3/23 Gabby PMPS~159, +2~90, +3~42, +5~50

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/23 Gabby AMPS~172, +5~145, PMPS~159

Hi Sienne. Gabby seems to be enjoy surfing in the blue zone today. Maybe she'll sneak to the Lagoon later.

Have a good night and a great weekend.
 
Re: 3/23 Gabby PMPS~159, +2~90, +3~42

That doesn't look like sneakin'. Like seeing Greens everywhere tonite.
Hope Gabby gets on her surfboard.... rides some greens.... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/23 Gabby PMPS~159, +2~90, +3~42

Hi Sienne,

I was just wondering, for a long term diabetic kitty, is the aim to try and get them to stay as much as possible in the normal range? If they're never going to go OTJ, it doesn't matter if they get reductions so much but more important to get shallow curves in the blues and greens? Is Gabby one of those cats that's unlikely to go OTJ? I was just wondering if that were so, is the 48 something to get excited about or to worry about, given that she might bounce because of it. I would like to keep learning about it, even with Angie going OTJ.

Thanks so much for the patient explanations that you've given me so far!
Grace
 
Re: 3/23 Gabby PMPS~159, +2~90, +3~42

Anne & Zener said:
Never say never...
Liz

I wouldn't say never. I just wondered if long-term cats were treated differently to try and make changes slower so that their livers don't react as much.

Edit - Oops Liz- you're right, I did say never - but that wasn't what I was thinking!
 
Re: 3/23 Gabby PMPS~159, +2~90, +3~42

The longer a cat is diabetic, the less likely the kitty is to go OTJ. The idea with tight regulation is idealy to keep a cat in normal numbers as much of the time as possible (or at least below renal threshold). With Gabby, I try to prevent her from getting reductions and keeping her in lower numbers as best I can. Also, keep in mind that past the first year, we do make it harder for a cat to get reductions. The numbers have to fall below 40 for a reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top