3/23 Claudio AMPS 144 PMPS 301

Are you going to be at home to test during the whole cycle if necessary?
Do you have plenty of test strips?
And high carb food?
You shot a 186 8 days ago.
You can shoot a reduced dose if you feel more comfortable.
I am heading off to bed so won’t be around to watch you so hesitate to advise you.
 
Sue and Luci

When I did a +3 from the PMPS last night, Claudio was 146 points lower than his preshot.
I remembered you told me to continue testing overnight.
Well, when my alarm went off, I REALLY didn't want to get up. But then I heard your voice telling me to get up and test.
Glad I did. He went down to 127. One hour later he went up to 150.
Figured he was rising so I went to bed.
Boy was I shocked when I did a AMPS !!
So you can talk to me in my sleep anytime, lol. :p
 
Went from 192 to 165 now. Guess the insulin is kicking in. Will continue to test.
I've had the blue in mid cycles.
The 144 only worried me in the aspect that I wasn't sure what dosage to shoot. Never had a blue at preshot time.
 
I'd probably continue to test every hour, until at least +6 Susan.

Those are still very safe BG numbers you are getting.

I would not be worried and test every 30 minutes unless Claudio drops under 70.
50 is the take action BG number, when you would want to give Claudio a bit of low carb food, to bring his numbers back up. Medium carb food, only a teaspoon or so if you see him drop below 40.

Scream for help if you get a BG <40. 911 prefix on your post.
Here is what you said in Feline Health forum.
Quick recap :
AMPS - 144
Restest @ .5 - 172
Fed and shot 4.5U
+1 - 192
+2 - 165
+3 - 141
So now insulin is kicking in. How long do I need to continue testing ?
Is there a safe number that I can start testing every other hour ?
1st time Claudio has had this low of a number in preshots. So I am confused.
Also hoping this is his optimal dosage.
 
Deb
Thanks. Wasn't sure if there was a safer number to stop testing so often. He's starting to get ticked off. Oh well, he'll get over it.
Just got 117 @ +4.
I will continue testing until I feel he's no longer in danger of dropping too low.
I know you said don't count my chickens before they hatch, but I have a feeling I'll be posting at PMPS time about what his dosage should be if his numbers are still low.
But I am ecstatic that his sugar is coming down and hopefully giving his pancreas a chance to heal. Hence the rest of his body. :cat:
 
Those first lower numbers are SCARY! Wait until you are shooting pre-shots <100. ;)

p.s. Remember to keep your thread title updated with BG + numbers.
 
Last edited:
I've updated my thread with the bg numbers.
Pre shots <100 ? I'll need a direct hotline to someone on this board !! :nailbiting:
I know the green numbers are what we all desire, but that's when I'll panic for sure.
And I generally am not to panic in most situations.
 
Pre shots <100 ? I'll need a direct hotline to someone on this board !!
Ok, you think that's scary? Read on.

Wink, was a foster cat. See the 2012-2013 SS tab. January 2013. February 2013.
Fighting with the shelter on how much testing I could do.
Arguing with the shelter and multiple vets on how much insulin to give.
Scathing phone calls from shelter "staff" and then emails back and forth.
Got the flu and lost my voice so could not talk to shelter staff.
Middle of a blizzard and my snow plow guy quit on me (could barely whisper if I forced it).
Found someone else to plow my long driveway.
Working part time and rushing home to test Wink and rush back to work.
Switching a dry food addict from high carb Hill's W/d dry to wet fancy feast.
Wink lost almost 2 pounds in 6 weeks, and I was concerned about the risk of HL (hepatic lipodosis) but the shelter staff and VETS were totally unconcerned.
Could not talk, during an in person check in with Wink at the shelter.
Had to write on a pad of paper to communicate.
Talk about frustrating.

Not on the FDMB board asking for help.
Doing it myself, from what I had been reading.

Protocols? Vet was using the pre-shot tests to adjust the dose.
Lantus protocols here? I didn't even know they existed.
Using 1cc volume syringes to measure those tiny doses. (It's all the shelter had)

Parallel testing with Alphatrak and Relion Confirm meters.
Scavenged through the shelter supplies to find smaller volume syringes.
Got the shelter vets to write a prescription for 3/10 cc insulin syringes - finally.

