3/22 Zissou AMPS 395 +3 359 +6 379

KristyD

Member Since 2022
Hello again!
Zissou has been on Lantus (generic) for a few days now but I screwed up a bunch of doses with fur shots so I had to wait for new data :confused:
Ignoring the shots I botched he’s had 2.5 days of 2u doses now and has been in the pink all day today (yay for him!). Are we safe to increase to 2.5u tomorrow morning if his numbers stay like this for the rest of the night? Or should I increase it tonight? My syringes don’t have half unit markings fwiw.

thanks!
 
It would be good to place "FS" in the dose column where you suspect a furshot happened. Using a U40 syringe to dose U100 insulin is a bad idea. What you think is 2u of Lantus is more via the U40 syringes.
 
It would be good to place "FS" in the dose column where you suspect a furshot happened. Using a U40 syringe to dose U100 insulin is a bad idea. What you think is 2u of Lantus is more via the U40 syringes.

hmm I added fs in the notes and the remarks but maybe they don’t show for everyone.. thanks for letting me know, I’ll add it in differently.

I definitely changed the dose for the different sized syringes, it was pretty straight forward with the conversion chart thankfully.
 
Last edited:
So then with the U40s you are giving 0.8u? I did see the note in the remarks, it is just easier when counting cycles to see FS or PFS in the units column.

correct! I did .8u
I’m sure it wasn’t 100% accurate but I figured since he was getting anywhere from 0-2u for four doses before that that it would be ok and I really really didn’t want to mess up another dose. I just used the U40 syringe for one dose to see if the bigger needle size on that one would help because I couldn’t figure out why I kept getting fur shots when I hadn’t before switching. It did help so I picked up new syringes on Monday in the U100 size (but with bigger needles) and we haven’t had that problem since *knock on wood lol*
 
I went ahead and did 2.5u for tonight since he’s back in the HI zone
 
With the numbers you are seeing, I was going to suggest you go up to 2.5U tomorrow morning. :-)

The longer he stays in higher numbers, the great the chance of glucose toxicity setting in. The term sounds a lot worse than it is. When a cat stays in high numbers for too long, it's body gets used to higher numbers and treats them as normal and a temporary insulin resistance develops. It then requires much more insulin to break through to lower numbers.
 
The furshots mess things up a little, but you likely started a little too low when you switched insulins anyway, so looks like increasing to 2.5u is needed. Nadirs haven't been great at all, let's hope the bump up helps bring his numbers down. Good luck with the increase.
 
Back
Top