3/23 Pedro Update and Dosing Help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy and Pedro

Active Member
Our last post on 3/15 where it all went down the tubes viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9155

Sorry to have not been back on after 3/15- and thank you for expressions of concern. I have been out of town due to the family situation and will be leaving again on Thursday through the weekend.
I am fortunate as my partner is taking excellent care of Pedro, probably more capable than me. So even though i am out of touch - he is in very good hands and if there are questions we are talking by phone.

So Pedro's chart is now up to date -
He has had 2 separate stays at the vet's now but is home and I think I need to get him restarted on insulin. He has been off insulin since 3/15 and had been below 100 most of the time until last night.
All tests: blood, ultrasound/xray (of abdomen), normal but got the pancratitis results yesterday and he was 19. Vet said 20 is the threshhold but that he is essentially there and so he is treating him for it.
As of Sunday he is on 1/4 cypro 2x/day ( if I go higher he gets really anxious) and 2.5mg pred 2x/day. He is beginning to eat a bit better but he is not by any means normal. Maybe eating 1/2- or a bit more than usual amount and I can only get him to eat 9 lives tuna and nibble at his semi-raw chicken.
His poop/pee is back to normal at this time and only a tiny bit of vomit yesterday. Vet said to get him going again on insulin but to expect that the pred is going to make BG more difficult to control. Plan is to keep him on this level of pred for 7 days ands then begin to gradually back him off.

Prior to his going to the boarders he had been on .75u but thanks to help from here we dropped him to .5 for boarders with the stipulation no shot if below 120.
Since he was below that number quite a bit he missed a few shots and then he cam home and hit the 30/40's the next day so that would mean a reductiuon to .25.

So, should I start him up tonight on .25U? We can't monitor him during the day until this weekend and as his eating isn't great I 'm concerned.
Any thoughts on the best approach would be helpful.

You are all bright lights in my day~
 
(((((AMY))))) I am SO happy...no thrilled...to see your post this morning!!!!!!!!
Geeez Girl, you had us sooooo worried.
Well, I have no ideas for the dose...but I am here to hug both you and Pedro....I am so glad that you are touching base here. I am sure there will be lots of people who will come to your aid with ideas about the dose and everything else. I know nothing! :lol: But I AM glad to see you! :mrgreen:
Hope DPs knee is doing okay and I am so glad that Pedro is in good hands. Wishing you well Amy..... :YMHUG:
High fives to Pedro from Raja & Shadow.....Feel better Pedro!!!!
 
Dear Amy, We hope that the new meds and going back on a small amount of insulin will help Pedro. We're glad he's OK and in good hands. Keep us posted when you can.

Ella & Stu
 
Yay! Amy and Pedro are back!!

I'm sorry you are having tough times and hope things will improve soon. It sounds like his BG off insulin was very promising most of the time.
 
Welcome back!!

A couple of thoughts about the pancreatitis. Have you seen Jojo's post on the subject? You might want to think about talking to your vet about using Pepsid and getting some pain meds/bupe until Pedro is feeling better. The Pepsid may also help with his appetite.

Given that Pedro has been off insulin for almost a week, 0.25u may be a reasonable place to start back but let me see if I can get a few others to stop by
 
AMY!! PEDRO!! We are so glad to see you are back! We were worried about you two--I would go with the .25, as Pedro sounds like he's doing very well now-with the FD. hopefully with the pancreatitis too. You can always raise a bit if the pred.starts to affect numbers--
You poor peeps, sorry for all you are going through :cry: ,but Pedro's numbers are the light on the horizon--Hope things get better for you soon..
Big Hugs from Us~!
 
Thanks for updating us! Sounds like things aren't so bad, his numbers are certainly not to high with almost no insulin. My opinion would be that .25U sounds like a good starting point, you can always increase if you need to after evaluating for a few days. The Pred may raise it a little but not for certain and if it helps with the other problems and he has less inflamation and pain it may mean his BG will stay lower. Glad to hear your partner is so supportive and taking good care of Pedro so you can deal with your family. ((Hugs)))
 
We'll go with the .25 tonight after checking his BG and seeing how his day went. I'll definetly try to post numbers here for today and tomorrow and them I'm off again.
I have to call the vet and give him a status report so I'll ask about meds, etc.

Thanks also for the Jojo info I will do some reading tonight.
Glad to be back and absolutley the bright spot is the support here and that his numbers have stayed low (anti-jinx).
 
Re: 3/23 Pedro PMPS 93

Pedro ate about 4oz during day and nibbled more before I gave him his .25u. First insulin in 9 days. I will be checking him tonight to see how he does. He is on his heated bed behind me sleeping deeply. Still exhausted from terrorizing the vet and his staff for the past week.
Peeing well and drinking a bit more but I think the increase in drinking is pred related.
 
Amy, it's so good to see you back. I hope Pedro continues to improve so you can have a few less worries. (((Amy & Pedro)))
 
:YMHUG: Amy and Pedro! :YMHUG:

Thank Goodness you are okay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And thank you for posting an update. Many of us were worried.

Keep an eye on the bg's with the pred. Are you giving it once or twice/day? Some people find no increase in bg's, others (like linda/bearman) see a bit of an increase - tho she may disagree and say it increases him a lot. Then there are kitties like latte who see a higher rise. ECID, you just have to watch and raise when appropriate.

It can take some time for the pred to work on things such as eating. It depends on how much inflammation was present to start with. For latte I noticed an initial, small difference at first. Then it took quite a few weeks for her to get more regular with the eating and less vomiting. The 2nd time around, after taking a month off from the pred, it seemed to work within hrs. Immediate results are not always going to happen.

Im glad you have good support at home to help with Pedro for the time being.

My heart goes out to you and all you have been through lately. Please find some time to take care of you!

Is the pred temporary or just a jump start?
 
Your pred dose is pretty low, and it is being divivded into two doses, so you should get more of an even effect on BG, but hopefully not too much of one. You are going to start reducing the pred after 7 days, so be ready for a bit of a drop in BG as the pred tapers off. Pred usually makes kitties feel pretty good, so I hope Pedro is back to feeling better soon. A bit of pain relief might be needed for the pancreatitis, and possibly something for nausea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top