? 3/23 TILICA AMPS 460|+2 314|+2.5 281|+3.5 264|PMPS 450 Need help with the dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andreea&Tilica

Member Since 2017
Hi to all,

I need help with the dose, because in the last days he bounces a lot. Yesterday, it was a drop to 82 that's why I decided to reduce the dose from 1,75 at 1,50. I don't understand why the BG rose to 460 this morning? When I saw this number I shot the same dose 1.75 even if the SGLS says that the nadir is lower than 90, the dose must be reduced immediatly.
At PMPS the number is still very high anyway I choose to reduce to 1.5.
Can somebody tell me an advice?


Lasr thread
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...should-i-reduce-the-dose.174889/#post-1919955
 
Hi to all,

I need help with the dose, because in the last days he bounces a lot. Yesterday, it was a drop to 82 that's why I decided to reduce the dose from 1,75 at 1,50. I don't understand why the BG rose to 460 this morning? When I saw this number I shot the same dose 1.75 even if the SGLS says that the nadir is lower than 90, the dose must be reduced immediatly.
At PMPS the number is still very high anyway I choose to reduce to 1.5.
Can somebody tell me an advice?


Lasr thread
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...should-i-reduce-the-dose.174889/#post-1919955
Hi Andreea,

He's bouncing. That green 82 last night should have resulted in a drop in dose to 1.5 u this AM according to SLGS protocol. Then you stay at 1.5 u for at least 6 cycles to see if bouncing stops and the BG responds properly to the dose. Don't be fooled by bounce numbers into changing the dose upward. Stay with the protocol.
 
Hi Andreea,

He's bouncing. That green 82 last night should have resulted in a drop in dose to 1.5 u this AM according to SLGS protocol. Then you stay at 1.5 u for at least 6 cycles to see if bouncing stops and the BG responds properly to the dose. Don't be fooled by bounce numbers into changing the dose upward. Stay with the protocol.

Hi Kris, at +3 the BG is 320 but he had a diarrhea although I didn't change anything in his diet. Has it got anything to do with diabetes?
 
Hi Kris, at +3 the BG is 320 but he had a diarrhea although I didn't change anything in his diet. Has it got anything to do with diabetes?
No, I don't think so, Andreea. It depends more on whether a kitty has a sensitive digestive system. Is he eating the same food? Is he on any medication?
 
No, I don't think so, Andreea. It depends more on whether a kitty has a sensitive digestive system. Is he eating te same food? Is he on any medication?

He eats the same food, the same amount, no medication. Untill now , he didn't have at all. Shall I give only dry food till he revovers from it?
 
He eats the same food, the same amount, no medication. Untill now , he didn't have at all. Shall I give only dry food till he revovers from it?
The dry food only diet will affect his BG. Some people use plain canned pumpkin to help with diarrhea and/or constipation. You could try that - add a teaspoon or so to his wet food meals.
 
The dry food only diet will affect his BG. Some people use plain canned pumpkin to help with diarrhea and/or constipation. You could try that - add a teaspoon or so to his wet food meals.

He is very stubborn, if he feels that food is changed he will rejected it, he would rather lick plastic bags. What type of medication shall I give him in case of another episode of diarrhea?
 
He is very stubborn, if he feels that food is changed he will rejected it, he would rather lick plastic bags. What type of medication shall I give him in case of another episode of diarrhea?
I don't know, Andreea. You could post on the main health forum to ask about that specifically. Say that he wouldn't tolerate pumpkin.
 
Did you give Tilica any higher carb food when you saw those greens last night? Some cats react to the wheat in high carb food. If not, maybe it was just an off day.

And congrats on the reduction. :D Bounces can take up to six cycles before the higher numbers go away. But you'll continue to hold this dose at least a week, unless he sees another number below 90.
 
Did you give Tilica any higher carb food when you saw those greens last night? Some cats react to the wheat in high carb food. If not, maybe it was just an off day.

And congrats on the reduction. :D Bounces can take up to six cycles before the higher numbers go away. But you'll continue to hold this dose at least a week, unless he sees another number below 90.

HI Wendy, excuse me yesterday night I slept I was tired. Abouț food, when he was in green I gave him MC 16% dry food this time I was more confident :) . He was hungry but refused wet food.
I have some food <10% but he refuses it, he likes only wet food from Royal Canin which has about 15-16%carbs. :mad:
The food is still a problem, anyway he eats wet food 80 % of total amount of food/day. Two months ago he ate only dry food.:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top