3/23 Oren; AMPS-359;dosecrease to 4.5uPMPS-521; HELP, CONSTIPATION, READ BELOW; pm+4.5-392

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
YESTERDAY: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-22-oren-amps-380-3-470-6-439-9-429-pmps-474-pm-4-463.134975/

Many many thanks to all who chimed in yesterday with advice, 'calming' vines and expertise. I don't know what I'd do without everyone here.

a better number this a.m then i was expecting, considering he actually drank and pee'd a lot overnight, which is not the norm. So upto 4.5 today. Unfortunately, a work day so i can't do any midday tests or anything better than PMPS (long work day). left 2 small meals in feeder (just in case?!) Let's get this thing Oren!!

Happy Mon. and best to all kitties and beans.
 
just saw in someone elses condo who was asking about what happens with too high an insulin dose, that sometimes it reflects as staying in high numbers (or sometimes they plunge) That certainly is Oren these days, high flat 300-400s. ... his dose has been steadily increasing every 3 days, and most people have said he needs it. but is it possible he's getting too much?
 
Good luck with the increase, I hope it brings some lower numbers soon.

Sometimes too high a dose will bring some higher numbers, but it's not something we see when a kitty has increased methodically following the protocol, and testing along the way, as you have done with Oren. It's the sort of thing we'll see when kitty has started on too high a dose by the vet, or when increases have been one without any mid cycles tests to see how the dose is working. To me, Oren's spreadsheet just looks like he isn't getting enough insulin yet. It's been over a week since you've seen any black - things are improving.:)
 
We're jinxed i'm afraid. pmps 521, 7 days prior w/o black.
please just be new dose wonkiness...or a bounce bc he went lower today? wits are spreading way too thin...
 
Last edited:
to make matters worse, he hadn't pooped yesterday, and tonight after eating he was straining to do so, and nothing came out, then he got out of box and scooted his butt on floor and a small bit of feces was there... he's already eaten, should I try to get some more food w/ pumpkin into him? maybe this is why his numbers are up??? do i need to call a vet at this hour?? update at 7.15; he managed to get out 2 small poos, but less than his usual output..should I still try and get some pumpkin in him now or wait till breakfast?
 
Last edited:
I would be very judicious about pumpkin. Pumpkin can work for both constipation or diarrhea. A lot will depend on Oren's system and how he handles fiber. What I would do is add as much water as he can tolerate to his food. If he's constipated, you may need to take him to the vet. Products, like Miralax which can be very helpful for constipation, shouldn't be used unless you know that it's a matter of simple constipation (vs. a blockage or megacolon)
 
i have added water to all his feedings. even the poached chicken breast I give him i keep stored in a little water to keep it moist. He did manage to get out 2 small pieces tonight... but it was a bit of a struggle.. only vet available now is emergency... since he got something out, what is best action ?
 
Perhaps he needs to have his anal glands "expressed". Scooting is often an indication that the anal glands are full; possibly impacted so that nothing can get out easily. I would suggest taking him to the vet tomorrow.

NDW is the probable explanation for the high number. Try not to stress over this. Give the new dose a chance to settle in.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
I think only you can determine being there, looking at him, if this is an emergency. If it's ordinary constipation, I'd probably wait and see what happens tomorrow. If there is a chance of impaction, then you might need to at least call the vet tonight and ask for their opinion.

Yes, a cat that's on too high of a dose can have high numbers - but as Wendy said, that's why the protocol has methodical small increases - either 0.25u or 0.5u depending on the blood sugar. I don't think Oren has had terrible dose increases, too large, too often. Every 4 cycles is ok when you're trying to get a cat out of constant high numbers. More likely he needs more insulin.

What people told me was the most important numbers were the blood sugar numbers, not the size of the dose. Kitties need all different amounts - as long as you're methodically increasing he'll get to the *right* dose. Hang in there, megan! He will get there, but we can't safely rush things.
 
since he pooped two small pieces earlier, he seems better. No more scooting, and he has even been lying next to me on couch, purring and dozing. I would think this isn't a complete emergency right now. would it be appropriate to put a tiny bit of pumpkin along w/ the water in his breakfast tomorrow? I suppose if there is nothing else in the box in the a.m it becomes a judgement call about whether to call the vet. I do have work tomorrow..
 
Punkin wouldn't eat pumpkin, so I'm not experienced in using that. I suppose like any fiber there might not be an instant response to eating it.
 
at the risk of beating a dead horse, I forgot to make clear that Oren was started at 1u by the Vet, and raised to 2u a week later, also by the vet. All other increases have been by me. He did, however, get some mid-cycle tests after the increase to 2u by my pet sitter, and he responded pretty well at that time. Since then, all backwards. Just trying to be as thorough as possible.

Good luck with the increase, I hope it brings some lower numbers soon.
Sometimes too high a dose will bring some higher numbers, but it's not something we see when a kitty has increased methodically following the protocol, and testing along the way, as you have done with Oren. It's the sort of thing we'll see when kitty has started on too high a dose by the vet, or when increases have been one without any mid cycles tests to see how the dose is working. To me, Oren's spreadsheet just looks like he isn't getting enough insulin yet. It's been over a week since you've seen any black - things are improving.:)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top