3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +3.75 77 +4.25 88 +5 94 +6.25 111

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katie & Mego (GA)

Member Since 2013
Good morning!

For those of you that don't know, Mego & I have had a pretty rough start to treatment to say in the least! And for those of you who have been helping us since the beginning, I'm calling this post "Mego 2.0." I knew his BG was going to be up there this morning just based on his behavior in the last 36 hours and the increase in symptoms. But I'm happy to say we are now again on the path to the CORRECT treatment. I'll be very interested to see what his numbers look like today since I'm guessing they could be drastically different than what we've seen in the last few days.

I finally feel rested and ready to start anew! Send good thoughts Mego's way and let's hope his revised treatment plan gets him on the road to recovery.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356

Morning Katie
I finally feel rested and ready to start anew! Send good thoughts Mego's way and let's hope his revised treatment plan gets him on the road to recovery.
I'm so glad you are feeling better! I'm sending all the good thoughts i have for you and Mego. Have a great day! hugs and scritches from us. mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326

Thanks M & O!

Ok, +2 number is up and WOW, this is much different than I'm used to. All I can say, is my heart didn't go into overdrive this time I tested. Whew! We'll continue to see how the day progresses. I just caught him in the LB and did a ketone test. It looked just slightly pink (trace) from yesterdays test. I don't know if it was the lighting, but I'll see if I can do a second test later today.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326

Good luck with Mego v2.0. The second version is always better after you work the bugs out of V1.0 :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326

Hi Katie ~O) Thanks for stopping by our Condo yesterday! I am horrified to see that you were given the wrong syringes; thank goodness you caught the error!!! You are making leaps & bounds with this sugar dance :RAHCAT Hope Mego feels better today. Keep up the great work!!!
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326

Thanks Lisa for the well wishes. And most of all, thank you for the link in your signature about traveling with diabetic cats. I was actually supposed to be on vacation this week and traveling, but Mego's Dx kinda put the brakes on that. I will definitely read over this for future reference!
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326

Goodluck Katie! I know you will do great caring for Mego today! Im so glad things are cleared up now - and now Mego can get to feeling better. Please let me know how today goes!!
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326 +4 239

So far so good Jamie! Mego just made it into the lower half of the Yellow! :-D I only wish it had been like this since the beginning. How's Jupe doing today?
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326 +4 239

Hi guys .. pretty sure I haven't stopped into mego's condo yet so welcome from us! Nice +4 there, a light yellow .. maybe even a dip into the blues later? Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326 +4 239

Here's to nice predictable curves moving steadily down into manageable blues and green from now on! Have a happy Friday.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326 +4 239 +6 192

We made it safely into the blue! I don't think there's a smiley face big enough. I'm so happy we're having a great day without any surprises so far.

party_cat :RAHCAT flip_cat
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326 +4 239 +6 192

Not bad at all for a re-start.

BlueSmileyFace_150w.gif
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326 +4 239 +6 192 +8 2

That's a pretty big smiley face Sienne! Thanks - we are definitely feeling good today even if the numbers are higher than I want. +8 200... so I think we're going to ride the wave back up now. We'll see what PMPS looks like after I give Mego's ears a rest for a while. Got great news from the vet, she is completely supportive of the home testing, told me she's never had anyone take such an active role in managing diabetes and I can do my own curves! I'll take that success too! Yes, a VERY good day indeed! :-D
 
Re: 3/22 Mego version 2.0 AMPS 356 +2 326 +4 239 +6 192 +8 2

Hi Katie, Mego is looking fabulously normal for a restart!! Much easier on the bean and a great blue to boot. Great news on the vet, I think a lot of us are the only client home testing in our vets practice.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 +2 326 +4 239 +6 192 +8 200 PMPS 185

I was certainly expecting his PMPS to be higher than his +8. First surprise for me of the day. I'll probably do some hourly testing tonight just to see how his evening pattern starts to develop. Yay Mego! I'm thinking there could be some green maybe later tonight??? I guess we'll wait and see.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 +2 326 +4 239 +6 192 +8 200 PMPS 185

Excellent - so good to hear that your vet is going to be supportive. That can be a big hurdle. I hope you find the travel link useful ... since every cat and every trip is different, if you find something that works for you, please let me know and I'll make a note of it.

