3-22 Feeburt Amps 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly and Spaceman

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9747

Hi all,
So I didn't do a condo yesterday but the above is from 2 days ago but it kind of spilled in to yesterday.
I will be calling my vet today for an appointment to get the Acro and insulin antibody tests. It sure would explain a lot. How long does it take to get the results back and then what is the next step? No meds for these problems? Just more insulin? and if he isn't responding to this insulin would giving a booster of R even help?
Thanks,
See you later
 
MSU runs the tests on Thursdays and the results should be available on Fridays. I think the samples have to be there by Wednesday, but I"m not sure.

More insulin and R WILL help (however, you still have to work up to the dose safely)...you just use the R until you find the right dose of Lantus/Lev.
 
I have an appointment on Wednesday to get the tests done. So we will have some answers soon. Until then...I will continue to increase his dose.
 
You might want to PM Gayle/Shadoe. She just had the tests done and will be able to tell you all about the administrative issues, where to mail, etc. You may need to orient when the blood draw is done around the FedEx delivery schedule.
 
Not sure if I am correct but my vet (well the receptionist) said that they can do the tests in house. It's a cat only hospital and they are really great about everything. The Vet Tech is an old member of this board and she will be there at the appointment.
 
They actually cannot do those tests in house...the blood needs to be shipped to MSU, which is the only place in North America that runs these tests. If you'll go over to high dose and peek in the stickies, Patti has the link for MSU. The vet will need to contact them to set up an account and to get the details on shipping.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top