3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +3.5 40, +4 60, +4.5 48, +5 53

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvie and Tugger

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9771&p=97235#p97235

I totally didn't hear the kid get up this morning so I didn't get any checks after +7 because I just woke up in time to do AMPS.

I'm making an arbitrary decision to feed and shoot. I'll stick around to watch him all day. I'd rather have him dip in the daytime than at night... that was hard and I'm not sure how many of those nights I'm ready for in a row ;)

AMPS 91
+1 155
+2 164 wth?
+4 159
+6 126
+8 199
+10 199

PMPS 164
+2 61
+2.75 44 gave tbs and a little bit of LC with hc gravy.
+3.5 40 he's eating the leftover dinner again
+4 60 He's ready for bed!
+4.5 48 will test again in a few minutes at +5, I was cleaning up the food mess and forgot to post this one.
+ 5 53
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger AMPS 91

'Morning, I slept through my +10 alarm too. It happens. Great AMPS number. Tess is up again, still don't know why.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger AMPS 91

Great job last night. Tugger was on his way up so you were good. Beans need sleep, too!

Great start for the day. I'm presuming from your note that you shot the AMPS number. (There's no dose marked on your SS.) Please get a +1.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger AMPS 91

Yes, I shot 4.5u at the AMPS number, with plans to get hourly checks and prayers that one of y'all would be around if I panic :lol: I didn't want to wait too long for advice, in case it took a while, and throw his schedule off more. Should I maybe do his pre-shot tests a little bit earlier to pad in time for those times when I need to wait for dosing advice? Or does 15 minutes or so not make that much difference? I'll get more confident as I gain experience I'm sure and the more I read and learn but right now I'll admit, I'm so afraid I'll screw up again that I don't want to do anything without being advised nailbite_smile . I kind of feel like a kindergartner or maybe a boot camp inductee, afraid to make a move without input from my commanding officer :lol:
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger AMPS 91, +1 155, +2 164, +4 159

I'm wondering if this is a result of the skipped shot the other night and the inconsistent shot times?
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger AMPS 91, +1 155, +2 164, +4 159

I don't think the missed shot should be effecting him this long afterwards. I usually don't take +1 because of breffus effect, but the +2 should show the Lantus kicking in, although there really isn't much difference in all those numbers only 9 points and that could just be meter variation.

Any expert advice, not just my ramblings?
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger AMPS 91, +1 155, +2 164, +4 159

+6 at 126 and he was starving about an hour ago. That might have just been because I was in the kitchen, he's *always* starving when I'm in the kitchen ;) I have him a FF app. to shut him up while I finished doing dishes and cleaning.

Hubby bought Whiskas pouches, those Purrrfectly whatevers, but are those ok? I'm thinking not because there's wheat gluten and corn startch. I'm not feeding them unless I know something about the carb content. If I need to I can stick em aside with a note on them to only feed if Tugger's number is under whatever number like I did the foods I got for the hypo kit. Or feed 'em to the other cats. I don't see them on the list, though I could have sworn I saw them talked about somewhere and the search I ran didn't bring what I think I remember, which is so vague it's impossible to describe and may not even exist because I may be thinking of something else entirely.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger AMPS 91, +1 155, +2 164, +4 159

Pouches (and anything with gravy) is generally not a good idea (wheat gluten and corn starch eeeeeeevil :) ). Good for hypo kit, but that's it.. you could feed them to your other animals but keep in mind that high carb foods in non-diabetic kitties can cause diabetes :(.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger AMPS 91, +1 155, +2 164, +4 159

I kinda figured. I hid it under the cabinet when he bought it, now I"m glad. I'll put it with the hypo kit. It's just a handful of pouches, so if nothing else it could be saved for Birthday or Gotcha Day treats for the non FD kitties.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164

Quiet day hanging out in the blue. Wonder what the night has in store? Hopefully not too much. Mama wants to sleep.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +1 61

Tuggerrrrrrrrrrr what are you doing to me? I said I wanted to sleeeeeep. I *said* I'd rather you go green and do any dipping in the daytime hours. If you are reading this, Mommy is not thrilled with your timing. I love you though, darn furball.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +1 61

ok, now we know that Tugger is one of those cats who likes to throw a highish, flat cycle before a big drop.

Better feed a couple tsp of LC food here and test in 30 minutes. This is a really fast drop.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +2 61 +3 44

First, let me apologize for my double typo above, I typed +1 in two places but it was +2. I'm using the netbook and wasn't paying attention before I hit post.

But, it's still a pretty big drop. I got 44 at +2 h 35 minutes-ish so I gave him the rest of his FF App. with some gravy from the hc I gave him the other night. Less than two tbs but he'd just been nibbling at the other canned food that is left from dinner. He's got an appetite so if I need to keep feeding him, he'll keep eating.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +2 61 +3 44

Tugger has been angling for that reduction for a couple of days! Congrats!

Did you feed tablespoons or teaspoons of food? You don't need to feed a lot -- it sounds like you have the idea, though. Please re-test in 20 min.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +2 61 +3 44

and there is his reduction. :mrgreen:

Please test again in 20-30 minutes to be sure the food has kicked in.

New dose is 4.25, congrats! If he bounces from this then you can shoot the old dose one more time to help with rebound, but if not then reduce in the morning.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +2 61 +3 44

I didn't use an actual measuring spoon, so I'd say a bit more than a tablespoon? There were about three spoonfuls out of the FF app if that gives you an idea (not all at once, just giving an idea of portion size)
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +2 61 +3 44, +3.5 40

Down to 40, he's eating leftover dinner again on his own so I let him do his thing and didn't offer hc just yet. He's alert and smacking at Echo, purring like crazy. No fussing about ear poke, he even jumped up on the bed this time instead of making me get down on the floor :o
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +2 61 +3 44, +3.5 40

I would go ahead and offer some gravy, this is early in the cycle to be surfing the 40's. He earned his reduction so bumping him to the 50's or 60's would be better. Test again 20 minutes after the last test, please.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +2 61 +3 44, +3.5 40, +4 (almost) 60

Five minutes shy of +4 and he's at 60. Chilling out in the bedroom on the corner of the bed. Probably wishing I'd just turn everything off and join him lol. How long does the food generally hang out in those numbers? Should I expect it to go down again/more before his +6?
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +2 61 +3 44, +3.5 40

Give some LC and test again in 20 min. Numbers can bobble around and you want to make sure that Tugger is firmly surfing at around these numbers.
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +3 44, +3.5 40, +4 60, +4.5 48

48 more food eaten. It's almost time for his +5 and he's still wanting food but I picked it up after he ate a bit in case he needs more in a while. (meaning I haven't let him mow for the past half hour, I will offer more if his number is low again)
 
Re: 3/22 Tugger PMPS 164 +3 44, +3.5 40, +4 60, +4.5 48

+5 53 and he wasn't yelling for food. Should I put the food back down now till +10 and let him do his thing, tempting if need be later? I was thinking of napping till the +6, then I guess see where we are?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top