3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +2=43 +3=49 +3.5=57 +4=73 +5.7=126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo

BOING! Well at least it's been a while since he's been above the blues, but why did he have to jump all the way up to purple? It's only been 24 hours since the dose reduction so I know it can take another 2 days to even out.

Happy Friday to everyone!
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301

Hi guys .. boing is right! I think that's just sweetie being a cat, keeping you guessing .. at least it's a very light pink! have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301

Hi Cathy,
I'm a little late to welcome you to Lantus Land, but welcome to Lantus Land! And thanks for visiting Rusty's condo.

Sweetie's recent numbers look very nice. You are doing a good job. She will get used to her new, reduced dose and hopefully you will see good numbers on it (give her the full 6 cycles). If it looks like she is not holding the reduction, go back up to your last dose. Sometimes they are ready, sometimes not!

Have a good weekend.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 PMBG=48??? Help with stalling, dos

Sweetie just gave me a big surprise - 48 at +12????? I think I'm supposed to stall now and make sure that his numbers are going up before I shoot - is that right?

And if he just earned a reduction, should I only shoot 1.25u even though I reduced him to 1.5u only 3 cycles ago??

I'll be reading up on all of the notes real fast now, but if any experienced eyes are watching I'd love the help!
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 PMBG=48??? Help with stalling, dos

I had to go grab the rules...48 is at that low end of to feed or not to feed....

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

•When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.

•If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
•--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Using the overlap by shooting low is a great way to take advantage of Lantus/Levemir’s long, flat cycles, once you have learned to do so safely.

~ written by Libby and Lucy
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 PMBG=48??? Help with stalling, dos

I'm hoping for one of the experienced dosers to come on line.

I never had to shoot that low... And I've read that 50 is as low as most will shoot.... they wait for the numbers to rise....

You have to decide whether or not you can afford to change your shooting time... ( at least it is the weekend but if you aren't going to be around enough)

I myself would test again...
see if number starts rising....
maybe give a tiny teaspoon of low carb.... if the number is not rising....

and you don't have a bounce to shoot thru ....
so I myself would go with the new 1.25u dose.... but I wouldn't shoot it until the number shows it is rising....


Guess they all went to dinner?
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 15min PMPS=53 Reduced

I waited 15 min and retested: up to 53 now. So I did the following:

1. Gave him the earned reduction, so shot 1.25u
2. Gave him only 1/3 of his normal dinner (i.e. 1oz FF classic) so far.
I will give him another third at +1 and the last third at +2. And I may also stretch out his normal bedtime meal (another 3oz FF) too. Is that OK or should I give it all to him now and just give extra teaspoons as needed??

Let me know if there are some other things I should do!
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 15min PMPS=53 Reduced

Cathy:

How about testing in 30 min. (at your +0.5)? The 53 is more of a surf than a rising number. In this instance, I'd have been more comfortable if you'd stalled for 30 min to make sure numbers were coming up.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 15min PMPS=53 Reduced

OK - I should have PM'd you sooner. Newbie panic. I guess I need to know more about what a rising number looks like. The way I read the sticky on shooting low was that if the cat is less than 50 then wait to shoot so I assumed that 53 would be ok:

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if the cat is less than 50 then usually the best option is to wait until they are above 50 to shoot. While you’re waiting, the shed is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

Just want to understand better. I'd better go test now - be back soon!
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 15min PMPS=53 Reduced

It may be fine. I just want to make sure the numbers are rising and not wobbling around.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 15min PMPS=53 Reduced

You and me might be having another PJ party!

bos_zpsb029e400.jpg
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 PMPS=53 +0.5=64

Marje - those must be the fabled BOS!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Yes this looks like a very active cycle! I've update the subject and the spreadsheet with the +0.5=64. Good it is still rising but it can also be low carb induced. He is ravenous so I gave him another 1/3 of this dinner at +0.5.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54

+1=54. oops! Gave him the rest of his dinner with that number.

Test in 30?
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54

Welcome to LL! You definitely earned the BOS today. :mrgreen: Don't feed too much, maybe just a teaspoon at a time. You want to keep Sweetie hungry. It could be a long night. Have you printed out the starred sticky on low numbers?
Liz
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54

She did indeed earn those.
I hope Sweetie is going to rise some more as the night is still so young...


I'm just watching from the sidelines...
still sending support!
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54

Cathy

Remember that even tho you reduced his dose tonight, you are working off the depot of the higher dose you reduced from. So expect to have to test and feed tonight ok? :-D
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie AMPS=301 +12=48 PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54

Yes Marje, I'm ready! :-D

@Liz: he's really hungry but I'll remember to be careful not to fill him up.

@Rhiannon: your support is much appreciated!

Time to test again . . .
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44

44 is too low so soon, @+1.5! He's had all of his normal LC dinner now. I just gave him 2tsp HC FF (gravy lovers).

Hope I'm not too far off. . .
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44

That's a good choice. Please retest in 30. If he drops any lower, please add a drop of karo to two more tsp of HC gravy.

Doing ok?
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44

You are doing great! Do you have karo or honey? Marje can confirm but you might consider a drop or two on a teaspoon of HC. It is so early in the cycle, you are going to need to feed him a lot.
Liz
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44

Cathy

I have to test and feed Gracie. If Sweetie is still in the 40s or lower,, two more tsp of HC gravy with a drop or two of karo and retest in 20 ok? If he's in the 50s, let's still give him one tsp of gravy because its still early.

