3/23 Skooter AMPS 154 PMPS 123 +2 91 +5.5 86 Dental scheduled -- QUESTIONS!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Skooter Sunday Funday 3/22

Just a quick note as with the snow we got people will be all crazy about driving, so I need to leave mucho early.

Skooter is in fine form this morning, ate all his breffies and is currently snuggled next to me, which will make getting up even worse :(

I hope everyone has a great Monday, even though in Minnesota it is a snow filled Monday :banghead:
 
tee hee hee, you really didn't want it to be Monday yet did you - you've dated today's condo as the 22nd again! Nice to hear Skooter is doing well :)
 
Nice report, Molly. 'Cept for the snow!

Every time I think about moving back to the midwest, weather events give me pause!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Sorry you have to deal with the crazy drivers. Stay safe in the snow.

I'm glad Skooter had a good morning. I hope you have a great evening.
 
Welpers, I took the plunge and scheduled Skooter's dental for next Wednesday. :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: I am not sure if it is a good thing or a bad thing it is on April Fool's Day. I happen to be a huge fan of Friday the 13th, so I am going to go with a good thing.

The vet who has the dental background agreed to do his dental, yay! He can't eat after 8 or 830 the night before, so that is gonna be tough, but we will get through it! I sure hope that once they do the x-rays they don't really find anything TOO bad. So if I don't want to do the injection antibiotic, and I am WAY too out of practice with pilling him, should I ask about a liquid antibiotic prior to his dental so it arrives on time?

I guess I am not so sure what to expect after the dental as far as Skooter. I know it will depend on if he extractions or not, but any advice, thoughts, etc would be greatly appreciated. I am not sure if anesthesia works the same in cats where it takes awhile for it to work out of their system before they are hungry or what all I should be asking for to bring home. Thanks for your help in advance!
 
You're not going to know if he needs an antibiotic or not til the dental is done. I wouldn't try to do anything about that in advance.

Tonka's condo today has lots of dental questions - why don't you pop over and look there? There's also some dental info on the New to the Group? sticky, near the bottom.

I think April 1st is an awesome day for a dental! :)
 
When Neko had her dentals - she could eat until midnight, or even up to 6AM with the dental specialist. You could ask if you could push it a little later since Skooter is a diabetic. Or just don't bother with insulin the night before and morning of. I did a liquid antibiotic with Neko (clindamycin, in the form of Antirobe Aquadrops). It doesn't hurt to ask before hand what their liquid options are, though vetty didn't ask me until the extractions were done which I'd prefer.
 
I saw in Tonka's post that Julie mentioned possible slow motility. The vet mentioned that Skooter could possibly have slow motility. That makes me a little nervous, so I will probably add that to my list of questions for the vet. I can't ever remember the name of the drug that is injected and starts with a "C" that is not good for them to have.

Thanks for the info!
 
It's Convenia. And add Metacam for pain relief to the list of "not to give". Another link for you is Gracie's dental day. Marje always goes into a lot of detail. The type of anesthesia medication can also influence what you see. Apparently in the US Alflaxalone is just recently starting to be used - it's been in Canada for a while. One benefit for it is that it doesn't impact the BG's as the older anesthesia meds do. When Skooter gets home from the vet after the dental, test him and see if he's dropping. You may decide to skip that night or do a greatly reduced dose, depending on how he's eating. The slow motility just means giving small meals about 20-30 minutes apart at first. Neko would have eaten a horse after her first dental. :rolleyes:
 
Hi Molly!

Skooter's numbers are looking lovely! I see we'll both be fretting on April 1st as our sweet boys undergo their dentals. Maybe a dental is just the ticket Skoots needs to bring some of those last pesky higher numbers down.

Glad you survived driving this AM. My commute was a little slick in spots, but not bad. Even though I'm sick to death of winter, I will admit that the snow falling last night was actually really pretty.

Have a good evening!
 
