3-22 Freddie PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yvonne & Freddie

Member Since 2014
This is the first time I shot Freddie when his numbers were low. I gave him .5 unit at 9:30 normal time for his PMPS is 8:00
PMPS 100 @ 8:00 PM
118 @ 9:00pm
129 @11:00
106 @ 12:00
I don't know how to post all this so you can understand it...with giving the shot 1 1/2 hours after normal time. I usually give shot at 8 tonight gave at 9:30 because his numbers were under 200.
I am sure I will be testing him every hour until it raises... when do I give him the karo syrup around 60 or so..He just will not eat anything will have to assist feed him. Just gave some dental treats there is corn had about 8 of them...
How do you handle it when they go so low...it has been a rough day for him today.



3-21
AMPS 306 raised to 1 unit from .75
+4 = 285
+6 = 209
PMPS 286 1 U
+2 = 297
+6 = 223
3-22 AMPS 240 1 u

Fred is acting so much better, more alert, more interested in food. I still most of the time have to offer food to him to have him eat...only in the morning does he ask for food this morning he did not. But ate when I offered it to him.
His back legs seem weaker this morning and I am giving him 1am and a half pm zobaline a day with 2 cosequin's 1 morning and 1 night. Two weeks into the zobaline and 4 weeks in the cosequin.

Should I be talking to his vet about B 12 shots again and also Fred's potassium was low and vet did not want to supplement yet that was Feb. 10th. it was 2.9 range (3.4-5.3) would it be safe for me to add a little to his food or I really should have my vets approval with that one. He said he had to do x rays first to make sure it was not arthritis. Fred does have arthritis but it is in his back. I know that Fred's problem is Diabetes Neuropathy.

Also vet wants to do another Fructosamine test. Last one done on Feb. 28th it was 465. Wanted it done one month later. Is this necessary? report says 400-450 good control 350-400 excellent control......
Freddie gets totally stressed to the max going to the vets 45 minutes away.
Thanks for your thoughts and all the help!
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie AMPS 240

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115832

There you go Yvonne!

Nicer sunny yellow for AMPS today! Hopefully Freddie will show you a little blue too!

Glad to hear he seems to be feeling better. A lot of times we get so wrapped up in the numbers that we forget to pay attention to how our cats are feeling!

As far as the B-12 shots, it sure can't hurt to ask the vet about them. I know lots of people here use both the shot and the Zobaline, but it can take months to see any improvement. As for the potassium, I really can't answer that one for you. I think I'd want to run that by the vet too before giving it. It's also possible since that was 6 weeks ago, his potassium may be up by now.

On the fructosamine test...No, Freddie doesn't need it. When you're home testing, you're getting those numbers every day, taken while Freddie isn't under a lot of stress from the long drive, the waiting at the vet, the barking dogs, the prodding and poking of the vet. All those things just raise the numbers and since you're home testing, you're not going to learn anything "special" about where Freddie's numbers have been for the last 2 weeks. You already have that information on your spreadsheet!

Save the money for the fructosamine test and spend it on test strips or something you really CAN use!

Will send you a Private message on the link
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie AMPS 240

i agree with what Chris has said - the Vit B12 can really perk up some cats. it is also a treatment for pancreatitis, and in Freddie's case might be a good thing to always do. I gave it to punkin for over a year, i believe.

i would not give potassium without the vet's guidance. Potassium has far-reaching effects into the body and you want to do it "right."

the fructosamine is helpful for people who don't hometest. you can send your vet the link to your spreadsheet and s/he can look at it to see what the blood sugar has been. the first goal that we have in following the Tight Reg protocol is to get a cat's numbers under renal threshold (somewhere around 200-250ish, depending on the cat) to prevent kidney damage. Next is to get them under 120 and keep them there. that's considered "tightly regulated." Newly diagnosed cats who get quickly to that point have a good chance of going into remission - that's ideal. not every cat gets there but most cats can get into the tightly regulated category.

i'm not sure how long the cosequin should take to be seeing effects. one month seems like a decent trial. i didn't think it helped punkin much. there are 2 stronger meds that can be tried if the cosequin isn't helping his arthritis - adequan and dausequin. we went to the adequan and it did seem to help. you can give both cosequin and adequan at the same time, i believe.

one good way to get advice from others on this is to put a ? in the post icon (then remove it after you're satisfied with answers) and add "neuropathy?" or "arthritis?" to the subject line. Also remove those after you're satisfied with answers, that way if you have a new ? and put it back up it will get noticed. i'm afraid i've made that as clear as much, but hopefully you get what i mean.

freddie is having a good response to the insulin. you're doing a good job of getting enough tests in so we can see what's going on in his body. so all in all, i'd say freddie is doing great.
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie AMPS 240

We give cosequin to our civie Tillie. It took about 4 weeks, then we reduced from 2 capsules per day to 1 capsule per day. We give zobaline to Zener. It took about 4 weeks to see any benefit and probably 8 weeks to see the full effect. We are giving him 2 pills per day because he has motility issues and we think it helps that too. I agree, no need to do a fructosamine test.
Liz
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie PMPS 100 Stalling

I will need some help here as I am not comfortable shooting Freddie with a BG of a 100.
He just has not been acting good today he has been sleeping most of the day unless I was getting him up to eat and do testing.

