? 3/22 Petey AMPS 302 +2 321 +4 302 +7 275 Dose review please

Laurie&Petey

Member Since 2024
3/21 Post

Lower AMPS than we've seen in a few days, will today be the day he clears this bounce/whateva is happening?

Should I increase? His greens/lime the other day was from the temp switch from BD to Relion syringes. We are back to BD. Before that he was on track for an increase.... can/should I do that now?

It's also possible him feeling sore and in pain is causing a higher BG. He's received gabapentin the last five cycles and it seems to be helping.

To increase or not to increase?

Have a safe, smooch filled Saturday!
 
Bounces can take 3-6 cycles to clear. This cycle will make 6. Unless you see a lower than usual preshot at PMPS or a sign that he's clearing the bounce tonight (numbers steadily decreasing throughout the cycle into PMPS), then I would increase tonight.

Have you discussed the back leg pain issue with your vet? I hope he feels better soon.
 
Bounces can take 3-6 cycles to clear. This cycle will make 6. Unless you see a lower than usual preshot at PMPS or a sign that he's clearing the bounce tonight (numbers steadily decreasing throughout the cycle into PMPS), then I would increase tonight.

Have you discussed the back leg pain issue with your vet? I hope he feels better soon.
Thank you. Not yet, going to take him to an emergency vet this week, since they'll have all the equipment he may need for testing and blood work.
 
Thank you. Not yet, going to take him to an emergency vet this week, since they'll have all the equipment he may need for testing and blood work.
Good luck with everything, Laurie. Sending you both lots of good wishes!! :bighug:
Let us know what you learn.
Have a calm weekend and please give Petey some chin scritches :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Petey's last warning to come on down (safely!)... will he hear the threat! Hope this is a bounce clearing cycle :bighug: Have a lovely Saturday, Laurie and Petey :cat:
 
First camping trip of the season :)
Chin scritches, sunshine, and cozy camper naps.
upload_2025-3-22_13-34-52.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-22_13-34-52.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-22_13-34-52.jpeg
    76.8 KB · Views: 125
Aww, I'm so sorry that your poor boy is so sore! :( Good luck with the increase (or decision whether or not to)! I hope the vet visit is productive and he's back to feeling like himself soon.

His little camper is SO CUTE!!! Aaaah! I can't stand it!
 
Following up on the different syringes for dosing. Are you using calipers for dosing or eyeballing the amounts? From the post on using calipers for dosing:
ReliOn 1.32 mm = 1u
BD Ultrafine (US) 1.62mm = 1u
But 1 unit on any syringe should still be the same amount of insulin as 1 unit on another syringe if you are eyeballing it. If using calipers, the setting for 1 unit insulin on BD's would be a larger dose on Relions.
 
Hi Laurie,
I absolutely love him and his camper. It's just too cute. Good luck with everything a the vet and please keep us posted.
Wishing you, Petey and Olive a calm night :cat::cat:
 
Following up on the different syringes for dosing. Are you using calipers for dosing or eyeballing the amounts? From the post on using calipers for dosing:
But 1 unit on any syringe should still be the same amount of insulin as 1 unit on another syringe if you are eyeballing it. If using calipers, the setting for 1 unit insulin on BD's would be a larger dose on Relions.
Thank you for following up. I am eyeballing. When we tested it looked like the Relion was more because of the very first line which seemed to be less space on the BD. And I was only eyeballing 2u so it should have been pretty close. :confused:

Lesson learned, we don't need any more variables at this point. Will make sure I don't run out again.
 
Back
Top