I'm a little too new to provide dosing advice so hopefully a more senior member of the board will be by shortly.
I see you haven't chosen a protocol to follow yet, but since you're still feeding dry food, you would be obliged to choose the SLGS protocol, which advises lowering the dose by .25 units anytime the cat goes
below 90, and holding the dose if the cat nadirs between 90 and 149 (which he did a few days ago). With SLGS, you hold doses for 7 days, do a curve (test every 2-3 hours for 12 hours) and make a decision regarding increasing doses then. Below is the sticky on the two dosing protocols, from which I've excerpted the following about SLGS dosing (highlighted in red the part that applies to Fitzy):
Starting Dose:
- 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
- 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
- If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
- Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.
Hold the dose for at least a week:
- Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
- Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Is there a reason why you aren't testing before shots? If you're trying to limit how much you are testing, I would personally skip all other tests and just do the ones before you give insulin. It's really that important.