? 3/22 Shoes AMPS 101, NS, too low, +3.5 378, +6 606, 2:30 pm 408, 5:23 pm 364, 8:15 pm 448

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would have no idea on that but glad u had your vet. Sounds like a good (safe) decision!
Thanks Cara. I would rather be safe right now. He doesn't act normal this am. Kind of quiet. Did not eat much either. Maybe from the extra food and nutrical last night, but not sure.
 
Sometimes you do have to go with your gut. Hopefully Shoes won't bounce too high after such a lovely surf!

Have you ever trying stalling before? When you stall, you hold off on feeding and retest in about half an hour. If the BGs go up without being influenced by food during a stall, you can feel more secure that a kitty isn't continuing to drop and know that shooting is a safer bet.
 
Sometimes you do have to go with your gut. Hopefully Shoes won't bounce too high after such a lovely surf!

Have you ever trying stalling before? When you stall, you hold off on feeding and retest in about half an hour. If the BGs go up without being influenced by food during a stall, you can feel more secure that a kitty isn't continuing to drop and know that shooting is a safer bet.
Discussed with vet this am and he felt like I do, no shot. Maybe next time though.
 
Any chance of shooting late? You'd need to shoot 12 hrs from this shot if you are able to shoot late. Another alternative is to shoot at +18 from last night then shoot again at +18 so you'd be back on schedule.
 
If there's anything you've been wanting to do during the day but haven't because you've stayed home with Shoes, looks like you have a chance to do it today since you didn't shoot!

Good time to go shopping and catch up on any errands you want to do.

Be good Shoes....You've been a very good boy overnight so just keep on surfing!
 
Any chance of shooting late? You'd need to shoot 12 hrs from this shot if you are able to shoot late. Another alternative is to shoot at +18 from last night then shoot again at +18 so you'd be back on schedule.
No.

He has earned a reduction from last night's lows down to 0.1 so I don't think 6 hours after this am shot would make a difference if he gets the pm dose at 5:30 pm.
 
Last edited:
If there's anything you've been wanting to do during the day but haven't because you've stayed home with Shoes, looks like you have a chance to do it today since you didn't shoot!

Good time to go shopping and catch up on any errands you want to do.

Be good Shoes....You've been a very good boy overnight so just keep on surfing!
Oh yes something I don't want to do - go to work. LOL!
 
Any chance of shooting late? You'd need to shoot 12 hrs from this shot if you are able to shoot late. Another alternative is to shoot at +18 from last night then shoot again at +18 so you'd be back on schedule.
After the 378 at +3.5, I ran this suggestion by my vet of giving 0.1 to 0.15 at 11:30 a.m. (18 hrs.) and again at tomorrow's 5:30 a.m. time and he did not have any problem with it, so when I go home at lunch to check him, if he is not vomiting or anything, will do this. Thanks.
 
No.

He has earned a reduction from last night's lows down to 0.1 so I don't think 6 hours after this am shot would make a difference if he gets the pm dose at 5:30 pm.

He's rising really fast. If you're home anyway I like Sienne's idea of the 18 hour cycles. You'd shoot at 11.30 today and then 5.30 tomorrow morning (no shot tonight).

I would also consider 'shooting through the bounce' which means doing one more shot at .25 u since Shoe's is still bouncing for several cycles at a time and bouncing pretty hard.
 
He's rising really fast. If you're home anyway I like Sienne's idea of the 18 hour cycles. You'd shoot at 11.30 today and then 5.30 tomorrow morning (no shot tonight).

I would also consider 'shooting through the bounce' which means doing one more shot at .25 u since Shoe's is still bouncing for several cycles at a time and bouncing pretty hard.

I am at work so shooting through the bounce is not an option. Am going to try the lower dose at 11:30 a.m. if he is not vomiting or sick. He was not feeling too good this am. Thanks.
He always seems to bounce really hard, poor little fellow.
 
Good luck today!

What Serryn meant about shooting through the bounce was that when you DO give the shot, at +18 or whenever, you go ahead with one shot of 0.25u and then you reduce with the next shot.

The purpose for that is to deal with the high numbers you're seeing with the bounce. It can help resolve (end) the bounce a little sooner. It's an option that you can consider.

I see you've already shot but wanted to explain a little more on that so you'd understand the concept. You might want it another time.
 
I just went home and checked him 2.75 hours after giving the 0.15 dose and he was 408. I did not leave any food out for him. I hope he will be okay until I get home in 2 hours.
 
Good luck today!

What Serryn meant about shooting through the bounce was that when you DO give the shot, at +18 or whenever, you go ahead with one shot of 0.25u and then you reduce with the next shot.

The purpose for that is to deal with the high numbers you're seeing with the bounce. It can help resolve (end) the bounce a little sooner. It's an option that you can consider.

I see you've already shot but wanted to explain a little more on that so you'd understand the concept. You might want it another time.

Thanks, that is what I thought Serryn meant but glad that you confirmed it. Just couldn't give that much and be at work so hopefully, all will clear soon. Just got back from my break and checking on him and he had dropped 198 pts down to 408 in 2.75 hrs. Will hopefully reduce in the am with the 5:30 shot.
 
He sure is a bouncy little kitty!!

I know you're concerned about how hard the bouncing might be on him, but it's actually not as hard on him as consistently high numbers are.

Hopefully his liver will re-learn that it's OK to be in those better numbers sooner rather than later, but some kitties bounce all the way to OTJ
 
He sure is a bouncy little kitty!!

I know you're concerned about how hard the bouncing might be on him, but it's actually not as hard on him as consistently high numbers are.

Hopefully his liver will re-learn that it's OK to be in those better numbers sooner rather than later, but some kitties bounce all the way to OTJ
I so hope that his little body can take this bouncing! I can't take much more of it myself! My stress level is so high right now that anything even remotely sad I break down in tears over it! Truly, this is not like me but I just can't help it these days!
 
A question that I forgot to ask anyone on here - since he is not getting a shot tonight, do I feed at the normal time and the same amount of food and carbs?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top