3/22 Ravan PMPS 162 - new to forum

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ah, there you are! Okay, has Ravan eaten since you got the 162? Since it looks like it's been a while since the 162 test, I would test again and see where he's at now. I'm guessing the number will be higher now and you may be able to give the regular dose comfortably, but let's get a new test in and see where he's at.
 
It's okay. Shooting at a regular time is important, but once in awhile things get a little off. He's going to be okay and we'll talk you through this.
 
Okay, it looks like he's at 245 now. Go ahead and give the regular dose, and then if you can, try to get a test in tonight to see how he responds.
 
You're using a human meter, right? They can safely go down to 50 before you need to worry. 68 is still quite safe, and in fact 68 is the type of number you really want to see.
 
The more consistent you are with dosing Lantus, the better it is for Ravan. You hold the syringe and if you feel like you need to lower the dose tonight you can, but I don't see any numbers on the spreadsheet to indicate that 1u would be unsafe.
 
OK Yes it's a Relion Prime meter. M y other cat jumped down from the chair & has been lymping She can;t put any weight on it. I'm worried she broke her leg. I'm going to lose my mind!
 
Deep breaths. One thing at a time. This is all so scary and stressful sometimes, but you're going to get through this and we are all here to help. :bighug:
 
I gave him his shot but I'll be up all night watching. His readings can go from 488 to 162 Why such a big jump? Do you think I should wrap my other cats foot? I think she broke it. I'll take he for an Xray tomorrow but for now What can I do?
 
I would think just try to keep her from jumping tonight if there is anyplace you can keep her where she wont' jump up on counters or will just stay on a bed quietly.
 
OK ,Thank You for all your advice. I get way too stressed out It seems as I got older ( 71 ) I got kinda wimpy! I used to be stronger & able to handle things better. The older i get the more difficult it is being alone all the time. It's good I found this forum . It's nice to know people that love their animals like i do are willing to help. I appreciate it very much. I'm going to lay down for a while. I'll check Ravan again in 2 hrs. & thru out the night.
 
My cat broke her arm last year. I can help you with that. Front or back? You can pm me so we don’t fill your thread with non Lantus stuff.
 
Hi Krazy 4 Right front. Do you think it could be sprained? She's 15 yrs old & like Ravan hasn't been feeling too good.High liver enzymes. She was doing so good today . NOw this! Do you think I need to baddage it?
 
This is a wonderful community of people who love our fur babies and are here to help each other. Managing all of this alone can feel overwhelming at times, but together it gets a little easier.

As for your question about the big changes in blood glucose numbers, that's just part of their bodies learning to use the insulin and adjusting the dose. Eventually the pre-shot numbers should hopefully start to get lower and lower until the curve is flatter and in better numbers. But it can take awhile. The folks here in the Lantus forum can help you along the journey. I have used Lantus, but most of my experience is in Prozinc so I don't hang out in this forum much.

Happy to pop over and help tonight, but the regulars over here can help you start making some adjustments to the dose and help Ravan start to heal.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Krazy 4 Right front. Do you think it could be sprained? She's 15 yrs old & like Ravan hasn't been feeling too good.High liver enzymes. She was doing so good today . NOw this! Do you think I need to baddage it?
If she is putting any weight on it, it probably isn’t broke. If she is holding it ups and won’t put any weight on it, she may have fractured it. She may also sleep with it under her if it is fractured. I would not bother wrapping it unless you think it is broken.
 
Last edited:
If you need anything during the night tonight, you just post right here. Or if no one is responding here, you can also post in Feline Health (The Main Forum).

Tomorrow morning, you start a new thread. Over here they like the title of the thread to follow this format:
Date, Cat's name, AMPS #, extra info

In the "extra info" part, you can add a short comment that indicates what you need, or how urgent it is. So you can see how I titled this thread for you, and then just sort of copy that format tomorrow.

This forum gets really busy, so sometimes if you post and then your thread starts to move lower and lower on the list and no one has responded, you can add a comment to it to bump it back to the top of the list. It doesn't usually take too long before someone helps out.
 
YES thats what she's doing No weight on it & tucking it under. OH no just what I needed! What can I do for her tonight?
 
Djamila This gets so confusing. How do I know what forum I'm on . I get messages from Lantus & from the main form I never know which one I'm on?
 
You can look along the top and see where you are.....and once you get used to posting here in the Lantus forum, you'll spend most of your time here

upload_2018-3-22_23-11-38.png
 
It does get confusing. The more time you spend around here, the easier it will get.

The easiest way is to start here on the main page: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/

If you start there, then you can scroll down and choose which section you want to be in.

Once you're in an area, if you can't remember where you are, scroll up to the top and look here:
upload_2018-3-22_21-9-5.jpeg


That row shows you where you're at. Just look at the last thing to see your current section. Since you use Lantus, you'll mostly want to be in this section whenever you have questions about dosing or how to understand the blood glucose numbers you're seeing. If you have a question about cat health in general, you can post those out in the Feline Health (The Main Section). So if you can find those two sections, you're good!

Please keep asking any questions you have. It can be hard to find your way around here at first and folks can always help if you get lost :)
 
You can also go to your "Preferences" (click on your sign on name at the top right) and choose how you want to be notified.

In my case, I just want a notification here on the message board when there's a new comment on anything I'm watching, but if you also want an email notification, you can check the 2nd box
 

Attachments

  • upload_2018-3-22_23-15-7.png
    upload_2018-3-22_23-15-7.png
    198.7 KB · Views: 52
JoyBee - Chris & China is one of the wise ones around here. I'm sure she'll take good care of you! I'm going to wander back to my regular "home" here. I hope you and Ravan and all of your little fur babies have a good night!
 
Thank you ALL for your help last night! Do I post a new Thread every day when I first come on? or when I have a question?

You post a new thread each day, linking to the one from the previous day. If you have a question, you can edit the title of your existing thread to reflect that, you can edit your title as much as you want. Of course you don't have to post every day, but it helps others to be familiar with you and your cat and they can give better advice that way (and you can get to know other beans and cats and look at other cat's SS, which will also help you). I've learned so much from other people's threads and SSs.

Welcome to you and Ravan! :bighug:
 
OK! Thanks Stacy. Right now I'm replying to you, should I have posted a new thread to do that?

Everytime I look at a new cat in these posts it reminds me of a cat I had yrs ago. Your Asia looks like my Daisy, she lived to be 22 & died laying next to me while we took a nap together.(so peaceful)
 
OK! Thanks Stacy. Right now I'm replying to you, should I have posted a new thread to do that?

No worries, you can reply here to keep it in one place, start a new one for today if you'd like with a brief recap of how Ravan is doing and go from there. ;)
 
I'm so disappointed. Ravan's bg is up again 442 . Yesterday it looked better now back up. I don't understand,what causes it to jump like that?He was eating pretty good in the morning Tonight not so good. I'll probably give him a syringe of food before his shot at 9:30pm Yesterday at this time I was freaking out because it had dropped tp 162 Is this jumping around normal after 8 weeks?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top