3/23 Star +11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105 +4=38 +.33=50 +5=91

Status
Not open for further replies.

quilterkitty

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Hoping for a steadier day today. Instituting new feeding and testing schedule: small meals at 6:30 a.m. and every four hours. Testing at AMPS, +2 (missed that today), then +6, +10, PMPS, +2, +4. Switched to a finer lancet, which I'm learning I have to aim more carefully to get any blood at all, but it seems to bother Star less than the larger one (though the extra squeezing is just as annoying to him). The new feeding and testing schedule should prevent any testing within two hours of food, and it will achieve the goals of small meals throughout the day and more frequent testing. Feeding after nadir is unavoidable for us, at least for now, especially because we don't know when nadir is. Maybe the more frequent testing will show a pattern. Star tends to sleep during the day and become more active at night (part vampire?), so he is really hungry by morning and is ready for second breakfast by 8:30. Adaptation is our friend . . .
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 +6=73

Star has gone from 359 to 73 in six hours. Looks like we're going to have a repeat of yesterday. What should I do at this point? I was planning to feed in two hours and test again two hours after that, but now I see that I need to test sooner. Is one hour from now okay? Or should I test sooner? Should I feed some now, or not? I'm feeling like a total newbie all over again. confused_cat

Tell me, please, what to do. Speak slowly, and use small words. :lol:
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 +6=73 +8=80

Tested again at +8. Gave a little food. Seems okay. Not too low, so will test again before dinner at 6:30. At least I'm getting more data with this schedule. Hopefully we won't have to maintain this level of testing for too long, just enough to get a good picture of where Star tends to be at various points during the day.
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 +6=73 +8=80 +10=95 +11=97

I read under "Becoming Data Ready" that the numbers immediately preceding and immediately following (1 and 2, either way) a shot are more useful than estimated nadir (+6, or 5-7) numbers, so today I've been testing the later cycle numbers (+10 and 11). Might or might not do a PMPS, since the two preceding numbers are so close together, and Star has just about had it with testing today. cat(2)_steam Totally missed the +1 and +2 numbers today because I went back to bed after the AMPS, breakfast, and insulin, but will do better with that this week sometime, maybe Monday. Very happy with today's numbers after all . . . :smile:
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 +6=73 +8=80 +10=95 +11=97 PM

Nice Shooting !!! :-D
I'm sorry no one answered your earlier question and I didn't see you, but you did great.

I would start with a +2 test in tonight's cycle.
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 +6=73 +8=80 +10=95 +11=97 PM

You did shoot, right? I don't see a number in your PMPS column..
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 ...+11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105

I dd shoot, but I didn't do a PMPS blood test. Figured the previous two taken at +10 and +11 were good enough indicators, since they were so similar. Was that a bad thing? I've been poking Star's ears more than usual today, and I chose to eliminate that one test just for today. But if that's a bad idea, please tell me. I thought my logic was sound, but I'm still new at this! I always test again at PMPS+4, before a bedtime snack. Then tomorrow I will get an AMPS,+1, and +2. Switching to the finer lancet is making a big difference in Star's comfort level. cat_pet_icon

So today I've tested at AMPS, +3.5, +6, +8, +10, +11, PM shot +1, and +2. Will test again at +4. That's nine tests today, almost a full BG curve. Hoping to get enough data over a couple of days to see what's what.
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 ...+11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105

Evening!
Star's been working that juice very nicely.

I think you are okay missing the one pmps test.... as you say you can see the trend... and you can see Star was on the rise.... and is now on the decline ... again...
could be so some nice sliding tonite.
could be some really nice action too.... Star is feeling his way down pretty well ....
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 ...+11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105 +

Star's +4 number tonight is 38. What should I do? He always has food at this time of night, so do I go ahead and feed him as usual, or should I wait a few minutes and test him again? Don't want to artificially elevate his BG with food, but would that help? And if I feed, should I give LC or a little HC? Why does this happen at night?? ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 ...+11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105 +

Please give him two tsp of HC gravy with a couple drops of karo and retest in 20 minutes. I'll be looking for you!
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 ...+11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105 +

Thanks, Marje. He's taking care of that. While I'm waiting 20 minutes and watching him (he is acting perfectly normal, naturally!), tomorrow morning means another dose reduction, right? He had such beautiful numbers today. :smile:
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 ...+11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105 +

Phyllis

Yes, I would give him a reduction to 1u in the morning unless he bounces way up. If he bounces, you can shoot 1.25u in the morning (through the bounce) and take the reduction tomorrow night.

Glad he's eating.
 
Re: 3/23 Star AMPS=359 +3.5=184 ...+11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105 +

He's up to 50. So test again in 20 minutes and then again in 20 more? We're looking for two rising numbers independent of more food, if I remember correctly? Thanks for your help, Marje! And tomorrow morning, how high is a high enough BG to "shoot through the bounce"?
 
Re: 3/23 Star +11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105 +4=38 +.33=50

He's early enough that I would give him a couple tsp of LC food and get him on his surfboard a bit. I'd retest in 30 just to see what he's doing. I will be up for quite a while yet.

If he's high 200s or higher, I'd shoot through the bounce.
 
Re: 3/23 Star +11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105 +4=38 +.33=50

Star's never had Karo syrup before. He's on a sugar high, chasing Maggie up and down the stairs. bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 3/23 Star +11=97 PMS+1=139 +2=105 +4=38 +.33=50

:lol: :lol: I don't like to use it but I didn't want him in the 30s. He had a good response. You might find he will come up with just the gravy.
 
He really needed the exercise. :lol: Up to 91 and a little ornery. It was quite a struggle to get that test, and I don't think I could get another one tonight unless his life truly depended on it. I'll see how he looks at AMPS and dose accordingly, and I'll decrease his evening dose for sure. Thanks again so much, Marje! You are my super hero!
 
You're welcome, Phyllis, but I would feel so much better if you can set an alarm and check him again in an hour or two. The HC and karo can last a couple hours and then numbers can come back down....even late in the cycle.

Please...for me? ;-) ;-) you don't have to get up and post...just be sure he's safe.

Thank you and sleep well!
 
Okay, I'll check him again in an hour. Leaving my computer on until then, just in case I have to send up an SOS. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top