3/23 Hershey

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
AMPS +12.5 (333) 2:00am .5u moving shot time
+6 (42) -

Well, THAT can't be right! Immediate retest (42). Fed 1/4 can (Wellness Turkey & Salmon). Turned meter back on because SURELY I didn't see that number right. Yep - still says the two tests were (42). Waiting :20 to retest

:20 retest (33) Fed 1/8 can
:15 retest (32) Fed 1/16 can
:15 retest (32) Fed 1/16 can

:15 retest (32) Fed 1 T Friskies Prime Fillets Chicken & Tuna in Gravy (19%)
:15 retest (32) Fed 1 T Friskies
:15 retest (41)

:20 = +8 (41)
:20 retest (38) Fed 1 T Friskies
:20 retest (42)

:15 = +9 (48)
:30 retest (53)
:30 = +10 (73)

+11 (94)
+12 (130)

+13 (160)
+13.75 (181)
+14 (213) - Just after +14, so rose 32 in less than :30

PMPS (213) - 4:15pm Shot .1u, may have been closer to .2u
+3 (284)
+6 (341)
+9.5 (361)
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

Hi Libby....Wow, what a surprise this morning....I know you have been through this before, but I am here if I can help you.

Are you feeding High Carb? Karo?
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

Is he acting okay? WOW - he sure knows how to lower the curve! You've already covered the retest thing. He just never ceases to amaze!
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

oh no! Hope you weren't planning to go anywhere. You are an expert at this now and what to do. Hope he climbs up soon!
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

Thanks, Kim. Feeling a little nervous. Kept thinking I should do the +3 this morning at 5am, but I didn't get to sleep until 3 and my Benadryl had kicked in and he's been running plenty high enough...and Doug has gone to the store for more higher carb food...was actually going out today to get some...

Yeah, Lu, he wanted to make sure I didn't think I had him all figured out! He's acting fine. HAWNGRY when I put the food down, but not begging for it.

:15 retest (32) - fed 1/16 can - next test ~6 min
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

At least it's daytime and the vet's offices are open. According to the web, we now have two in Creedmoor; they're not our vet, but they're close! I've written down their numbers and his most recent numbers from his SS, hoping not to need them, of course.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

Thanks, Owlgal - Sorry, your name isn't coming to mind right now. :oops: Actually, the only shopping I needed to do today was cat food and I'm not quite out. :smile: Thanks for the well wishes - would definitely like to see him back at least in the 40's!
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

Libby, will Hershey eat any "people" food? If so -- do you have bread or any other high carb food that he might would eat? Bread soaked in milk etc? Maybe Doug will be back soon, but if not...I would try the bread, cereal, etc.....

That is good to have the Vet numbers....I hope he will come up soon--low 30s and 20s are really low....have you used Karo or honey on the gums yet? If not...I would.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

:15 restes (32) holding there

Doug is back and I fed 1T Friskies Chicken & Tuna in Gravy (19%)
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

Have you used any karo? I would rub a little on his gums, it will take the food longer than the karo to have an effect.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

Sorry, meant to include that -

He's acting like himself. Laying around a bit more, but it seems to be a fat and happy think, you know? He's still coming to be tested, responds when I call him and is still vocal.

Oreo is quite jealous of Hershey's new STINKY food! And, now he's demanding attention from Doug. Somebody's feeling left out :sad:
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

:15 retest (32) another T Friskies Chicken & Tuna in Gravy (19%)

Now, Oreo is trying to nudge Hershey out so he can have it! Yes, Oreo already ate :smile:
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

I'm still sitting in the 'testing chair.' Hershey is now waiting patiently at my feet to be tested...more likely waiting, hoping for more of that 'crack!' ~8 min to retest
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

I can't get over how normal he acts when his numbers are that low. At first I thought your meter was reading wrong, but when he was here I tested with yours and mine and they were within just a few. He just seems to be very resilient, thankfully!

If he's still in the 30s, I'd open up the Karo - it absorbs into the body quicker than the food - even though it's a quick fix that doesn't last, by then the food will be kickin in.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

:15 retest (41) Woo-hoo! Going to hold off on more food this test and let some of that food catch up! I don't want to fill him up. He's had 1/2 Wellness + 2T Friskies - no wonder he's fat and happy! And, now wonder Oreo is jealous!!