Nice blue!!!
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +1 167 +2 133

It's looking like a steady decline. I know it's early on in data collection, but I'm not seeing any food spikes.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +1 167 +2 133 +3 97

So after 3 tests in 3 hours, I see we continue in a steady decline. Since I've had not so good experiences thus far with lower numbers, this is the part where I get nervous. I'm don't want to be overly cautious either. My questions is that if, on average, nadir should be around +6, I would expect to possibly go down into the 30s if we continue tonight's trend. Should I give Mego some food to see if he will slow down a bit? What's the best thing I can do here? I don't want to end up with another 31 like I did the other night. But I also don't want to majorly food spike him either (I haven't seen any of these as of yet).
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +1 167 +2 133 +3 97

Your instincts are on target -- I'd give Mego a teaspoon or two of LC to see if you can slow things down and retest in no more than an hour.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +1 167 +2 133 +3 97

Hi Sienne,

I just checked his bowl and he still has LC food left over from dinner. Should I call him to the bowl and see if he'll eat? Either that, or I could give him just a little gravy from the HC food, but not too much.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +1 167 +2 133 +3 97

I was able to get him to his food bowl and he's taking a few licks now. I'll test again in about 20-30 minutes.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +1 167 +2 133 +3 97 +4 77

Hi Sienne,

I just tested him. We are just at about +4 with a 77. He did eat almost the rest of his food that was in the bowl. He was getting the sleepy eyes that make me nervous so I tested him a little earlier than I wanted. Better safe than sorry. I can't tell if it's food coma ;-) or an issue with his BG. Only time will tell me how to read these signs more easily. I will test again in another 30 minutes as I don't feel like we are in any immediate danger.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +2 133 +3 97 +3.75 77 +4.25 88

Up to +4.25 88 - looks like the little bit of food helped. I think I'm going to do another test in 45 min. That will put me back on whole hours after evening shot. That is of course unless I feel the urgency to test sooner.

Thanks for your positive reinforcement for my decisions. I'll eventually need to feel more comfortable making some of my own decisions, but on Day 1 reset, I'm just not there yet. I wouldn't have made these choices so far tonight if they hadn't first been directed to me, so I do feel like I'm learning and retaining info which I feel good about.

Do you have any idea why I'm not seeing a food spike after Mego's main meals, where as we just saw one with the little food he ate? I wouldn't think we're at nadir just yet for numbers to start coming up on their own. Data, Data, Data... :lol:
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +2 133 +3 97 +3.75 77 +4.25 88 +

Great job Katie!!

I believe that you sometimes don't see food spikes when the insulin is onsetting, there might not be quite enough food on board, and the cycle will be active. Once the insulin has onset and you've fed a couple times, then you've got more carbs on board to work with the action of the insulin.

One thing I would suggest you always do is feed two tsp of LC as soon as he gets into green and each time that he drops until he gets below 50. Then we might need a different strategy. Right now you are getting great data on food response.

Much better day!
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +2 133 +3 97 +3.75 77 +4.25 88 +

Great job! Mego is responding well to Lantus. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +2 133 +3 97 +3.75 77 +4.25 88 +

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Beautiful cycle for Mego! You're doing a great job, Katie! You're a fast learner :-D
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +3.75 77 +4.25 88 +5 94 +6.25 11

Thanks everyone for the great comments.

Marje, in response to the onset/food issue... how do we address this if I put food out in the bowl at main meal times and he doesn't eat it all. My recent protocol is the following: test, meal time and shoot all within 15 minutes. I've noticed him coming back to the bowl to have another helping of food (see food remarks in SS) within the first 3 hours of putting food out. It doesn't seem that the grazing is slowing things down (except when I gave him the food tonight to slow it down). His onset seems quick and peak activity seems to be in the +3 - +6 hour range. Should I shoot 1/2 hour after he eats? I'm just not sure how to interpret this quite yet. I'm hoping over the next 3 days we can see some clearer patterns emerge.

Do you recommend that I just keep with what I've been doing - not make adjustments to feeding schedule and supplement if BGs require it?

I think I'm feeling comfortable with his 111 - enough so that I can go to bed. I've had 2 hours of increasing numbers that shouldn't be food induced as he hasn't had anything since PMPS +3.5 except a few BG testing turkey treats. Should I put out a small amount of LC food just in case?

Wow, that's a lot of questions.

Here's looking forward to another good day tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +3.75 77 +4.25 88 +5 94 +6.25 11

Usually the cats that really dive early are the ones that need a feeding schedule. If you can, I'd be checking the +2 as often as possible.

If the +2 is much higher than the PS, it's probably going to be a slow cycle. If its near or the same, it's likely to be a normal, active lantus cycle with numbers coming down. If its much less than the PS, it's likely to be a very active cycle with an early drop.

I'd leave his schedule for now and let us see how he does. If he starts taking early nosedives, then we can discuss a schedule. Sound good to you?

Sleep well! Great job :-D
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +3.75 77 +4.25 88 +5 94 +6.25 11

Yes that sound's fine. Good thing I just programmed the ~O) pot because 6am is going to come around quite quickly. Hopefully Mego will be good tomorrow and let me take a nap.
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +3.75 77 +4.25 88 +5 94 +6.25 11

What does the red "RR" mean in your signature block :smile:
 
Re: 3/22 Mego V2.0 PMPS 185 +3.75 77 +4.25 88 +5 94 +6.25 11

Technically it's for relaxed regulation. One of you lovely ladies suggested I note it in my signature despite being in the tight regulation board. Perhaps I didn't do it correctly or maybe I should remove it all together until we get a little more comfortable?

I hope you had a good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top