3/23 Leo no AM shot, PMPS 84 +2.5 74 +6 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
:shock: Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 136 <--- recovering from previous night's BCS
+3 76
+6 52
+7.5 85
+11 91
PMPS 85
+2.5 48 <--- started 11% surfing every 20 min. Taking the reduction.
+3.5 57
+4 67 <--- left more 11% and 5 Temptations.
+8 114

Forgive me LantusLand, for I have sinned.

In not BCS'ing last night when I truly should have, I woke to a 48 and was thus compelled to stay up and surf his furry little butt. I confess, with mere hours left before I had to get up for the race, I left 5 Temptations. Leo was in ecstasy. He gets Temptations very rarely, like as in, Mamabean has no good treat for an early morning normal nadir test. And after I saw what a partial bowl of Fruit Loops does to him, I figured after a 2 hour surf that they would ride him through his nadir. Mamabean was not incorrect. And yet Mamabean rues her inattention in shooting the full load the night before a big race.

Leo won't get a shot this morning. VERY sad to say after all our great progress. It will at least be informative to see how high he flies today. We leave around +9.5 and won't return until about AMBG+9.

Have a wonderful Caterday all and I'll see you after my death run. After 3 days of fighting a cold after Late Night Leo's, I'm dragging patootie in a sad way. But I'll put on my Big Girl pants and grit it out if I can. Latest weather report for the start of the race: 32 degrees, 15 mph winds, wind chill factor 22 degrees, with gusts of wind reaching 33 mph about 1 hour into the race. Worse conditions I've ever run in. At least there will be no snow or rain. Despite these horrid conditions, I'd much rather DNF than DNS (Did Not Finish vs. Did Not Start). And if I can manage to get my butt across the finish line, I get a pretty big metal :-) And isn't always about the jewelry??? :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot

Leo sure is keeping you on your toes. I hope he doesn't go too high today with the skipped shot, but if he does he'll get back on track quickly. Don't be too hard on yourself. We have to do what we need to in order to keep our kitties safe. I hope you finish the race and it isn't too rough for you.
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot

You will get Leo back on track. Good luck in the race. I winced at the 22 degree wind chill... you wouldn't have gotten me to the start of the race! :lol:
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot

No mea culpa's needed. Leo is looking great. Good luck with the race an hopefully, Leo's numbers will be as pretty as another piece of jewelry!
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot

Lisa, good luck vines on the Half Marathon! Oh yikes 22 degrees windchill factor! :shock:
You're my hero! :-D Can't wait to hear all about it.
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot

Enjoy the race and hope you feel better AND get the bling! ;-)

PS I did read your response on yesterday's condo :-D
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot

You're a crazy lady!!!!! 32 degrees, 15 mph winds, wind chill factor 22 degrees, with gusts of wind reaching 33 mph...HECK NO!!!!! I hope you enjoy your Popsicle run and get some pretty bling!!! As for Leo, I'm sure he'll be just fine and will recover fast. Thinking warm thoughts for you!!!!
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot +8 92

AMBG +8 ....92. :: jaw drop ::

Clearly shed is doing something here ... but a 92? :?: Is it likely that he went up during the day after no shot and is lower now due to the shed kicking in? I would doubt he would be green all day, especially after this morning's blue.

I can't wait to see what he is in a few hours. I'd though to shoot him early if he was high, but perhaps I'll wait the 4 hours until his normal shot time. I'll test at +10ish. He also gets a reduction from last night, and I had planned to "shoot through the bounce" tonight ... but how much a bounce will we see? Hmmmm. Hard to tell from 1 number.

Thanks to all of you for your well-wishes on my race and for skipping Leo's shot. We just got back and I was not in top form to run the race. Exhausted for days and still not sure if I'm getting sick. I am currently icing my knees and ankles. The race was arranged with a friend 9 months ago, with a lunch afterwards with him, his baby daughter and DH (who sadly could not run due to a foot injury) so there was no backing out. So I set out and in the first 3 miles knew this could be no true race, but a long strenuous training run. I saw DH taking pictures 4 times on the course and he very kindly swapped out jackets and shirts for me to deal with the alternate over-warmness in the sun and the howling banshee winds around the lake. Several times, the bursts of wind were so strong it felt like we were standing still - several of us were yelling, "Seriously? SERIOUSLY???" This was the worst weather so far, but only for the winds. I didn't mind the cold. I like running in the cold. But oh the winds! The course was very nice though - Corona Park in Queens, NYC, site of 2 World's Fairs, with the Unisphere which was featured in Men in Black if anyone remembers. That was cool to see. So of course I had the MIB theme song on my iPod :-)

mib_unisphere.jpg


And YESSSSS around mile 9 I remembered to shout, "MY CAT IS A FART!" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hi Carla - thanks for saying - Leo did amazingly well - can't wait to see how he does in the next couple hours.

