3/23 Mr. Grey AMPS 176;+1 194 +1.5 203 +6 128 PMPS 132

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick & Mr. Grey

Member Since 2012
3/23 Mr. Grey AMPS 176;+1 194 +1.5 203 +6 128 PMPS 132;+2 126 +3 126 +4 126 How long should I hold the 9.25u dose ? confused_cat I get confused when I read the instruction links that are here at this forum. It's not clear to me for some reason. It seems that a cat @ AMPS 194 is still a high fasting number. Even though the past two nights we had a battle that started in the low 40's and the protocol says to decrease by .25u. Did that and now his BG is higher. I am getting awesome advice from great members here and that always helps me through the tough times with my Mr. Grey.
Update @ +6 BG 128. Any input to this much appreciated as of now I am holding dose @ 9.25u.
 
Re: 3/23 Mr. Grey AMPS 176;+1 194 +1.5 203

Hi Rich, normally we hold a reduction dose for about 6 cycles to see if it's going to hold, before taking it back up. You might see a bounce and that will give it time to settle. The other alternative is that he could decide he's going in the downwards direction and go below 50 again. Since you are at a larger dose, you have a larger shed and should see the effects of the 9.5 shed for a couple more cycles.

With Neko, I got up to 8.75 units before we turned the corner, but we had stereotactic radiation therapy for her acro right after than and then started going down. At the higher doses, I found she'd still feel the effects of the larger shed for a few cycles. Neko's a real bouncer, so it's a little hard to see that looking at her SS.

Hope you got some good sleep last night. Mr Grey's SS really does look like the beginnings of spring. :-D
 
Re: 3/23 Mr. Grey AMPS 176;+1 194 +1.5 203 +6 128

I'm liking what I see on his spreadsheet :)

I also wanted to tell you what a handsome kitty Mr. Grey is :-D
 
Re: 3/23 Mr. Grey AMPS 176;+1 194 +1.5 203 +6 128

Rick:

Each dose is typically held for 3 days (6 cycles) unless numbers drop below 50 which warrants a reduction in dose for a cat that's within the first year of diagnosis. This allows you to evaluate the effectiveness of the dose since the action of Lantus and Lev are cumulative. It also gives you the opportunity for a bounce to clear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top