3/23 Blackie amps 420, +6 492, pmps 400, dose increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9888
WCR: Blackie ate a good breakfast this am and seemed to feel good. He went outside several times yesterday and got a little exercise.

I couldn't check ketones this morning, but I'll try again tonight. Depending on today's numbers, I'm wondering if its too soon to increase the dose.
 
Re: 3/23 Blackie amps 420, +6 492 Dosecrease??

It's been 48 hours since our last dose increase from 1.0 to 1.5 units. Now his numbers are going back up. Can we increase again tonight? I know I'm supposed to be patient, but I hate seeing these high numbers.

He's been peeing larger quantities than usual and I think it might be his bgs, rather than his CRF. He's peeing so much, he keeps getting litter stuck to his feet and is tracking it around the house. Even onto our sheets. I'm on the 4th kind of litter trying to find something that will clump hard and fast, but not be bad for him.
 
Re: 3/23 Blackie amps 420, +6 492 Dose Increase??

I'm so sorry to see these high pinks again. :( As you know, I have no dosing advice but someone will come along shortly with some.

What litters have you tried?
 
Re: 3/23 Blackie amps 420, +6 492 Dose Increase??

The litter I had been using for months was Arm & Hammer Essentials.
Then I tried Dr. Elsey's Precious Cat Litter (really heavy, seemed to clump well, but looked like concrete on Blackie's feet)
Then Worlds Best Cat Litter (civies ate it, didn't clump hard enough, dust on Blackie's feet and he still had some stuck to his feet)
Then Scoop Away (heavy, clumped okay, but it smelled like nasty perfume)
Now trying Feline Pine Clumping Litter (light weight, but this morning Blackie left sticky litter on the bed sheets)

At first I thought it was the litter, but now I'm thinking it's because Blackie is unregulated and peeing a lot more than usual. And his usual is a lot since he's CRF.
 
Re: Dose Increase Tonight?? 3/23 Blackie amps 420, +6 492

Need help with dosing tonight. Can I increase again after 48 hours. We started Lantus at 1 unit 3/19 pm, went up to 1.5 units 48 hours later.
 
Re: HELP! Dose Increase Tonight?? 3/23 Blackie amps 420, +6 492

Here's the scoop...
The German Forum that developed the Tilly Protocol is aggressive. If you go back and read the protocol, they indicate that you can raise the dose in 2 -3 days. And you can raise by as much as 0.5u. The question to you is how aggressive do you want to be and can you closely monitor if you opt to be aggressive?
 
Re: HELP! Dose Increase Tonight?? 3/23 Blackie amps 420, +6 492

I have read that protocol many times, now, and I am ready to be aggressive. So we shot 2.0 tonight and will keep a close watch the next couple of days. Thanks, Sienne for the confirmation.
 
A couple of thoughts/suggestions:

First, when you have a chance, take the "Help" out of the subject line of your first post.

Since you were familiar with the protocol, it's helpful if you mention that you are. In that way, others get the chance to weigh in, as well
 
Hi Ele, Good luck with the dose increase. With regard to litter: We use the non-clumping, clay litter: "Fresh Step". I have tried others but always come back to it. Before his recent progress, Stu used to really soak it, but it dries pretty quickly and he never tracks it over the house. I find that if I change it every 4-5 days it never smells. And it certainly doesn't stick to or get all over his feet!! Stu likes to rake his litterbox thoroughly and sometimes spends 5 minutes or more getting it "just right". Maybe Blackie will like this old-style litter, too.
Here's hoping for better numbers later this week!

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top