3/22 Rooh amps 88 +4 84

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looking good again Rooh. :D

How many Adquean shots has he had so far? If he's feeling some arthritic pain and the Adequan helps that, you may see the numbers come down.
 
@Wendy&Neko He has only had one. The schedule the vet put him on is 1 per week for 4 weeks, then 1 per month. His first shot was last Wednesday. Have you used adequan Wendy? what size needle gauge do you use? I really dont like the 22 gauge.
 
I use Cartrophen, very similar product, which is what I can get in Canada. We don't get a vial, just a preloaded syringe from the vet. The vial doesn't last long enough once opened for individuals to use so it's not cost effective. I too hated the large needles, but last time they told me I could get it loaded in an insulin needle. Actually, I was transferring it to an insulin syringe to give. You could ask your vet about the conversion rate to your syringes.
 
I used adequan for punkin, Mel, and i used the insulin syringes. the vet sold me the Adequan in a test tube (that the tech had measured into the test tube). I just looked back and the dose for him starting on 9/21/12 was 20u in the insulin syringes. Punkin weighed 13.5lbs at that time.

He got his second shot 5 days later. Third shot 3 days later; 4 days later for shot #4; 4 days later for shot #5 - which both my husband and I accidentally gave. But we looked up the dosage online and it is fairly flexible. He got 40u at that time.

With the following shot, 4 days later, we increased (ok'd by the vet) to 30u. So I think our building doses were twice a week for 4 weeks (total of 8 shots) and then we moved to once a week for 4 weeks. For a maintenance, we then moved to every other week and gave him 30u with each shot.

I'm sure you can use insulin syringes for it as long as you can measure accurately.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top