3/23 Sabrina AMPS 180. Dose Advice Needed. TY!

Jia&Sabrina

Member Since 2021
Last thread

Hi All,

It has been a while since my last post. We found out a couple weeks ago that Sabrina fractured one of her canine tooth and lost 2/3 of it. We don’t know when and how exactly it happened but we suspected it was by the end of February as Sabrina was having some bad days. We took her to primary vet and ER but this fractured fang was not noticed until recently. Our primary vet referred us to specialists due to Sabrina’s age and diabetes. Unfortunately, all the vet dentists nearby are fully booked until May so all we can do is to wait with patience.

Sabrina’s BG fell consistently between 120-200 for a few days but since 3/21 she started to have higher numbers overall. Besides, instead of a smooth curve I’m seeing many spikes and drops, big and small. I wonder if it’s normal? Are those spikes and drops caused by somogyi? Is it possible to have somogyi multiple times a day?

Because of the higher BG we decided to increase the dose by .25 yesterday and started to give Sabrina 1 unit of Lantus. Sabrina dropped to 65 at PM+5 and then climbed right up to 186 within an hour. Today at AM+5 she dropped to 61(!) which I understand is still within normal range but it is definitely a new low number for her.

The fractured canine tooth is likely causing discomfort (if not pain…T_T) for Sarbina. And I also suspect she has herpes as she has some symptoms like coughing, sneezing, along with watery eyes. I understand that Sabrina’s BG is influenced by those factors and I have started to doubt myself in terms of increasing the dose. Should I go back to .75? If not, are there some certain hours that I should pay extra attention to keep her from dropping too low?

Would you please take a look at Sabrina's ss as well as her recent daily graphs and offer me some guidance? Any advice is very much appreciated.

3/19
3/20
3/21
3/22
3/23
 
Snce you are following SLGS she earned a reduction to .75 by falling under 90. Do you e Er double check with an ear stick?
 
Hi Tiff, thanks for the reply!

Unfortunately, I didn't double check. Basically I scan her Libre every 1-2 hours during the day and scan at 4am and 6am. I use the LibreLinkUp daily graph to figure out her number at certain time. I was only able to see the low number on the graph. I will double check with an ear stick next time.

In terms of SLGS, I'm actually thinking to switch to TR as I have collected more data and feel a bit more confident to shoot at relatively lower number now. Does it sound like a good idea?
 
I'd vote to switch to TR too! WITh all that testing and no dry food - why not?

Then you would leave her dose as is until she goes below 50.

Lovely flat numbers.

Even the yellows aren't very bad - just looks like she ran out of steam when they started to pop in...the insulin was losing it's efficacy by then...and mid-cycle is when it's doing it's best - so relax and enjoy those lovely flat numbers :) She really hasn't had any bouncing since the first week of the month! Very nice!
 
I definitely prefer TR as there's a better chance of remission. If you are switching you will hold the dose as you are seeing green nadirs and not reduce. We have seen the Libre read much lower than the cat's bg at tines so do you7 have a backup meter and have you been able to test using ear pricks?
 
I'd vote to switch to TR too! WITh all that testing and no dry food - why not?

Then you would leave her dose as is until she goes below 50.

Lovely flat numbers.

Even the yellows aren't very bad - just looks like she ran out of steam when they started to pop in...the insulin was losing it's efficacy by then...and mid-cycle is when it's doing it's best - so relax and enjoy those lovely flat numbers :) She really hasn't had any bouncing since the first week of the month! Very nice!

^^ thank you so much for the encouragement.
 
Back
Top