3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 PMPS 193 +2.5 285

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Nice flat start for Trix today. I increased her dose to 3.25U this morning. Part of me thinks we're getting closer on dose...but I'm really not sure.

Today is her follow-up visit for BP check, BW and urine draw.....but she just peed ohmygod_smile . Her appointment is in less than a hour...kinda bummed about that 'cause this means we'll probably have to take her back for the urine draw. I don't want to leave her there and I hate the thought of taking her back yet again. Getting a sterile sample from her has been quite the challenge!

Gotta get ready....I'm getting nervous.....

Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 Vetty day

Good luck at the Vet's.........I think they have a way of squeezing the bladder to make some urine come out.........I have the same issue when I go for a physical, sure enuf I pee in the morning and can't go again no matter how much I drink - don't worry, the Doc doesn't make me go by squishing my bladder. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 Vetty day

Sending good vetty vines and fingers/paws crossed that Trixie's bladder has enough left in it for them to test.
Calming vines for you, Amy :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 Vetty day

Deep breaths. The vetty visit will go well. I can totally relate to not wanting to leave her there and/or take her back. It's so stressful when our kitties are away from us and when we know they're stressed out. Let us know how it goes.

Good luck with the dosecrease! Come on, Trixie, you can do it!
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 Vetty day

Sending good vetty and make pee quick vines! I hope the visit goes well, I'll be thinking of you guys :YMHUG:

(PS, we are now on the same dose! I hope that on it Trixie shows green like Chyna did :-D )
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 Vetty day

Morning Amy and Trixie, sending good Vetty vines for a good visit. Oh no on Trixie already peeing. Paws crossed from me, too, that she has enough in her bladder for the testing. Good luck on her dosecrease.
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 - We're back

We just got back. Nope, no luck with the urine draw :roll: . I didn't want to leave her there...they would have her in a barren cage so she wouldn't feel inclined to pee on anything and it just sounded way too sad. Even if they put her in a palace of a cage, I just couldn't leave her. So, we'll take her back tomorrow morning....I'm going to shoot for getting there between 8:00 and 8:30 in hopes that we'll hit the sweet spot of a workable bladder with no pre-peeing.

Her BP is still high, so we're going to increase her from 1/4 of a 2.5mg amlodipine once a day to 1/4 of a tablet twice a day. Vetty suggested doing 1/2 a tablet once a day, but back when Mario (GA) was on BP meds, he did well with the smaller dose twice a day, so I want to try that first. It had been more than 12 hours since she did have her last dose - we were doing it as her post PM shot treat.

Her BW results will be back tomorrow, and we go from there. It was a mini-vet visit, so they did little exam stuff in the back where they do the draw. Vetty said that her abdomen doesn't seem painful at all...basically all appears to be normal...just adding to the mystery. Maybe we'll find out all of this was a horrific lab error when the results are in tomorrow.......

She seems extra-radiant today :-D ....so happy and loving her PLC. The second she got out of her carrier, she was looking for her Paw Lickin' reward!

I'm actually off today - very rare and strange to be off on a Saturday - so it's time for some chores....
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 - We're back

Hi Amy,
Bummer that Trixie had no more pee left! I hope tomorrow you will be successful in getting her there first.
Good thoughts for the test results. Wouldn' it be wonderful if it was a lab error?

Enjoy your day at home, doing chores.

Hugs and scritches, and lots of treats for the kitties,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 - We're back

Nice, calm numbers for a vet visit day. Sorry about the pee - been there, done that! My kitties also do the same thing with a poo sample, and with four of them I can't figure out which deposit belongs to who, so I can't take one in! :roll:

Sending good test result vines. Enjoy your day off!
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 - We're back

I'm glad the vetty visit went ok, sans pee...too bad about that :-| . I hope the trip tomorrow will be with a full bladder! For Trixie, not you :lol: .

I hope you are getting some of those chores done (I am supposed to be doing those too!). :-D
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 - We're back

Hi Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

Well bummer on the urine draw. Boy does that take me back. Mannie was notorious for not giving away any of his. ever. he was such a big kitty that even when he had some to give it was so hard to get it via C&S. I remember one of those stays when he was in "that cage". He must not have liked it since just as I was walking out the door the vet tech comes running and says "We got Pee!" :lol: :lol: :lol: Guess he decided to give them what they wanted so he could go home. what a hassle it was.... You have my sympathies.

Good Idea I think to go smaller dose at first on the BP meds. We too did the smaller dose twice a day. It worked well that way for Mannie.

Have a great day. Now you can relax some! :-D
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 - We're back

I'm glad she's radiant and feeling well and coming down into blue. Good luck with the increase.

Prayers and paws crossed for good results tomorrow. I'm just wondering....since even with kidney infections, you often don't find bacteria in the urine, why not just do a free catch at home and take it in to check on the USG? If there are white or red blood cells in the urine, that can also be indicative that all is not right. It might not be worth the stress of taking her back in if you can get a free catch.
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 - We're back

I'm glad the vetty visit went well, except for the pee part. I hope the timing works out tomorrow morning with the pee. That would be great if it was just a lab error. Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 - We're back

Only in Lantus Land do we celebrate bodily functions like they were pure gold :lol:

Hope Trixie "saves some" for tomorrow if you can't get a clean catch at home! Might be worth putting her someplace without a little box so she's not so "comfortable" going (although I know it's not always good for them to "hold it")

Well, whatever you end up doing, LET'S GET SOME PEE!!

Looks like the vetty visit didn't do much to her numbers. Nice blue!

Have a great Caturday Amy!
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 PMPS 193

We still haz blue...I would be thrilled if she kept it below the yellow floor tonight!

To be honest, I've never attempted a free catch and I don't know how easy it would be to do. I know confining her somewhere would cause much stress, not just for her (she REALLY hates to be confined), but for everyone. I think vetty would like a sterile sample because 3 weeks ago, we were basically working with a free catch, since she peed on the table before they had a chance to get it with a needle. Overall, as stressful as going to the vetty is, I think the C&S is less stressful than attempting a free catch here...strange, but true! She's actually pretty mellow and compliant at the vet...it's the bean who gets stressed :roll: ....
 
Re: 3/22 Trixie AMPS 236 +3 243 +5.5 181 - We're back

It's good to hear Trixie is feeling well. I HATE it when their blood and urine values don't match how they seem to feel!!! Champ and Trixie do seem to have a lot of parallels, except Champ's kidney values are perfect. He just has the very elevated WBCs and neutrophils in the blood and the urine had no bacteria, but high WBCs, RBCs, 2+ protein, and 2+ blood. He's peeing normally with no straining and normal size puddles. Champ's vet also wants to check his BP the next time he comes in. He wants to get a few readings and then average them out in case their's variances due to stress. I hope Trixie's new blood work is much better this time!!! Paws crossed!!
 
Blech!! Why did I say anything about staying below the yellow floor ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile :roll: ohmygod_smile ???
 
Hi Amy,
Looks like Trixie and Lucy are enjoying the sunny yellow together this evening.
Sending many good b/w results prayers.
And successful pee collection vines too.

Thank you for your input about the blood pressure - very helpful.
I'll be sure to talk more about it with the vet tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top