3/23 Max apms 184

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mindy & Max

Active Member
Friday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9607

Wow, so it was a roller coaster weekend. Did a curve on Saturday. Tried to up the dose on Sunday. Nearly went hypo Sunday evening. After vomit, called after hours vet line...that vet said not to shoot next am if not above 200...and said I shouldn't have shot pmps at 85. I probably shouldn't have, but was trying to follow protocol, tho realized later that because I was shooting 30min early, should have reduced dose another .25U. Anyhow, crisis averted and I've gone back to 2U dose and abandoned dose increase to 2.25U.

Ended up coming down with stomach flu in the middle of the night Sunday, so was home from work yesterday.

Tried to call vet yesterday am. Vet I've been working with only works like 2 days a week, and Monday isn't one of them. She's supposed to call today...will probably be upset that a) I haven't brought him in for a curve at the office, and b) that I tried to increase his dose.

My instincts were telling me not to increase since he was on a general downward trend with his numbers anyway...and now I know that instinct was right--but wanted to try the increase when I'd be home to watch and test, not wait until Monday to have vet say to increase, but then I wouldn't be home to see what happened.

So...I have questions, but today is crazy busy at work with not being here yesterday so I can't be around much. Max is doing fine for the moment...I'll bring the questions tomorrow.
 
Wow, so I just got off the phone with the vet. She wasn't upset with me at all, and agreed it sounded like he was going to reverse himself out of diabetes. I emailed her the spreadsheet, but she said she wasn't worried about him at all--said it sounded like he was in very capable hands. :smile: She said to continue doing what I was doing, and she was totally okay with me doing curves at home and not bringing him into the office for one. :-D

I welcome any input anyone has...been so busy this morning my head is spinning. I know I have questions, but for the life of me right now I can't remember them.
 
I hope you are feeling better today Mindy.
I am not sure why you raised the dose from 2.0 to 2.25. He was getting blue on that dose.
I know you don't have a computer at home so you don't have any contact with the board on the weekends.
It might be good if you had a few guidelines as to when to shoot and what to do if the numbers are too low like this weekend.
One thing I noticed on you ss is that you gave dry food to bring up the numbers. The reason we try not to give dry is because it takes a long time to get into the system and longer to leave. If you could stock up on some HC canned that would be helpful. You can look on Janet and Binky's list and find some flavors that have 18% carbs. Most of the flavors that have gravy are usually HC.

It does look like Max is doing great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top