3/23 Falafel, AMPS 341 +2.25 375 +6 234 +8 205 PMPS 173

Ok I tried shooting - my sister tried it bc I’m training her since I have to work late on Monday and Tuesday. We got a fur shot. But I’m so relieved, I think she will be able to test and shoot in my stead for PMPS!
 
I'm glad your sister will be able to cover for you when needed.

There was no need to delay today. You've shot 137 and 159 in the last week and a half, and that was with larger doses. You definitely don't want to see pinks when on a drop dose. All her nadirs have also been above 150 on this dose, I suspect she'll need an increase soon to 0.1 units.
 
I'm glad your sister will be able to cover for you when needed.

There was no need to delay today. You've shot 137 and 159 in the last week and a half, and that was with larger doses. You definitely don't want to see pinks when on a drop dose. All her nadirs have also been above 150 on this dose, I suspect she'll need an increase soon to 0.1 units.
I was so discombobulated by the mirtazapine I was second guessing shooting protocol. Thanks for confirming :) when you say increase soon, that’s still after I complete the 1 week at 1 drop right? So that means the Monday dose would be 0.1U?

Yes I am SO RELIEVED my sister can help. I couldn’t find any cat sitters that come out to my area that are comfortable giving shots (I live in an out of the way area).
 
Given the amount you test, I think you'd be good for that 0.1 unit dose on Monday.

Do you think I could do the increase tomorrow? I'll be home all day and can monitor, but on Monday I'll be at work from ~8am and I won't get home til 10pm (so my sister will be shooting PMPS).

I also meant to ask, have you done a ketones test lately?

I haven't been able to catch her peeing! I tried the method where I mix her litter with water and got a negative result. On Friday we also did a follow up blood test at the vet so on Monday I will have those results as well. But I do think she has ketones because I can smell her fur where she's cleaned herself and it smells fruity. Last time this happened I took her to the ER and she was hospitalized for 2 days because they did find her ketotic (?). Bearing all this, I would really like to increase her dose tomorrow rather than wait til Monday. What do you think?

I also just gave her 25 mL SubQ fluids since I'm staying up to monitor anyway and she got a fur shot earlier.

PS. I am saving up for one of those ketone meters that read the blood because I don't think her urine tests are as accurate - once at the vet (IDK if you remember, this is the old vet who had her on Vetsulin), her urine strip came back negative but at the ER when they did a blood test she had ketones in her blood.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top