3/22 Elizabeth +3 54,+3.5 64,+4 97,+5 103,+6 90, +10 147PMPS 141, +1 192, +2 137, +3 93, +3.5 131

Status
Not open for further replies.
+1 is 192. She ate well after her PMPT. Do I now do a +2, or what do you suggest?
Thank you!
 
Please explain bounce (again ...someone else explained it) but not quite sure what it is
 
Yes, do a +2, or if you want to just do a +3 instead, that's ok. Tell me which one you want to do and I'll look for you.

Here's a description of a bounce - look at the second post in this thread.

By the way, you might want to bookmark this post "Where Can I Find?" if you haven't already. It's basically a table of contents to this Lantus/Lev board but the second half includes links to interesting discussions. They might not be relevant to you now, but later you might want something there.
 
I prefer to do a +2, if it means that might be the last test of the night. If I am going to have to do a +3 anyway, I will wait and do the +3. How does it work? I don't have Where Can I Find, and will bookmark and read up on the bounce. I have read a lot of the information on here, but sometimes can't remember exactly where it was. Please let me know the +2, +3 situation.
Thanks!
 
Got my time mixed up and did +2 50 minutes after +1, but it's 137. What do you think? Do I need more testing tonight?
Thanks!
 
Sorry I missed your earlier question. When I'm considering when to test next, I compare to the previous test. Cats don't drop at a constant rate per hour, but it can give you an idea on when you might need to test next.

I would get a +3 tonight. From the New to the Group? sticky: when the +2 is similar to the preshot, you can expect that the cat's blood sugar may decrease gradually til midcycle, then rise up to the next shot time. So I would expect that Elizabeth is NOT starting a bounce, but instead is going to go lower tonight.

Your significant # on the AT is 68. If she goes under 68 there isn't a crisis, but you do want to give her some carbs to pull her back up. Everything over 68 you can just watch, or if you want her to stop dropping or slow down, you can feed some of her regular food.

I'll check back again in another hour.

NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar or lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.​
 
Elizabeth has been eating her little bits here and there ever since the PMPS. Does this +3 require another test, and if so, when?
 
well . . . i would stay up and continue testing. She's dropped 44 points in the past hour. Another 44 points would put her under 68 and you'd be needing to intervene.

I would check now in 30 minutes. Do you normally feed her around now? I'd give her some regular low carb food and see if she will surf.
 
okay - checking in 30. She has eaten m/d canned food several times since the PMPS. She eats little bits at a time. I wish push more of the m/d.
 
I'm okay, thanks for asking. I'm in Louisiana central time zone so it's 1:25am here, and have been up the two nights before this doing until 2am the same thing :confused: You're in Oregon?
I just counted and I have 16 test strips left after this next test. Delivery of 50 due tomorrow. Who would have thought I'd go through 60 test strips in 6 days? not me!!!:facepalm:
Doing test now and will report back.
 
Sorry - you said Louisiana earlier, complete with a little song, even! i'm just getting tired, i guess! It's about 11:30 here.

Just so you know, if at any point you don't think you can stay up, you can "abort the cycle" by giving high carb food to prevent the cat from going any lower.

Because you just reduced the dose tonight, you wouldn't usually reduce the dose again for tomorrow morning even if she went below 68 tonight. When you reduce the dose, the depot in the body from the previously larger dose (this morning's 1.0u) is still going to keep on slow-releasing for the next few cycles. That 1.0u dose will still be influencing the blood sugar for as many as 4-6 more cycles. So as long as you can monitor tomorrow, you'd stick with 0.75u in the morning.
 
WOOT! I see your 131 on the ss. Looks like Elizabeth has passed her nadir and is on the way up.

I think you're done for the night. It never hurts to leave the regular low carb food available if you have any doubts.

I'm off for the night. I'd stay with 0.75u again in the morning. Nighty Night! You did great tonight!
 
No problem - I understand tired! That's a little Cajun saying that means "Let the good times roll!" I'm not a Cajun, though...just an honorary one since I live here.

You have sooo much great information!

What I want to happen is to be able to test 4 times a day! I don't mind the last week, but I don't think I can keep up the pace of the last three days much longer. I work out of home, so it's not a problem, but I am getting weary and might need a break of some kind for a day or two at some point soon.

Good news!! +3.5 is 131. I think that's good news, isn't it? She also ate a lot in that half hour between +3 and +3.5. She goes in the garage at night and will eat even more. She wants to go out there now. Can we do it? Testing over? Tell me what's best!
 
Great news! Whew! Thank you so much for your support and all the helpful information.
 
I don't think Elizabeth is going to be on insulin very long. If you can stand some short-term intensive there can be a long-term pay-off. Of course, I can't guarantee anything, but everything in the way she's responding to the insulin, not bouncing, going down in dose already all points to a cat that won't need insulin for long.

Yes, you're done for tonight. I posted before you cuz i peeked at the spreadsheet. SEe you tomorrow and we can chat more. Sleep well!
 
I can do short term intensive for the chance of a long term payoff. Thanks again! zzzzz
 
Vicki, you are in expert hands with Julie, but I just wanted to pop in and say great job! :) Liz is doing so well and you are taking to this like a pro. It's great that you work from home - that will mean that you can follow wherever she leads and don't have to put the brakes on because you can't test. Have a good night's sleep and we'll see what tomorrow brings.
 
HI Vicki, I'm just getting started too and so far not had a low number episode like yours but the other day and now tonight Queenie is dipping into the 50's and it is a bit worrisome. The other day when it happened I took a few minutes and went around and got numbers on a few other civies and posted it on the FB page because Karen Blasky was freaking out about her kitties numbers on FB. ~~ Little did the sleeping tribe have any idea why I was stalking them ~~~ hahahaha!! So here's the range of numbers I got, some of them were sound asleep and some had just had a snack: Ruff = 63, Reddi = 45, Otis = 66, Nate = 58, Jake = 137, Brodie = 47, Junior = 66. Makes me feel just a little more comfortable when I see my numbers heading below 100. Good luck. Looks like you've had lot's of support!
 
We've seen kitties as low as the upper 30's during OTJ trials. However, when kitties are on insulin, we want to get them out of the 30's and 40's quickly, cause it doesn't leave any room to drop. @Chris & Queenie Good job testing the herd - always good to know what they should be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top