3-23 Freddie AMPS 133

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yvonne & Freddie

Member Since 2014
.
I did not give him his AMPS because we are all screwed up with his timing and I am not sure with his numbers. Was given @ 9:30 last night and only .5 u

This morning at 7:30 number was 204
9:00 just before I was to give him his shot the meter read 36 panic sets in did in 5 minutes and it was 133. So there had to be a mistake maybe not enough blood in the meter.
He is acting ok.
We are so off our time now that when I went here to ask for help I know I have to get Freddie's condo up from yesterday and I tried to copy and paste and it didn't work. I put it in draft earlier and couldn't find it and it won't let me do it again.

So I am having to skip his shot again.
I am wondering if changing to a 0 carb YA and real low carb wet food are making his numbers come down to fast....and he doesn't need insulin anymore already!
 
3/22 Freddie's condo

Did you get a test at 10am before you gave the shot Yvonne?

Freddie had a great night until late in the cycle when he started up...may have just been the shot wearing off or the reduction you gave because you were scared to give the 1 unit.

It's better that you gave something than nothing today but don't be surprised if his numbers shoot up

You had the 7:30 test in the wrong cell so I changed it for you :smile:
 
I didn't test until 10:30 and it was 127 messed up again huh!

Gave .5 unit shot at 10:00

Fred is acting better without the insulin.
Is that normal with diabetes until they get regulated? with getting insulin and being on a low carb food.

Do I need to test him more again today since I have changed his insulin dose and schedule?
 
Always test right before giving insulin....it's called a Pre-shot number because we want to know where they are immediately before the shot

In this case, it's ok though because between 10 and 10:30 he stayed at the same basic number

Yes, as they get better regulated, they feel better! Changing food to low carb ONLY can make a big difference in the numbers. I think I've read here where we had one member who was on 5.5 units....removed ALL dry from the house and went OTJ almost immediately.

Yes you need to continue to test since there is insulin in him. I'd probably get a +3, +6 and +9 on this AM cycle if it were me (just to keep track of how he does)

On the spreadsheet, in the cell at +1, go back and put a SPACES between the numbers...... Do exactly this .. 127 SPACE @ SPACE .5 ENTER
 
Hi Yvonne,

I know it's scary to deal with such low numbers at shot time. It looks like you're really making some progress with Freddie, though. The numbers keep getting better and better!

Have a great day!
Shelly
 
it is nerve-wracking at first, but shooting lower numbers helps keep them low through the cycle. When the blood sugar stays under 120, the pancreas can heal and yes, the cat can become diet-controlled.

yes, changing the food can make a HUGE difference. we've seen it many times. you want to continue giving him insulin, though, to support his pancreas until it's fully working. what you'll do is to keep the dose the same (the 0.5u) unless you catch him under 50, then you'll reduce. you'll reduce to 0.25 then 0.1u and then he'll have a trial for 2 weeks to see if he can hold his blood sugar numbers in normal range.

you're not to the above stage yet, but it looks like Freddie is doing well. keep posting and we'll guide you in each step.

Here is the link on how to handle low numbers. The first two sections are what is most pertinent to you right now - becoming data ready and what to do when you're faced with a low preshot number. It's a good idea to print this out and keep it handy in case you need it and the board is down.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Whenever you shoot a number that is lower than you've shot before, please get a +1 and a +2 to monitor where Freddie is going. If he's significantly lower than the preshot on either of those, that says pay extra attention.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top