Hi Mary - Hopefully he won't get too off track. The wind and cold was worse before and after the race, but once I got going, it wasn't as terrible. But did not dress appropriately (too much on at the start, actually).

Hi Sienne - the metal has blue and orange on it ... so tell him he can only be the blue and nothing higher! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hi Ann - thank you for the vines! I was dragging serious patootie this morning. It was an experience ... the race website said, "average low of 40, average high of 60." BULL$HIT! Well, I suppose it was true, but not mention of the wind.... :-D

Hi Marje - overall it was a great day ... any day looks great in the rear view mirror, right! It was a tough one but I'm glad I stuck it out. About 2 miles from the end, I was talking to myself, convincing myself not to stop and walk. A guy on the sidelines looked at me funny as I'm muttering, "Ok, put on your big girl pants and finish running this race." :-D

Hi Deborah - yes, it's been said I am crazy. Many times! :lol: :lol: :lol: I swear I'm not as old on the inside as I am on the outside. Thanks for the warms!
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot +8 92

AMBG +8 ....92. :: jaw drop ::

Clearly shed is doing something here ... but a 92? :?: Is it likely that he went up during the day after no shot and is lower now due to the shed kicking in? I would doubt he would be green all day, especially after this morning's blue.

I can't wait to see what he is in a few hours. I'd though to shoot him early if he was high, but perhaps I'll wait the 4 hours until his normal shot time. I'll test at +10ish. He also gets a reduction from last night, and I had planned to "shoot through the bounce" tonight ... but how much a bounce will we see? Hmmmm. Hard to tell from 1 number.

Thanks to all of you for your well-wishes on my race and for skipping Leo's shot. We just got back and I was not in top form to run the race. Exhausted for days and still not sure if I'm getting sick. I am currently icing my knees and ankles. The race was arranged with a friend 9 months ago, with a lunch afterwards with him, his baby daughter and DH (who sadly could not run due to a foot injury) so there was no backing out. So I set out and in the first 3 miles knew this could be no true race, but a long strenuous training run. I saw DH taking pictures 4 times on the course and he very kindly swapped out jackets and shirts for me to deal with the alternate over-warmness in the sun and the howling banshee winds around the lake. Several times, the bursts of wind were so strong it felt like we were standing still - several of us were yelling, "Seriously? SERIOUSLY???" This was the worst weather so far, but only for the winds. I didn't mind the cold. I like running in the cold. But oh the winds! The course was very nice though - Corona Park in Queens, NYC, site of 2 World's Fairs, with the Unisphere which was featured in Men in Black if anyone remembers. That was cool to see. So of course I had the MIB theme song on my iPod :-)

mib_unisphere.jpg


And YESSSSS around mile 9 I remembered to shout, "MY CAT IS A FART!" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hi Carla - thanks for saying - Leo did amazingly well - can't wait to see how he does in the next couple hours.

Hi Mary - Hopefully he won't get too off track. The wind and cold was worse before and after the race, but once I got going, it wasn't as terrible. But did not dress appropriately (too much on at the start, actually).

Hi Sienne - the metal has blue and orange on it ... so tell him he can only be the blue and nothing higher! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hi Ann - thank you for the vines! I was dragging serious patootie this morning. It was an experience ... the race website said, "average low of 40, average high of 60." BULL$HIT! Well, I suppose it was true, but not mention of the wind.... :-D

Hi Marje - overall it was a great day ... any day looks great in the rear view mirror, right! It was a tough one but I'm glad I stuck it out. About 2 miles from the end, I was talking to myself, convincing myself not to stop and walk. A guy on the sidelines looked at me funny as I'm muttering, "Ok, put on your big girl pants and finish running this race." :-D

Hi Deborah - yes, it's been said I am crazy. Many times! :lol: :lol: :lol: I swear I'm not as old on the inside as I am on the outside. Thanks for the warms!
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot +8 72 shock!

Hi Lisa, Congratulations!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT flip_cat flip_cat You did it! I knew you would cross the finish line, now let's see the jewelry! How about a pic or two!

Wow with Leo's numbers, shock is right! :shock: :mrgreen:
Keep icing the knees.
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot +8 72 +10.5 90 shock!