Dealing with a UTI, neuropathy, rapid weight loss, poor appetite, etc, etc.
That was scary in retrospective.

Luckily, he did not have a severely symptomatic hypo (no seizures, convulsions or coma). Moderate symptoms.
Let the depot drain.
Stopped all insulin for a while, so could do the food switch (another diabetic cat message board was helping me a bit)
Tried an OTJ trial.
Reset dose to 0.1 after numbers crept higher.

If I knew then, what I know now, I never would have done what I did.
He went OTJ, lived 4+ more years until severe end stage heart disease affected his breathing too much.

Made every mistake in the book.
Have learned better now.
Wink is why I'm here, helping people.

We have your back Susan.
It's why I tell people it's ok to tag me.

p.s. He had severe diabetic neuropathy which completely resolved. Wish I had taken video. I knew he was better, when he started eyeing jumps to the tops of my 6 foot bookcases. ;)
 
Deb
Wowzer What a story !!!!
Not knowing anything would have put me in a panic if that was me.
Before I joined, I was also was gleaning what information I could from reading everything here.
The only reason I took Claudio to the vet was because he was peeing on himself in his sleep. Diabetes never came to my mind.
No weight loss, no excessive thirst, etc.
He hasn't had any dry food in years. Thankfully, he'll eat anything I put in front of him.
But I wasn't panicked when he got the dx. I know it's a very treatable disease.
As you know, I was EXTREMELY frustrated by trying to test. Good thing he finally got with the program.

His only hypo was with his 1st shot. That 1U did it and quick.
So stopped and didn't give any insulin for about 2 weeks.
Started back with .5U and worked our way up.

I hear (pun intended) you on your laryngitis. I had throat surgery 25 years ago. I was told not to talk for 3 days. With 2 young children that was an impossibility.
My voice never came back. So now I guess I have what you'd call permanent laryngitis. Doesn't hurt. I just sound like I'm sick.
Now with this COVID 19 you should see people back away from me. Thankfully, store cashiers, bank clerks, etc. know this is my normal everyday voice.
Some people find it hard to hear me on the phone.

Anyway, wow, wow, wow on yours & Wink's story.
Makes me feel embarrassed to get upset over his blue numbers today.
But in my defense, a blue AMPS is a 1st for me. And I wasn't sure what to shoot. Was afraid the 4.5U would be way too much.
 
Bluetiful cycle today! :cool: Was that about 13 hours in nice blues? :) Good for you on shooting low. The first few blue preshots, and then green ones, Neko shot straight into a bounce. :rolleyes:Made it much easier to shoot low. I do remember a certain amount of hyperventilating on my part. :p
 
Bron
Thanks. Hopefully blue will be his new norm. I am SO over the pinks. Never liked the pink color anyway. It's my daughter's favorite color though.
 
My voice never came back. So now I guess I have what you'd call permanent laryngitis. Doesn't hurt. I just sound like I'm sick.
I have days where I sound like Lauren Bacall. When it's bad, I sound more like Humphrey Bogart. Cold weather sets it off. As does 1 or 2 coughs too many. Have to remember to wear a scarf around my neck and mouth, when I go out in the cold drier weather.

No shouting, no singing, voice rest is a frequent occurrence with me.

Makes me feel embarrassed to get upset over his blue numbers today.
No worries on asking for help on those first low blue pre-shots you've gotten. We've all been there.

For the record, I consider Wink to be a HORRIBLE example of a cat going OTJ. Just mentioned some of the stuff that went on, so you could put those blue numbers into perspective with Claudio. :cool: And hopefully not fear the greens that may be coming - soon. Paws crossed.
 
Wendy
Yes, it was about 13 hours.
I was just concerned about giving the full 4.5U. I was afraid he'd crash faster than I could prop him up.
I'm afraid of him bouncing now. Well, we'll see. Hope not.
 
Deb
I only sing when I am home alone. If I sang out in public, you could easily pick me out in a crowd.

In retrospect, that blue AMPS and the dropping blues weren't too bad.
I'm used to yellows. Going from pink to straight blues was a huge shock.
So the next time it happens and no experienced person is on, I have a general idea what to do.
 
Back
Top