My Scooter had such bad teeth that he had quite a few extractions so he needed help after. We used the clindamycin drops as well and it worked well. I also used baby food for about 4 days after. Chicken only no additives or other things. He was very good and his numbers went down after. I also took him in a large carrier with carpet in the bottom and a kitty bed he uses as well as feliway rubbed all over the carrier and of course his blanket that I rubbed all over me first. The vet put him in his carrier after surgery so he could wake up and not be scared. My vet also uses lavender on her hands to calm any kittys that are upset. Scooter was fine after and happy to be home.
 
Hi Molly! Sending lots of dental vines to Skooter!! Billie had one about a year ago. She ended up needing 5 extractions. She was on liquid Clavamox after. I was actually able to mix it with milk, and she drank it happily. I have found that Billie does well on Clavamox when she eats with it, but if she doesn't eat enough, she gets very nauseous.

Her vet let her eat 6 hours before the dental, but I know most don't want that. She was surprisingly ravenous when she got home! She was loopy but she went right for her food bowl. ETA: I gave her small amounts at a time at first in case the anesthesia made her stomach upset, but she didn't throw up and just wanted more food. She was constipated for a few days though, now that I think about it. The vet said that's common.

I remember being very nervous too. I'm sure Skooter will make out great. It's awesome that you have a vet who specializes in dentals doing the procedure. It sounds like he is in good hands!
 
Last edited:
Hi Molly,
Just quickly stopping by to wish you good luck with Skooter's dental.
Ginger just had her dental done last Friday. She didn't need any extraction, so we weren't sent home with any A/B.
Ginger was allowed to eat breakfast, cut off was 6am, but the dental vet I took her doesn't start procedures until afternoon.
When I got Lucy's dental done last year, I got Antirobe, same A/B Wendy got for Neko.
I got in both liquid and capsule forms, because Lucy was difficult to pill and I wasn't sure which form would be easier for her.
I ended up using capsule ones because the liquid one tasted horrible (I tasted it).

One thing I like to do is, when I go pick my cat up when it's done, I ask for a copy of anesthesia record, that shows all the details of anesthesia protocol they used, including pre-anesthetic drugs.
Even if I don't understand everything on the sheet (in fact I understand very little), I think it's good to keep this kind of record.
It will usually have the record of vital signs during procedure, like blood pressure and heart rate.
I figure if something happens during night and I need to take my cat to the ER on the night of the procedure, I have something to show to them about what she was given.
I am a worry wart, but I feel good to be prepared.
 
Last edited:
I'm glad you got that scheduled. The sooner it's over and done with, the better, and if there are any issues, getting them taken care of may help Skooter's BGs. My vet says no food after midnight. They are all different, I guess. Harvey, who has had a dental almost every year of his life, is always starving when he gets home. My vet tells me nothing but water the first night, but I cheat and give him baby food, one tablespoon at a time, spaced 20-30 minutes apart. He's never had a problem with that (other than thinking Mama is being very stingy with the fuds).

April 1st we are going to see Garth Brooks, but I'll be thinking of you during the day and watching to see your updates. Meanwhile, surf Skooter, surf! :D
 
I would double check on the food removal. My vet normally tells people 8 o'clock too but the digestive process I think is only around 6 hours. I have called them on it before, particularly given that Vyktor is free fed so it's not like he has his evening meal and then just misses breakfast. They then tell me that midnight is the latest to take his food away.

Vyktor has always been starving when he gets home from a dental too no matter how many extractions he's had, or with his faucitis issues, how much tissue they've cut away. I give soupy food with no lumps and only a couple of tspns every 15-20 mins until his appetite has calmed down - usually within an hour or two.
 
I bought some baby food for Furball in case she won't eat her normal food after her dental. I've just fed her a little bit at a time the evening after the dental and then fed the usual amount the next day. Since she only eats wet food, it's not a problem. Last time, I gave the vet a can of Furball's food in case they tried to feed her when she first woke up. That way I knew what she was eating. Of course, she didn't want to eat at the vet.

I usually end up skipping Furball's shot the morning of the dental, even though the vet says I can give half the dose. It has made her high the night after, but she gets back on track and I'd rather be safe than sorry. When Furball had extractions, she got the liquid Antirobe Aquadrops for an AB.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top