3/23 Maverick PMPS - 137 - question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39524

I have gotten complacent. I got up at 12:00AM to test him last night but sitting there with him I just cuddled with him for ten minutes instead. The dialogue was, I'll test you, you'll be a high green or a low blue. And your ears need a rest. So I'll just cuddle and not prick your ear. He purred and purred. Maverick never goes low or gives me surprises. He goes up when I expect him to go down. Short of testing every hour from +3 to +7 I don't know when his nadir is.

I shot this. And double checked. I'm home until +6.5. Every single time we've shot low like this he's risen right through to PMPS.

He decided last night at 3AM he does not like ocean whitefish and tuna anymore. He hadn't eaten as much as normal. But happily chowed down on Turkey and Giblet. Fed him more at AMPS. I will break out the chicken dust if needed. With his kidney flags I have laid off this a lot.

Neck expert today at 3. I doubt I'll be in pain like the last time. I'm feeling so much better. I didn't even realize my neck was as tight as it was in between the bad flareup/migraine days twice a month.

Funny yesterday I wanted to remind myself to ask you guys about increasing his dose.
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?? Lesson in this

Good morning guys .. and look at maverick go! So glad you will be home to monitor .. I hope he just surfs the greens for you all day .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?? Lesson in this

Wow... BOS, Karrie! I hope Maverick surfs the day away and am glad you'll be home to check on him. I know what you mean about nadirs; I have no idea when Chaos will be at his lowest. It could happen anywhere from +3 to +7 and it's hard to predict. I just do the best I can with him and try not to beat myself up 'cause my cat is unpredictable. I will take a lesson away from this, tho... don't get complacent!

I am so glad you're feeling better. My pain doc told me yesterday that the chronic pain patient's brain becomes programmed to feel pain and constantly make you aware of it after a time. All pains feel huge, even if they are really just little ones. Once you take away the constant pain stimulus (in your case, the neck and migraines), given time, the brain can re-set itself to detect and react to pain more like a "normal" person's does, and the brain begins to function better all around. You see in color again, know what I mean? So keep at it, it's helping already. I'm really happy for you! (p.s. yesterday my doc said he was OK with me going hormone-free. no more shots, no BC pills! yaaaay! Now I just have to wait for it to get out of my system.)
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?? Lesson in this

Hello Karrie & Maverick - love your blue & green numbers & that tiny dose. I just read Maverick's profile - we are so glad he is still cuddling & purring with you. Warms our heart.

Regarding Lanky's SS - I "insert" rows at the top of the page about once a week & insert a food row daily. I think I've figured out all the short cuts so I can help you with your SS anytime, just PM me & we can chat about it.

Have a great day & give Maverick a hug from us.
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?? Lesson in this

Good morning! I'm happy Maverick is being difficult again, since today he has decided he likes what he's supposed to like. Go for Turkey!
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?? Lesson in this

Hi Karrie,
Do you have HC gravy in your tool kit just in case? I guess Mav. wants to stay with his current dose (or maybe he's telling you that he wants a decrease?). Keep a close eye on him!
So glad that he's gone back to the Turkey & Giblets. Atta boy, Maverick!
Good luck with your neck appointment today. It's great that you are beginning to feel better.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?? Lesson in this

Bah - you watch. No high carb needed. This boy will rise from 60 all the way up to PMPS. Unless he REALLY wants to teach me a lesson. I had the data from the past to shoot this. So we'll see if his owners manual needs a revision soon. Maybe I should test now though DOH> BRB! Got working and time flew.
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?? Lesson in this

morning guys! what a great amps. I think we have all been there, about being complacent. always the question: do I really need to test this? and yes, without poking every hour, it's hard to know when nadir is, and even then it can shift. after a while though I think if you "push all the lines together" you can get a good guess as to when It may be. maybe. :-D

i will be curious to see what his next test is - up? or? ah there it is.... still a 60. awesome Mav - now surf there buddy! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Have a great day today. And good luck with your appt - I hope that goes well. It is great to read that you are feeling better.
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?+ 1.8 60

surely you know cats don't follow the rules! :lol:
lovely start...and truly glad to hear your pain is lessening!
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?+ 1.8 60 +3 49!!

Almost six months of dosing and this is his very first <50. Makes me wonder if I messed up his shot some how. Or subconciously gave furshots all them other times.

I don't know if he just ate. Went upstairs and he came around the corner licking his lips and washing his face. ohmygod_smile I will get out the chicken dust and sprinkle some on top. I have a high carb kit ready but he isn't a diver. But his owners manual may need editing.
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?+ 1.8 60 +3 49!!

:shock: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: and GO MAV! wow - looks like he means business today. :-D : may have to adjust that owners manual. what a great morning for Maverick.
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?+5 86

Haven't had time to update his spreadsheet. His second reading after the 49 was 64 and then 86. I'm off to the neck experts. Then catching up with work when I get back. See you guys later.
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?+5 86

what amazing numbers Maverick but lets not dive anymore, surfs up!

Good luck with the neck appointment, hope it goes well
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?+5 86

What a day Maverick is having and a great job you did today with him. Hope the doctor appointment goes well and glad you are having less neck tension and pain.
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick AMPS 62/60?+5 86

Hi Karre,
Good luck today with the neck specialist, and I'm glad you're feeling better since the last visit. Wow, look at our Maverick go today! I can't wait to see the next reading.
 
Re: 3/23 Maverick PMPS - 137 - did I mess up?

Today AMPS 62
He normally rises from a low AMPS
+2.9 60
+3 49 Added chicken dust to T&G
+3.66 64
+5 86
PMPS 137

AND tonight I was 30 minutes late on his shot. I muted my iphone for my doctor appt and forgot to turn it on so I didn't hear the insulin alarm and worked though shot time.

I shot the reduced dose.

Should I have shot the non reduced dose (considering his itty bitty mini bounce)? Honestly I have no idea what I'm shooting. I will have to take a picture and compare. I've probably been shooting more than a .25. (line was in the middle of the plunger).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top