? 3/23/21 - Squeaky! +9=419 AMPS = 381 +3=371 -- Dosing please!!?

Jan D & Squeaky

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...312-7-256-pmps-364-9-419-o.245056/#navigation

My cat told a joke today but I didn’t laugh. He took it purr-sonally.

Waiting for pre-shot. Squeaky is feeling better today, I'm guessing the extra cerenia helped. But his numbers continue to stay high and seem to be rising..... :eek:

Update: He's feeling okay but showing some signs of nausea after all. It's almost time for pre-shot and cerenia.
 
Last edited:
Thank you, shouldn't it have filled by now? It's been almost 6 cycles.
You are right Jan. This AM is cycle 6.

Maybe grab a morning test today? +3? I know you trying to get different tests (yay!) but focusing on times near onset could be really telling especially since an increase could be on the horizon. Just a thought - those tests +6 and later are generally as the lantus dose is wearing off so one would expect those numbers to be rising (unless you have a late nadir kitty or a kitty that double dips orrrrr are breaking a bounce...lol so many things to think about!). There is a sample of an active lantus cycle in The Basics sticky - may be worth reviewing if you are interested :bighug:

Hang in there and see what today brings. You could ask for input on dosing in your title too :bighug:
 
You are right Jan. This AM is cycle 6.

Maybe grab a morning test today? +3? I know you trying to get different tests (yay!) but focusing on times near onset could be really telling especially since an increase could be on the horizon. Just a thought - those tests +6 and later are generally as the lantus dose is wearing off so one would expect those numbers to be rising (unless you have a late nadir kitty or a kitty that double dips orrrrr are breaking a bounce...lol so many things to think about!). There is a sample of an active lantus cycle in The Basics sticky - may be worth reviewing if you are interested :bighug:

Hang in there and see what today brings. You could ask for input on dosing in your title too :bighug:

Thank you so much, I will get a +3. He was almost totally droopy pre-shot. Sad to see him lose his spirit. Do I still have to get a +6?

Such a hard day yesterday, I couldn't drag myself out of bed earlier than +9. Should I just skip in that case? Doesn't sound like +9 helps very much, I'd rather just skip.

Yes I will post dosing in title. Thank you so much.
 
Thank you so much, I will get a +3. He was almost totally droopy pre-shot. Sad to see him lose his spirit. Do I still have to get a +6?
I'd see what his +3 is first. IMHO I'd get another if it's lower than his AMPS. If you scroll back up to Januaryish in your SS, maybe think back to what you were doing then? The +3 and +6s then were telling of the cycle (and should be now too).

I couldn't drag myself out of bed earlier than +9. Should I just skip in that case?
BTW I'm not sure on this...maybe ask that when you ask about dosing? I don't think regularly skipping wouldn't be good so I'm not just not sure how to help find the right balance ❤️

Hope you and squeaky have a recharge day and feel better :bighug:
 
I'd see what his +3 is first. IMHO I'd get another if it's lower than his AMPS. If you scroll back up to Januaryish in your SS, maybe think back to what you were doing then? The +3 and +6s then were telling of the cycle (and should be now too). BTW I'm not sure on this...maybe ask that when you ask about dosing? I don't think regularly skipping wouldn't be good so I'm not just not sure how to help find the right balance ❤️ Hope you and squeaky have a recharge day and feel better :bighug:

Thanks he responds very poorly if I do more than 4 BG tests in a day. This is why I hate +2s and +3's. They may tell us where he is going, but if another test is required after that, that's bad.

He's already upset about the +9, it was only 3 hours away from the preshot and that's too many tests in too short a time for him.

I know what happened that made his numbers down......., to help him have interest in food and eating in Feb or March (I need some treats to give him after the shots, etc.)... I gave him bad food and his pancreatitis flared up. My fault but what's a mom to do when her kid doesn't eat? Now I don't know how to get him out of it. I'm hoping this isn't the beginning of the end, but it is what it is.
 
This is why I hate +2s and +3's. They may tell us where he is going, but if another test is required after that, that's bad.
Soooo I have a different take (and I'm not you or Squeaky...I get that) - but I'd rather get a +2 or +3 and then feed higher carb food should that test give me a clue my kitty will be going lower (assuming I can't test later in the cycle). I have linked the TR with a full time job post before - but maybe there are approaches in there to consider since those working out of the house can't get a +6 often either.

Hang in there, Jan (& Squeaky) :bighug:
 
Soooo I have a different take (and I'm not you or Squeaky...I get that) - but I'd rather get a +2 or +3 and then feed higher carb food should that test give me a clue my kitty will be going lower (assuming I can't test later in the cycle). I have linked the TR with a full time job post before - but maybe there are approaches in there to consider since those working out of the house can't get a +6 often either.

Hang in there, Jan (& Squeaky) :bighug:

Thanks..... but food is NOT working for us right now. Heather thinks that is one of our main problems.

Squeaky can't have fish, or poultry, or rabbit. Not at all. Also he's had trouble with carbs in the past..... I strayed from the strictness trying to give him some variety so he would enjoy his food...... and see what has happened.
 
We have already increased several times and his numbers aren't coming down....... ????

Well never mind.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top