing after SLGS / TR and the date started

We always like members to put a blank line above the date you switched to TR so it stands out and type TR NOW and color code it any color.
If you don't know how to do this you can type in one of the cells for today TR Now

If you don't know how to put the blank line above today's date look at this members spreadsheet and see how she did it on her spreadsheet for 3-11 and color code it any color you want so it stands out

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...bVj2mislYwteex--7WmfNtM0X1L4huukO17Xz/pubhtml
 
@Evan , thanks for fixing your spreadsheet concerning switching to TR . When you get home from work don't forget what Bhooma said

In the AMPS cell, you would put 80 @+12, 84 @+12.5 and 88 @ +13.25 to indicate that you shot an hour and 15 mins late. and what I said

@EvanVanVan
If you are going to switch to TR you need to change that that in your signature just put a / after SLGS and put TR and the date you switched.
Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add that then tap save

Sorry I have OCD when it comes to things like this :p
Have a nice day :cat:
 
Shot him again in the PM. I don't even know if I should have at 80 again, he wasn't even really going up between +9 and +12. Only 0.1u though.
With TR you shoot any number over 50 without stalling. It might seem scary, but Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low - like you saw today. A preshot is not an indication of how a cycle will pay out. There are cats who have gone from the 400s at PS to the 50s mid-cycle and vice versa!

Congrats on shooting your first green this morning, BTW! Here's your BOS award :D
balls_of_steel.jpg
 

Attachments

  • balls_of_steel.jpg
    balls_of_steel.jpg
    24.3 KB · Views: 55
Back
Top