3/23 AMPS +7 76

Patty and Smoochie

Member Since 2020
Smoochie has been doing incredibly well and now that we are down to 0.10units he’s still going into the very low neon numbers... what dosage do I give him now or is it now time to see if he can stay good for two weeks without insulin?

I’m so happy for him but also don’t want to get too excited to think he could be going into remission because I want to give him the best chance possible and make it a strong remission chance for him.

On the syringe I feel like I’m going to the top line like 0 units already so I feel like I’m not even injecting any insulin in him as is even though I am...

Thank you for your help and advice!
 
Hi Patty, Smoochie is doing very well!
With that 34 today at +3, I would reduce the dose to 1 drop, even though you reduced the dose yesterday from 0.25 to 0.1.
When a cat drops into the 30s a full reduction is recommended (TR protocol).
Do you know how to measure a drop?
Push the plunger right in, insert the needle into the insulin cartridge, release, and take out.
There should be a drop left in the syringe..
Trial it a couple of times to see if just 1 drop is in the syringe.
 
Hi Patty, Smoochie is doing very well!
With that 34 today at +3, I would reduce the dose to 1 drop, even though you reduced the dose yesterday from 0.25 to 0.1.
When a cat drops into the 30s a full reduction is recommended (TR protocol).
Do you know how to measure a drop?
Push the plunger right in, insert the needle into the insulin cartridge, release, and take out.
There should be a drop left in the syringe..
Trial it a couple of times to see if just 1 drop is in the syringe.

Awesome thank you!!! :bighug: Ok I will definitely try the drop trial a few times haha thank you for explaining yay so happy for Smoochie so far so good! :cat:
 
Thank you!!! :bighug: I’m so happy for Smoochie and forever grateful finding you all for advice and help... you have all saved Smoochie! I mean it... really, if I had still being giving him 2 units from what vet told me I’m sure he would’ve had seizures or been in a coma or worse a while ago!
 
Smoochie is on a mission. Next step, OTJ trial. Not quite yet I don't think.
Unless he gives you another neon green BG number.

Only dose smaller than 1 drop of insulin is 0 drops or no insulin.
 
Back
Top