They're both circling the food area like sharks :lol:
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

I really didn't want to but in to this situtation, but I wanted to say....I hope Hershey gets his numbers up a bit soon.
What a nerve wrecking way to start a friday morning.
Why do these cats think they have to keep us on our toes? Don't they understand we got this under control? ;-)

Have a good day! :-D
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

Thanks, Jenn. I'm about ready to call 'Shenanigans' on him!! Pulling stuff to get extra attention, treats and higher carb food...indeed! And, now he is asleep...passed out most likely - kind of like the men in Doug's family on Thanksgiving Day!! :lol:

I know, just when I think it's 'under control' Hershey does something to show me who's really the boss :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +6 (42)

+9 Holding at (41) -

Haven't done Karo. He has done well coming up on food every time but that one night, remember Kim? When I had packed the bag, put my shoes on and grabbed the debit card? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

So much for getting him back on schedule, huh? They have such a mind of their own! Glad he's increasing.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

That's funny, Lu, because I was actually going to comment that as of today we are officially back on schedule! :lol:

:15 retest At +9 (48)

Not quite as enthusiastic about the testing, even with the treats as incentive. Seems I learned something about that in Economics. The first milkshake tastes oh so much better than the third!
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

:30 retest At +9.5 (53) I like it! :mrgreen:

This time, he did not come to me for testing. He laid on the floor and just looked at me. I think that's his idea of civil disobedience...a 'lay-in' ;-)
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

Ok coming up nicely. Just a little more Hershey.


By the way saw his picture with the birthday hat on at Graysons party....so cute! Hope you have a special frame for it.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

You are going to want to reduce his next dose as they are more sensitive to insulin after a hypo, you probably already knew that, and the higher carb food will inflate the numbers too.

Glad he's finally coming up.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

I hated giving him that 3rd Tablespoon, but when he didn't rise above (41) and dropped back to (38) I was afraid not to. How much should I lower it? .1? or more?
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

Out of the woods. That's a relief! Hopefully he won't be joining Jax on his space travel!
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

If I remember right he doesn't really zoom, he gently rises.

It depends on his PMPS, I can check back at +12, but if he's crazy high I'd go with half the dose he got this morning. If he's mid range we'll have to talk about it.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

The only time he ZOOMED was after the karo on 2/6. We're just past +10 now, so he may not even rise enough for a shot by then. Of course, who knows what he's plotting as he's curled up sleeping beside me...

Half the dose he got this morning? That would be .25...I can wear my reading glasses over my other reading glasses and may still need a magnifying glass! @-) Might have to call Doug in since his eyes are younger than mine! :lol: He and Joseph have a birthday coming up April 7th. Joe keeps telling him he'll be HALF-WAY to 90!!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

Thanks, Jenn - I had missed the picture of Hershey wearing the hat. Had to go back and look again...I think Lu slipped that one in after I had looked at the pictures.

Lu - You mentioned Jax. Did you read a post from them? I went looking and couldn't find one. Will go check again...
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

Since he's nice and low you should try to keep him here.

If it were me I would probably shoot a .2u or .3u the minute he hits 200, what do you think? Also depending on how long he surfs and or shoots up.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +8 (41)

I can try that. I need to go ahead and feed them, they're an hour overdue. That'll send his numbers up some, too, so that'll reflect in the next test. Should I hold off another hour (or try to) or do ahead and feed?

And, do you think .2 or .3? .2 is what's currently on his scale for (200)
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +13 (160)

I wouldn't feed, this is too new to try to figure in the food spike too.

Shoot what you feel comfortable with, .1u or .2u or .3u.

The .3 might be a little high after the lows today but on your ss you have shot more into numbers close to 200 so I thought .3u might be ok. It is up to you.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +13 (160)

Hoping that maybe you'll get a surprise with the feeding, Mr. P has been making a LOT of house calls lately!
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +13 (160)

Okay, I'll try to keep them at bay ;-)

Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Shoot what you feel comfortable with, .1u or .2u or .3u.

The .3 might be a little high after the lows today but on your ss you have shot more into numbers close to 200 so I thought .3u might be ok. It is up to you.

Scrolling through, not sure which day(s) you meant, but I'm kind of scared of the .3 if it's close to (200). We shot .3 into (295) 3/21 and it was a flat cycle. But, the .3 shot into (302) on 3/20 brought him down to (195)

Wish I knew how sensitive he'd be to the insulin after this morning...
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +13 (160)

I might have looked at it wrong.

There is no right or wrong answer, this is kind of uncharted territory, with alot of variables. We don't know how long his P will help out, hopefully forever.

Go with .1u and see how he does, then we will know for next time.
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +13 (160)

Hershey wasn't really thrilled about the picture - thought the strings from the hat made him look like a walrus, but the other shots were fuzzy so I went with it anyways. If you cant tell, he wasn't fond of the hat either! :lol:

Lisa & Jax haven't been on much lately, you may need to go back a few days to find them. But he tends to zoom really quickly after a low cycle.

Given his numbers, and previous patterns, I'd stay with either the .1 or .2u - unless you don't really want much sleep tonight. ;-)
 
Re: 3/23 Hershey +13 (160)

+13.75 (181)

Thought he might be close to the (200) and Doug is moving furniture out the door, so I know that's going to stress him! Was trying to get the test (and hopefully shot in) before the stress hit...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top