3/22: Sammy - +6 100; +7.5 84; +11 98; PMPS 129-; +1 178; +4 68 - Need dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

So last night I was a bit freaked out about Sammy's PMPS, but then he dropped to 58 at +2.5 and surfed for the rest of the night until AMPS when he game me a 125. I don't like seeing these higher PS numbers, but he was back down to 59 at +2.

So the PS numbers are concerning me but he surfs the between 50-80 for the entire cycle. Should I be concerned about the PS? I was half tempted to jump back up to .75 unit dose this morning, but decided that I probably should give it a bit more time.

Any suggestions.
 
The pre-shot numbers are usually the last to fall into line. If you think about it, it sort of makes sense. Pre-shot is when the effect of the insulin is least causing an effect. One "trick" is to see if giving Sammy a snack at around +9 helps to bring the numbers down. Since is looks like Sammy has a happy pancreas, a bit of food may cause his pancreas to produce endogenous insulin and bring his pre-shot numbers down.
 
@Sienne and Gabby Last night I actually got up and gave Sammy a snack at +10 to make sure that he surfed through AMPS, but that didn't happen. I am not sure why. Usually the +9 snack usually works, maybe it was because +10 was actually only 1 hour 45 minutes prior to AMPS test. At the +10 snack he ate mostly 0% food, maybe that could also be part of the problem. Any other suggestions would be very helpful. Thanks.
 
A dose with nadirs in the 50's looks pretty good. As Sienne suggested try a small (1-2 tsp) snack of low carb food at +9.
 
I would agree to holding the dose. Sammy has good green numbers and good nadirs on this dose. Sienne is right that the PS numbers are the last to "cooperate". She has referred to higher numbers at AMPS in particular as part of the "dawn phenomenon": the cat's body is pumping itself up and getting ready for whatever challenges the day may bring.

Have a great day, Tina!

Ella & Rusty
 
No way would I ever increase with nadirs that good! My limit to playing with fire is taking shaves instead of full deductions, (not that I'm saying you are playing with fire). Vines for lower am/pmps.:)
 
@tiffmaxee I guess I am going to see how it goes tonight. Sammy did come down at +7.5, but he is near 100 again at +11. DH and I went to the movie this afternoon and Sammy didn't eat his +9.5 snack. I don't know what I am going to do about him eating his snack when I am not home, he just doesn't seem to want it.
 
Sometimes kitties go high before they go low. There are all sorts of reasons numbers can be out in one cycle. Remember that it's just one cycle. Don't be concerned unless it's a trend.
 
I don't think I'd give 0% carbs in an effort to stimulate the pancreas. Maybe it doesn't matter, but I haven't seen that 0% helps anything. Seems like most cats seem to do best on a few carbs - many people feed 4-5%. I think it's also possible that less than 2 hrs before the shot time might not be enough.

Since you tried 0% at +10.25 last night and didn't see a lower amps, I'd try 3-5% at +9ish and see if that makes a difference tomorrow.

Just to remind you - Lantus dosing is based upon how LOW the dose takes the cat. Patience little grasshopper.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top