I will brb. If you need help...put up the 911.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44 +2=43

No problem Marje. His +2=43 so I gave him 2tsp HC with 1drop Karo. Will test him in 20min.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44

Hi Cathy! Sweetie is on a mission and making sure that you learn the FD dance quickly! That's the newbie trial by fire... they can't wait until we learn the protocol and how they respond to insulin. Noooooooo, they want to cha-cha-cha right away ohmygod_smile

You're doing an excellent job and have wonderful support here. Good thing it's Friday night, huh? PJ parties are best when you know you can catch up on sleep. Big hug to you, and scritchies to your little man. Remember to breathe and not panic. You're in control here (well, as much as we can be in control :roll: ) and are armed with supplies, knowledge, and support. As overwhelming as it may seem now, you'll eventually learn to love these flirtations with reductions and green nights. It means you're one step closer to remission, and that makes it worth the lack of sleep, stress, and general insanity that ensues. :lol:
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44 +2=43

You are absolutely right Courtney! It is quite a fast dance right now - but I'm still glad I'm doing it because remission is my goal for Sweetie :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I've got my dancing shoes on tonight . . .
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44 +2=43 +2.5=49

It is up a little, but I'm sure I need to feed more. Same 2tsp HC with drop of Karo? Or no drop? or . . .?
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44 +2=43 +2.5=49

No karo but two tsp HC. See you agin in 30.....let's try and give him a little more time. If he's hungry, you can give him a little of the HC food too.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44 +2=43 +2.5=49

I gave him the 2tsp HC. He normally gets a bedtime meal anywhere from +4 to +6 depending on when I go to bed, so shall I just use the HC to keep his bg propped up until +4 and give him his normal LC dinner then? Or spread that meal out (3oz can of FF)?

And of course I'll keep testing :-D
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +0.5=64 +1=54 +1.5=44 +2=43 +2.5=49

Let's see what his next number is. If he's up, I will probably have you give him some LC.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1=54 +1.5=44 +2=43 +2.5=49 +3=49

Flat from +2.5 to +3. So 2 more tsp HC? Karo this time?
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1=54 +1.5=44 +2=43 +2.5=49 +3=49

Very stubborn. Did you add any HC food to the gravy last time...a little? I'd do it again with 2 tsp gravy.

I'm not a big fan of using karo unless they are really low or dropping down low early in the cycle. He's surfing so let's keep using the HC gravy with a tiny bit of food.

Retest in 30.

Good job...all ok there? I'll work on a recap.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1=54 +1.5=44 +2=43 +2.5=49 +3=49

Just gave another 2tsp HC FF Turkey Feast gravy-lovers.

But am I doing this wrong :cry: ??? The food is little chunks of meat in sauce, and I've just been scooping 2tsp of the mix, not isolating the gravy. Am I supposed to strain out the gravy and only give him that part? There doesn't seem to be any danger of him being full at this point.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1=54 +1.5=44 +2=43 +2.5=49 +3=49

Usually if you just want the gravy, you can just strain out the chunks by pressing the food against the side of the can and dipping out the gravy. If you've been giving it all, it's ok as long as he doesn't get full.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1.5=44 +2=43 +2.5=49 +3=49 +3.5=57

OK, at +3.5 bg=57
whew - it rose! Should I feed this or let it be until +4? Then at +4 I could fed the normal bedtime meal (not that I'm going to sleep yet ;-) )
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1.5=44 +2=43 +2.5=49 +3=49 +3.5=57

Let's try and wait...it's only 30 mins. Then test and give him a nice portion of LC and retest 30 mins later.

Sound good to you?
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1.5=44 +2=43 +3=49 +3.5=57 +4=73

There still a lot of jargon used here that I don't know - just checking :lol:

I'm much more comfortable that he went from 57 @+3.5 to 73 @+4 without food now! I have him 1/2 his normal bedtime meal. Shall I give the rest at +5 when I test him then? Can I go an hour before retesting?

Just need a few guidelines then I want to let you sleep I-) - thanks SO MUCH!!!
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1.5=44 +2=43 +3=49 +3.5=57 +4=73

Cathy and Marje, great work tonight! :mrgreen: I'm turning in for the evening and just wanted to pop in and say ni ni. Have a great evening!
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1.5=44 +2=43 +3=49 +3.5=57 +4=73

Yes that sounds like a great plan. ....1/2 now, test in an hour, then the remaining.

I'd be sure he's on the rise a bit more and at or close to mid cycle before I called it quits.

Great job! I appreciate you being calm and patient and reading the instructions before you started throwing food at him :-D

Good boy, Sweetie!

I will be up a bit longer to check on Rick and Mr. Grey. If you need anything, just post and I will keep checking your condo.
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1.5=44 +2=43 +3=49 +3.5=57 +4=73

OK Marje, I'll be sure to check close to +6 too. It's such much easier to be calm with people like you helping out! Sweetie is doing a great job I must say!

I visited Gracie's condo but didn't get a chance to post there - so here I'll say HAPPY BIRTHDAY GUS! I saw his YouTube video of you showing how to give fluids - that's you guys isn't it?
 
Re: 3/22 Sweetie PMPS=53 +1.5=44 +2=43 +3=49 +3.5=57 +4=73

Thank you! And thanks for the birthday wishes for Gussie. And yes...that's our YouTube video :-D

Night Cathy! It's been a pleasure.
 
oops - I missed the +5 test - too sleepy. But at +5.7 he is at 126 which feels good. I gave him the rest of his bedtime dinner and am going to sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top