3/23 Lincoln AMPS 421, +3 349, +5 247, +9 184, PMPS 376, +2 369, +5 257, +8 230

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lincolns Mom

Member Since 2016
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-21-lincoln-amps-252-2-290-5-77-6-77-7-103-9-194-pmps-446-3-324-5-218.175151/]3/21

i dont know what is going on with Lincoln and this dose.... we are having major drops that then continue to lead to fast climbs back up... i dont know if this means he isnt getting enough or too much insulin... i do know the couple times he found green on this dose i was giving MC to stop him from seeing the sharks and that worked.... i dont know if the last day is because of the back to back cycles seeing green and his body bounced because of this??? do i just need to wear my patience pants or am i missing something on his SS??

hope everyone has a nice Thursday and that all the kitties stay safe today... this bean is headed BTB for some sleep... that is until one of my kitties decide they need second breakfast :bighug::bighug::bighug:[/URL]
 
Lincoln really likes to keep his ss very colourful, doesn't he :rolleyes:
He did reach green a couple of days ago and some reasonable blues yesterday so I don't think I would increase him yet but it's just my opinion so hopefully some others have advice for you.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Lincoln, those ugly reds are just silly buddy. He's hit 50's, 60's & 70's just a few days ago. He's very wobbly and would keep the dose for at least a few more cycles. He likes to pull a high before a low. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
so we are all voting patience pants... just wasnt sure if i was missing something on the SS... i wish this disease made more sense some days :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Some kitties bounce worse from fast drops than they do from lower numbers. I see a few times in the SS when Lincoln dropped more than 100 points in 2 hours, or worse on 3/21 AM. Maybe you should try experimenting with some slightly higher LC (8-9%) snacks before those drops to slow them down. Maybe around +2-+3 so he has fresh carbs on board before the insulin onsets?
 
Have you tried using your usual LC food to slow things down? If not, you might consider doing that first or, alternatively, follow up on what Wendy suggested. Regardless of what you do, I'd encourage you to keep notes on your SS. It will help you keep track of what does or doesn't work and it will help us to follow along with how you're using food to intervene. I would use food to flatten out Gabby's cycles. Ideally, you try to prevent numbers from dropping into dose reduction territory and aim for blue pre-shots and a flat green cycle. If you look at Gabby's SS (sorry -- there's lots of data), you'll see how we struggled for the first year or so to stop the fast, early drops and bouncing.
 
Lincoln is fed at shot time, then at +2/+3, +5 and +9... he only gets 1/6th of a LC can at a time along with the rest of my gang... i was keeping track of which food i was feeding when on the comments of the ss but then i just found i was typing the same thing and it wasnt really effecting him.. i do take notes for anything i do if he is low or falling too fast.. unfortunately we are now 2 years diabetic with Lincoln... didnt find FDMB till it was late in the game for him...
 
really considering an increase to 6.5u... i feel he is not holding this reduction and that every day i am waiting he is getting insulin toxicity... i dont want to be back up at over 7u only cause i waited too long
 
calipers set for 6.5u for AMPS... unless he changes his last few nights pattern that will be the shot in the morning... i doubt we are going to see a change... my gut is he is going right back up to high pinks if not red for AMPS
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top