3/23 Eleanor AMPS 306 and Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66670

The new vet said Eleanor's bloodwork is normal except for high glucose. Said slightly dehydrated. I've been giving subq fluids. Eleanor thinks it is very painful and now she's biting and screaming when I give her insulin shots. Urinalysis results came back fine except for glucose in urine and crystals. Crystals are 2% on a scale of 1-4. Vet said do nothing, retest in 2-3 weeks. I have no money to do that.
I don't know if "do nothing" is the correct thing to do. The vet overall does not seem very proactive.
I've had other cats that developed crystals, and based on those experiences, I'm about ready to just give up now- stress and discomfort of cat, expense, nothing that seems to really help etc.
Eleanor has been playing and acting normal in spite of not eating on her own. Last two days she is not playing and wants to be alone. Her chronic URI has flared up no doubt due to the stress of me hauling her off to two vets in two days. She's sneezing and sniffling and lying huddled. She is now eating some on her own. I'm giving her Bupronex and she eats about two hours after I give it.
Could be why she's so inactive now though, I think. I don't know if it builds up in the system. I might skip her dose tonight and see what happens. Don't want to start her not eating at all on her own again though. but on the other hand, I'm going to run out of Bupronex in a few days and at $56 I'm not going to be able to get more anyway.
I'm just so depressed and discouraged.
 
I'm sorry things are rough right now...just want to offer our hugs, thoughts, and prayers for you guys. I hope Eleanor is feeling better ASAP...
 
Hugs (((Julie))) sending vines for you both to feel better. I'm sure this is just a little blip and Eleanor will get on track, it's so hard that we can't explain what's happening to them and why we need to be poking and prodding them all the time :sad:

Have you thought about speaking to DCIN - diabetic cats in need for some assistance with Eleanor's medical bills?
 
Sending big hugs to you. You sound emotionally drained.

Some tips - make needle time all about her. Pet her, brush her, sing to her, tell her how beautiful she is, and have treats ready. Does she like purebites chicken? A lot of use crush it up into a dust and when they are busy licking it up we sneak in the shot.

Maverick almost died on me in 2008 and he had a feeding tube for ten weeks. It was an emotional rollercoaster. I had amazing people on a forum to lean on and keep my feet on the ground. Success stories gave my heart a boost. I was crying tears of happiness instead of tears from being overwhelmed. Eleanor is here with you to hug and kiss.

Focus on what you can do. Lots of calories and staying on top of insulin are critical. I don't know anything about urine crystals.

I wish I lived closer and could give you a real hug. Hang in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top