Oh my goodness Lisa,

Well done for running in the first place and amazing work for finishing in that weather! I hope you feel very proud of yourself. And Leo is pulling out all stops too! :mrgreen: Thanks for the condo wishes.

Grace
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot +8 72 shock!

:lol: :lol: :lol: I thought I heard you yell about a farty cat!!!!! Sorry to hear about the winds. But wow...look at Leo go!!!! :shock: :-D I think that was his way of saying "I gots this mama. No worries!"
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot +8 72 +10.5 90 shock!

Me and my friend before the start of the race. Brrrrr.

me+and+Matt+at+Unisphere.jpg


Sporting our BLING after a nice hot shower and tasty pasta lunch!

me+and+Matt+medals+-+Version+2.jpg
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot +8 72 +10.5 90 shock!

You got the bling! That's great :-D Congratulations girl high five!

If you shot schedule needs any adjustment to earlier, you could shoot a little early, since he is running on depot right now.
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot +8 72 +10.5 90 shock!

Congrats on completing that grueling training run, and getting bling! Was anyone around you at mile 9 when you shouted out about your fart cat? I imagine the wind would take it away anyway. Brrrs.

Yeah for Leo, he is one impressive cat today!
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot +8 72 +10.5 90 shock!

It's a banner day! Leo did great and you did too! Congratulations! :-D :mrgreen: :-D :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 3/23 Leo +10 114 no AMBG/no shot +8 72 +10.5 90 shock!

Lisa & Leo said:
Forgive me LantusLand, for I have sinned....I left 5 Temptations. :-D
That makes two of us (Gobbles got 2 whole pieces of dry cat food earlier today when he was low :lol: I'm callin' Sarah McLaughlin on myself and on you Lisa :lol:
 
Re: 3/23 Leo no AM shot, PMPS 84 +2.5 74

PMPS 84 ... and Leo is still green! After a skipped shot this morning. So far, no bounce. I wish I knew what his numbers were earlier in the day, but he's looking fine.

I'm glad you guys like the condo and my running adventure and Leo's excellent job performance. I am just DEAD. I *really* don't want to get up for a nadir, but with this big unknown, I'll drag my butt up in a couple hours...probably to find him doing a little bounce and then I'll kick myself for getting up. :?

Dyana, Wendy, Liz, Kat, Rhiannon, Amy and Michelle - thank you for dropping by leaving us notes. It was a banner day!!! Thanks for sharing it with us!!!
 
Hi Lisa,

What lovely numbers Leo pulled out for your after his missed shot! I hope this streak continues for you.

My civvie Jetzin was a feral kitten too. Does Leo still get moments of feralness when he's afraid? I struggle with Jetzin taking him to the vet, trying to brush him, put flea stuff on his neck, or if somebody rings the door bell or talks outside our house. I've worried that if something happened to him that required regular treatment, I wouldn't be able to do it with him. Has Leo gotten used to testing/injections?

Thanks,
Grace
 
HI Grace - Sorry I missed your question - I'll try to find a condo for you. Leo has things that scare him and we just be careful of them. For instance, he freaks out and takes off at the sound of plastic bags being crinkled or opening a garbage bag to put in the pail. We don't know why. Storms and thunder or especially if other cats come near the house. Then he gets very aggressive to us. But he's taken to me as his "mommy" so I can do lots of stuff to him, and he behaves as if I am truly his mother - he tolerates it in a way that appears to me to be innate, and I'm surprised at that trust. Otherwise we'd have real problems! I had to teach him to clean himself even though we got him at about a year. But he was willing to be socialized and wanted company. Cutting his nails is a chore though!

Leo is completely used to testing and injections, and he accepted them within the first week. We always bribe him with a snack of some sort and he figured out very quickly that he was being presented a "pleasure vs. pain" scenario and he decided the pleasure (snack) was worth the pain (test/injection). He wiggles for tests and sometimes tries to jump off my lap, but 98% of the time he's very good. He feels the injections but I do it just as he starts to scarf down his food.

Leo has a couple hiding places we've made for him that are like little caves that he retreats to during storms and stress.

I doubt some of Leo's fears will ever go away - I'm sure cats in the wild are just traumatized often, and I think something must have happened to him. But he's got a forever home and he's spoiled and I hope he continues to calm down over time.

Good luck with Jetzin. I'd try treats. Give a treat (non carb like chicken), put on the flea stuff, give treat. Try it with brushing but only brush a couple strokes for each session and work up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top