3/22 Lovey PMPS 193 + 2.3 185 + 5 191

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Hi all. we are getting some nice weather today in the 50's or up to 60. I am excited about it.

I increased Lovey's dose again. I usually don't increase without more midcyle data, but I am home to monitor over the weekend so I went up to see how she responds. I took Lovey to the vet on Thursday for a checkup because I wanted to do bloodwork again and due to recent higher numbers. Her heart and lungs sounded well. I get bloodwork done and the results will come in on Monday. She gained 10 ounces. Her "ideal" weight should be lower. Could that cause her to require more insulin? She doesn't
exercise much just walks around the house and sits in her various spots. She is a mellow cat. I was thinking of changing her food from fancy feast chicken classic to one of the Weruva products. Its hard to find lower carb and moderate fat product. She only gets two small cans of fancy feast chicken feast which is about 51% fat and 4% carb. I could feed her the same quantity or a little more and still reduce her calories. I would do it gradually, but I am not sure how it will effect the insulin. First, I need to try the other products. She does like paw lick chicken. Maybe I could feed her half fancy feast and half paw licken chicken. I have some Funk in the Trunk but it is a little higher carb 8%. Some members said that producted raised BG's though? I think the Weruva products are less phosophoous as well.
 
Re: 3/22 Lovey 388 + 4.25 189 Dosecrease

Hi Catherine,

I'm sorry I can't help you with the food or the insulin. We're still trying to find our way with all of that, too! I have noticed that some foods tend to raise Jersey's bg more than others, but I don't know that it's really a significant amount. (I've also rotated foods so often that it's hard to see reliable patterns at this point.) It looks like you're on your way to a really nice cycle this AM. I hope the dosecrease works out well!

Have a great day!
Shelly
 
Re: 3/22 Lovey 388 + 4.25 189 + 6.25 179 Dosecrease

looks like this new dose might be just the thing. nice numbers mid-day today!

the volume of food or the total food eaten can definitely change the amount of insulin required. you've got a relationship between the two, so when one changes the other may need to also.

exercise is definitely part of the equation as well.

excess fat can also increase insulin resistance. if i were dealing with weight gain beyond the cat's ideal weight, i'd probably just reduce the amount of food given. you can certainly try to change to something with lower calories and see how that works out.

increasing her activity by taking her on walks or getting her to chase a wand toy might be helpful in getting her to burn more calories.

so . . . lots of factors you can tinker with, but i do think you want to try to keep her weight stable at a good number for her body.
 
Re: 3/22 Lovey 388 + 4.25 189 + 6.25 179 Dosecrease

Yay that the dosecrease is working so far. Of course, it is still early and we know how our kitties like to mess with our heads!

Cinco is pretty inactive, too, Now that he's blind, he moves around even less and it's a constant battle to get him a little exercise. We make him walk back to his hidey hole from the bathroom where we give him his insulin, which is on the other side of the house. That's about all the exercise he gets, besides crossing the room to use the lb. I hope you can get Lovey to play a little or do something else to keep her moving.

Have a great Caturday, Catherine!
 
Re: 3/22 Lovey 388 + 4.25 189 + 6.25 179 Dosecrease

Thanks everyone for your thoughts.
I did buy a harness for her. As the weather gets nicer, I will get her outside again. She likes to walk around outside and smell the flowers and grass. Other times she wants to come back in pretty quickly, but that is definitely a good idea.



Have a great weekend.
 
Re: 3/22 Lovey PMPS 193 + 2.3 185

Good luck with the dosecrease. Nice blues today. Good luck finding food she likes that doesn't affect her BG.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top