I did feed him about a teaspoon of wet low carb food at testing time. He has not eaten much all day will not eat unless I offer him food and then it is not much. He never feels good when his numbers are in the green he acts better when they are in the yellows.
Will test in a half hour...and will post.
Yvonne
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie AMPS 240

Yvonne, when you get a low number at preshot time, you should stall 20-30 minutes WITHOUT feeding to see if he's naturally going to rise.

BTW - it's best to change the subject line of your first post so people can see the updates at a glance.

One of the older vets in the clinic we go to keeps thinking I should be getting a fructosamine but the younger vet I go to has stopped asking about it.
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie AMPS 240 Stalling PMPS 100

I just wrote but it did not say stalling after I put it into the subject line.

Now I hit the edit message so will see what this does.
Fred's PMPS was 100 I will not shoot at this number to scary.
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie AMPS 240

Yvonne, you have to edit the FIRST post of the day....the one that says "3-22 Freddie AMPS 240"

Just go back to the first post, and click "edit" and change the subject line there. That's also where you'd want to check the ? icon...That way it shows up when people are just scanning the forum

Did you check your messages? I sent you a message awhile ago
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie AMPS 240

You will need to learn to shoot lower numbers Yvonne...they're the best way to use Lantus!

The problem now is we don't have any way of knowing if Freddie was just "double dipping", or if his numbers are continuing to drop. Since you fed him, there's no way to know what the next test might have been if you didn't feed.

Remember the other night? 3/17's PMPS cycle? If you look back, you'll see that we kind of thought he was just "double dipping" then. One of the quirks of Lantus is that in some cats, they have a 2nd "low" for the cycle at the end, but it's not as low as it was at the nadir. That's a "double dip".

If you hadn't fed him and just stalled, you'd be able to see if his numbers were starting to come up on their own, and then you'd always want to give the scheduled dose.

Even if you did shoot a low number, remember, you can control his numbers with food or Karo. You're home testing, so it makes it safe for you to shoot pretty much any number above 50 and take advantage of the "overlap" that Lantus can give.

Just because they might start at 200 in the morning and drop 100 points by mid-cycle doesn't mean if you get a 100 at PMPS, he's going to drop to 0..USUALLY shooting those lows creates a beautiful, pancreas healing cycle that you want!
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie stalling PMPS +13 118

Would a teaspoon of food make that much of a difference in how much in an hour that it would be the food that was making his numbers come up or coming up on his own. The food only had about 2 % carbs in it.. mostly pure rabbit that I make up for him. I am now an hour past his shooting time. Should I give him any at all tonight or NS.
+ 13=118
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie stalling PMPS

If you've got all the supplies you need..plenty of strips, high carb food, and are able and willing to test, I'd go ahead and shoot the 1 unit

Remember..a LATE shot acts like a reduction....and you have to remember to change the schedule tomorrow, not shoot at your "Usual" time

So if 8am/8pm is your "usual" schedule, and tonight you're shooting at 9pm, tomorrow morning your AMPS could be at 8:45am, but no earlier
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie stalling PMPS

Chris,
I really don't feel comfortable shooting with the way he has been feeling today and we live an hour plus away from any kind of help if something should happen to him.
Would it be of any kind of help if I gave .5 units. or would it be better to go without. I hate this it is driving me nuts not knowing how to treat my own boy.
I have heard so many people say that if you shoot you can't take it away. and that they have lived with the high numbers for so long that it would take a long time for them that is would be better to not shoot and be safe.
We have no vet care is what I worry about for emergencies.
I lost my baby Pippi 4-28-13 Fred's birth brother because I could not get him to emergency fast enough blood clot to the brain-- I still live the nightmare. Tore my heart out so it is scary for me.
But I don't want to harm my Freddie in anyway. I want to be safe with him. It is a tough call!
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie stalling PMPS

You really can't compare blood clots to diabetes where you can be in much better control. If he won't eat, you can always rub Karo, syrup or honey on his gums.

I lost one to a blood clot to the lung once. He was fine one minute, and died within 2 minutes of getting to the vet (and my vet was only 1 1/2 miles away)

It's always up to you since you're Freddie's caretaker.

If it were me, I'd shoot the 1 unit, but if you feel better, shoot a BCS dose again or skip.

Each time you do though, you're backing up the progress he's making.

It's better to give some than nothing if those are the only things you're comfortable doing..and please check your messages
 
Re: 3-22 Freddie stalling PMPS

In reply to your message posted below
Chris I just tested Fred abd his number is 106 he is coming down fast I think what should I do right now.

We are not supposed to give specific advice in messages. One of the reasons this board works so well is that it's "peer reviewed"...If someone tells you something that's wrong or unsafe, others can chime in to clear it up

In the meantime, he's not going down that fast. He's SURFING!! That's what we WANT them to do! Stay in those healing numbers as much as possible!

Besides, remember there's a 20% meter variance, so those are basically the same number

Give him a little snack (small teaspoon) of his regular low carb food if you want and relax. The Lantus is just now starting to "kick in" and at this point, there's no need to worry

But PLEASE post in your condo from today

Also, remember if you have a new question, edit that first post's subject line with something that will "catch" people's eyes, and add the ? icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top